Western Maryland Health System Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Cumberland, MDDecember 14, 2017
Terrible place to work since the new hospital was built. Upper administration needs completely overhauled. You are expected to be a robot. Patient safety is not a priority.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Atmosphere of constant change
Staff Chaplain (Current Employee) –  Cumberland, MDNovember 4, 2017
I don't desire to write a review. You are requesting information I am unwilling to submit. I find this requirement to be a burden and an unfair imposition of your choice on my response.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
some positive things
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cumberland, MD 21502October 13, 2017
for the most part your coworkers are great.
management doesn't seem to care about your health, like if your sick you are still required to work which makes no sense since you are working with the sick public. only can call off 8 times a year before they will fire you
Pros
cafeteria, co-workers
Cons
low pay, high work demand
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was in the ER so always fast and busy
Registrar in the emergency room (Former Employee) –  Cumberland, MDAugust 29, 2017
I liked my job as a registrar with WMHS. It was very busy always and exciting. The ER staff were great and dedicated. It sometimes got hectic and tiring but rewarding.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Cardiac Technician (Current Employee) –  Cumberland, MDJune 7, 2017
Everyone is easy to get along with, and no one makes you feel intimidated as a new hire. Makes coming to work more enjoyable. Not a huge hospital, but it is big enough that you get an understanding of how things operate and how hectic things can be at times, if you ever want to move on to a larger hospital in the future.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Medical Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cumberland, MDMarch 29, 2017
Really enjoyed working for this company! I left this workplace due to the distance but overall a great place to work. Very professional, clean, and would highly recommend them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great orthopaedic unit with knowledgeable staff
Joint Care Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MD.March 21, 2017
All of the orthopedic nurses, therapists and doctors worked together to provide excellent care for the total joint patients. We trained patients ahead of surgery how to prepare by the physical therapists, the occupational therapists, dieticians, doctors and nurses as well as social workers.
Pros
Great atmosphere and wonderful outcomes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patient Centered Care
Clinical Manager, Behavioral Health Services (Current Employee) –  Cumberland, MDMarch 18, 2017
This agency offers range of general and specialty services for patients, located in a rural area. Services are focused on providing patients with excellent care and services.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical too many patients not enough staff
Nurse (Former Employee) –  Cumberland, MDFebruary 23, 2017
nice community hospital, but has limited resources
need to take better care of their own employee's
healthcare changes have made it almost impossible to do a great job
Pros
flexible schedules
Cons
not enough staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment with excellent management.
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Cumberland, MDNovember 22, 2016
Exceptional employer. Patient driven leader in healthcare in the Western Maryland and tri state area. WMHS has multiple state and national recognitions for healthcare initiatives.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Western Maryland Health System?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A professional and challenging position.
Director Human Resources (Former Employee) –  Cumberland, MDOctober 5, 2016
This position was a career choice. The multiple facets of the work day required that you be flexible to accomplish many administrative tasks and to meet the demands of others. The co-workers were supportive and professional.
Pros
Satisfying to help others with their needs.
Cons
Dealing with uncomfortable personnel issues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun learning environment
REGISTERED NURSE (Former Employee) –  Cumberland, MDMay 17, 2016
I had the opportunity to work with many seasoned RNs. I worked in the telemetry/medical observation unit in which I learned various skills. My coworkers worked well together as a medical team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CT surgery PA
Physician Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cumberland, MDOctober 29, 2015
Split the day between hospital and office. Inpatient rounds and consults and first-assist in the OR. Great surgeon and nursing staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor nursing to patient ratio
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Cumberland, MDSeptember 28, 2015
All patient care areas are poorly staffed, and has extremely high turnover rate. Some physicians have such poor conduct that it gives a terrible impression to everyone. Very poor work culture/environment. No support whatsoever.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy atmosphere
Emergency Department RN (Current Employee) –  Cumberland, MDSeptember 21, 2015
great place to work with decent benefits. Autonomous environment with caring doctors. Management is pretty supportive and helpful but staffing is less than desirable. Lots of empty holes on night shift.
Pros
coworkers
Cons
patient nurse ratio
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment for a microbiologist to work in for the most part.
Level 3 Microbiologist (Former Employee) –  Cumberland, MDMarch 24, 2015
I would recommend local scientists near this establishment to apply to work here.There was a wide range of personalities that I worked with daily.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very educational and good experience for me.
Diagnostic Imaging Associate (Former Employee) –  Cumberland, MDJuly 6, 2014
I was lucky enough to obtain this position while attending college. It plays an important role along with my education and hopefully, future work experience, in Radiology Technology. I was able to work around my classes and clinical hours while obtaining knowledge and work experience in the Diagnostic Imaging department. It has helped me to be more well rounded in understanding how the Diagnostic Imaging and Radiology department operates.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning facility.
Diagnostic Imaging Associate (Former Employee) –  Cumberland, MDJune 25, 2014
Good leaning facility but they don't like to hire full time employees. They have a reputation of hiring and letting employees go after budget cuts (Which happens Often).
Pros
Good experience and good for learning
Cons
No benefits. WMHS likes to hire relief positions for job uncertainty.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced work enviroment, pretty decent place to work at
CNA (Former Employee) –  Cumberland, MDMarch 27, 2014
I enjoyed working at this facility, Caring for patients and seeing them get better is the best, you must have compassion to work here and the willingness to care for others
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Summary of Work At the Hospital
laundry worker (Former Employee) –  Cumberland, MDJanuary 22, 2014
I helped quite efficiently while there were 2 branches of the hospital . I was acknowledged/received commendations for accomplishments before the hospital changed from 2 branches into 1.
Cons
no afternoon break and very heavy work for a costant 8 hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Western Maryland Health System. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 24 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8

Western Maryland Health System Reviews by Location