Western Michigan University Employee Reviews

Found 231 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere, engaging students and supportive colleagues
Instructor (Current Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIAugust 21, 2017
I very much enjoy working here. The students are engaged. Department staff and colleagues are supportive. This university continues to enhance its credibility in higher education. I'm proud to be part of such a great team of educators.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College campus bookstore
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIAugust 21, 2017
The job was great for college students. Flexible hours, great environment if you went to WMU. I worked on registers, back stocking, retail, and customer service desk.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate Assistant Position
Community Relations Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIAugust 17, 2017
I really enjoyed my time at WMU when working on my Masters Degree. The hours were long but worth it most days. Management was great and very accommodating. The hardest part of the job was managing time between work and school. The most enjoyable part was that there was always something to do and the days were never the same.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for graduate studies
Peer Career Advisor (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIAugust 10, 2017
- Professor's are highly qualified industry veterans, approachable and helpful.
- Course structure is great and they are improving according to industry needs.
- Research oriented university.
Pros
Engaging education and very diverse environment
Cons
I can't find any.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work/study balance
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIAugust 10, 2017
WMU provides a good balance between work and obtaining a degree. Work schedules are flexible, managers are understanding and accomodating. Overall, a great place to work in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place to work
confidential (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIAugust 3, 2017
Very bogged down in "we've always done it this way." People not all that qualified for the jobs they do and aren't that interested in improving. Good old boys are alive and well.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Lousy pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Study at WMU
Work Study (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIAugust 2, 2017
I worked many work-study gigs at Western Michigan University and they were all really good and straight forward. Like most college jobs it required hours that fit your class schedule, but its a really hard job to get fired from.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work but not much room for advancement
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIJuly 31, 2017
Working at Western Michigan University was a great experience because I was also able to earn my MA while working. Pay was alright (could be more based on the amount of work done) but overall it was a great experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome workplace, student employment
Training Manager (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIJuly 30, 2017
I worked in the Office of Development and Alumni Relations as a student employee. Keep in mind that the fact that I was a student employee is the reason I didn't have benefits or paid vacation. My manager was a fantastic leader and helped me grow a lot.
Pros
Great Environment, Wonderful People, and Room to Grow
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool place to work at.
Lab Monitor (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIJuly 25, 2017
My first year of college when I worked there and my first real job. It was very easy and also boring. Gives you time to do homework. Also you have to be a student to work there.
Pros
relaxing environment and lots of free time
Cons
boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Western Michigan University?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIJuly 24, 2017
As an undergraduate student, the work is wonderful experience. Flexible with school schedule, great for building your resume on skills, even though there is no pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Calm work place
Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIJuly 24, 2017
Great work environment
Very flexible with class schedule
Light work load
Able to work on assignments and also complete work tasks
Great starting job for students in rigorous majors/minors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work at your own pace but you work alone.
Sports Equipment Manager (Former Employee) –  Waldo StadiumJuly 22, 2017
You pretty much have the same workload everyday.
Flexible work days as long as someone is able to cover your shift.
The worst part about the job is that after home games you are required to work and you will be there till about 2-3 am so you can't make plans for Saturday night.
Pros
flexible work shifts
Cons
working alone, shift starts at 7pm
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and valuable
Supplemental Instructor/Tutor (Current Employee) –  MichiganJuly 19, 2017
I enjoyed working for the University, it was a very good experience. I learned many valuable skills. These skills learned here can be applied to many different work settings and conditions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great supportive work environment
Faculty Specialist (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIJuly 14, 2017
Great supportive work environment. Great research institution. Students are great, supportive co-workers. Like any job, you have to strive for work life balance.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIJuly 10, 2017
Western Michigan University is a good place to work and study.It is a place where successful people want to work. It is a fast paced, but fun environment with many good people at all levels of the university. The university is experiencing healthy growth, and is expected continue enjoying growth into the foreseeable future. The most enjoyable part of the job is using my knowledge and skills in working with the engineers and increasing my knowledge in this field.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and rewarding workplace
Thesis Student (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIJuly 6, 2017
Working here is very professional and ordered. Working with the kids and watching them progress is very rewarding. It is a great place to work with children with disabilities.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A steady job but impossible to move up
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIJuly 6, 2017
Pros: Steady employment and paycheck, good boss, don't have to bring work home or work overtime, WMU tuition waived, benefits.

Cons: Very poorly paid, impossible to move up, bureaucracy is a nightmare, sexist environment, little done about harassment and other inappropriate behaviors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate assistant work
GRADUATE/RESEARCH ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIJuly 5, 2017
A typical of day of work varied depending on the research or teaching assignment. I learned to work with different departments within the university. I learned to work with diverse groups of people.
Pros
Library and parking privileges
Cons
Only being able to obtain a limited number of G.A.s
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good University
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIJuly 4, 2017
It has been quite a while since I worked at WMU while pursuing an advanced degree. I do remember there was a good work life balance though the school was the main attraction for the town it was situated in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Western Michigan University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 232 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
4.0
Culture
4.2

CEO Approval

90%
63 ratings
Add your rating

Western Michigan University Reviews by Location