Western Michigan University Employee Reviews

Found 236 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing staff
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MISeptember 12, 2017
I worked in an office, where every professor that worked there made it their duty to learn my name. They had a worker appreciation week. They allowed me to do my homework while not busy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GReat Place
Computer Lab Support Technician (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MISeptember 11, 2017
Good Job and good staff. The day went by quick and you come across a lot of wonderful people. the pay is good, its not stressful and you will enjoy where you work,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good way to start career
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Current Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MISeptember 10, 2017
good opportunity to work with students from various majors.

learned nice teaching strategies, handling student from different backgrounds, and how to be proactive in case of any situation.

Grading parties were so much fun.

The management was helpful, understanding, and proactive.
Pros
easy pace
Cons
treatment from department
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Assistant Promotions Manager (Former Employee) –  WMUAugust 30, 2017
Started as a student fundraiser and worked my way up! Enjoyed working with all of the staff. Got to travel around the state for free. Met some life-long friends.
Pros
free lunches, good hours, new friends
Cons
Stopped working there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love Going to School Here
Lab Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIAugust 22, 2017
Western Michigan University is is a great place to be, you learn so much and they have amazing teachers; doing research here has helped me expand my knowledge more than I had ever thought I could.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere, engaging students and supportive colleagues
Instructor (Current Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIAugust 21, 2017
I very much enjoy working here. The students are engaged. Department staff and colleagues are supportive. This university continues to enhance its credibility in higher education. I'm proud to be part of such a great team of educators.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College campus bookstore
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIAugust 21, 2017
The job was great for college students. Flexible hours, great environment if you went to WMU. I worked on registers, back stocking, retail, and customer service desk.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate Assistant Position
Community Relations Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIAugust 17, 2017
I really enjoyed my time at WMU when working on my Masters Degree. The hours were long but worth it most days. Management was great and very accommodating. The hardest part of the job was managing time between work and school. The most enjoyable part was that there was always something to do and the days were never the same.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for graduate studies
Peer Career Advisor (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIAugust 10, 2017
- Professor's are highly qualified industry veterans, approachable and helpful.
- Course structure is great and they are improving according to industry needs.
- Research oriented university.
Pros
Engaging education and very diverse environment
Cons
I can't find any.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work/study balance
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIAugust 10, 2017
WMU provides a good balance between work and obtaining a degree. Work schedules are flexible, managers are understanding and accomodating. Overall, a great place to work in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place to work
confidential (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIAugust 3, 2017
Very bogged down in "we've always done it this way." People not all that qualified for the jobs they do and aren't that interested in improving. Good old boys are alive and well.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Lousy pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Study at WMU
Work Study (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIAugust 2, 2017
I worked many work-study gigs at Western Michigan University and they were all really good and straight forward. Like most college jobs it required hours that fit your class schedule, but its a really hard job to get fired from.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work but not much room for advancement
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIJuly 31, 2017
Working at Western Michigan University was a great experience because I was also able to earn my MA while working. Pay was alright (could be more based on the amount of work done) but overall it was a great experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome workplace, student employment
Training Manager (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIJuly 30, 2017
I worked in the Office of Development and Alumni Relations as a student employee. Keep in mind that the fact that I was a student employee is the reason I didn't have benefits or paid vacation. My manager was a fantastic leader and helped me grow a lot.
Pros
Great Environment, Wonderful People, and Room to Grow
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool place to work at.
Lab Monitor (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIJuly 25, 2017
My first year of college when I worked there and my first real job. It was very easy and also boring. Gives you time to do homework. Also you have to be a student to work there.
Pros
relaxing environment and lots of free time
Cons
boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIJuly 24, 2017
As an undergraduate student, the work is wonderful experience. Flexible with school schedule, great for building your resume on skills, even though there is no pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Calm work place
Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIJuly 24, 2017
Great work environment
Very flexible with class schedule
Light work load
Able to work on assignments and also complete work tasks
Great starting job for students in rigorous majors/minors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work at your own pace but you work alone.
Sports Equipment Manager (Former Employee) –  Waldo StadiumJuly 22, 2017
You pretty much have the same workload everyday.
Flexible work days as long as someone is able to cover your shift.
The worst part about the job is that after home games you are required to work and you will be there till about 2-3 am so you can't make plans for Saturday night.
Pros
flexible work shifts
Cons
working alone, shift starts at 7pm
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and valuable
Supplemental Instructor/Tutor (Current Employee) –  MichiganJuly 19, 2017
I enjoyed working for the University, it was a very good experience. I learned many valuable skills. These skills learned here can be applied to many different work settings and conditions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great supportive work environment
Faculty Specialist (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIJuly 14, 2017
Great supportive work environment. Great research institution. Students are great, supportive co-workers. Like any job, you have to strive for work life balance.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Western Michigan University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 237 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
4.0
Culture
4.2

Western Michigan University Reviews by Location