Find companies:
Western Michigan University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
86 reviews

Western Michigan University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a first time College Instructor
Introduction to Special Education (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIJuly 24, 2014
Create and implement classroom technology-based learning modules, designed to increase students technical skill level, in preparation for higher education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee), kalamazoo, MIJuly 7, 2014
Great place to be with room for growth and development. Wonderful co workers and management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Student Receptionist (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIJune 18, 2014
On a regular day, the supervisor will have an assignment for you when you come into work. Typical filing, creating data spreadsheet, or organizing. Also, every few weeks there is a meeting or event and the student receptionist has to setup and clean the meeting area before and after.

Overall, as a student receptionist you'll help with whatever the – more... supervisor need you to do and still have time to do class work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
Public Relations (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MichiganMay 26, 2014
Pros: opportunities
Cons: weather
Western is a great school!
The hardest part of Western is leaving. I enjoy being at Western
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Education
OFFICE ASSISTANT (Current Employee), Kalamazoo, MIMay 21, 2014
This was an institute of education. I worked there for my work study program. Great experience, great people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hands down excellent place to work as a student
Financial Aid Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIMay 14, 2014
Pros: close leadership and guidance
Cons: none.
Financial Aid department is the best to balance between pro experiences and meaningful experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NIce job for students, friendly people, work with kids
Lifeguard, Swim Instructor (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIMay 6, 2014
40% - Organized lesson plans, taught children ages 3-12 years of age proper swimming technique and skills, from introducing toddlers to the water, up to providing coaching for older children.
60% - Watched over lap/open swim, swim lessons in order to make sure no one was in danger and provide assistance if needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WMU
Program Support (Current Employee), Kalamazoo, MIMay 5, 2014
Great place to work, but little leeway for immediate advancement following graduation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a Great University
Teaching Assistant - Instructor First Aid (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIMay 1, 2014
I had plenty of issues with WMU during my time and how much the staff was actually working for the students and how many mistakes they made. However, this teaching assistant opportunity was excellent and so was the instructor. I had my first experience learning how to teach a class and giving and receiving extensive feedback to and from students and – more... the instructor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place with good management.
Student Worker (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIApril 30, 2014
A very laid back place to work. The management is great and it's a fun place to work. Employees are very friendly and it is easy to pick up the skills necessary to do your job well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIApril 28, 2014
Good people to work with, excellent facilities and beautiful location.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On-line teaching with non-traditional students
Adjunct Assistant Professor (Current Employee), Kalamazoo, MIApril 24, 2014
I have taught in adjunct status for about 30 years at this university. The on-line position's population is a most rewarding one in that I am able to listen to and assist students who are at a crossroads frequently in their lives. The program is designed to support students in evaluating their health and well-being and hence their direction in life – more... across a fairly wide spectrum. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Office Manager, Residence Assistant, Moving Crew (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIApril 24, 2014
I will always like to work for western many chances for advancement but a lot of the jobs were student job so ended when school ended for the year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and laid back
Valley One Cafe Employee (Current Employee), Kalamazoo, MIApril 14, 2014
great place to work while in college.
fun, easy work, flexible hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIApril 2, 2014
I was a graduate assistant. I was treated well and got good pay and benefits for the type of work I did.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
345345
Online Education Instructional Designer- (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIApril 1, 2014
•Lead and manage the US HR budget, holding regular reviews with each budget owner within this area, providing the forecasts and be the one contact point for Finance
•Drive and develop through consultation with stakeholders, effective business facing metrics & ad-hoc reporting (via a dashboard approach) that aligns and supports the HR strategy for the – more... different business units & functions
•Develop and deliver HRSS internal metrics, identifying trends and insights for improvement of operational efficiency
•Leverage our full systems capability to create impactful visual representations of metrics to aid understanding enabling customers unfamiliar with data analysis and technology to easily interpret insights and determine strategic decisions
•Partner with IT on identifying and suggesting areas of improvement on technology to support analysis objectives
•Develop and deliver HR metrics training to HR staff across the Americas as appropriate
•Participate in external policy forums/groups to benchmark, identify and keep abreast of industry best practice and to highlight areas of shortfall to the business in relation to metrics and – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Britton/Hadley Residence Hall Front Desk Worker (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIMarch 28, 2014
I was a student at Western Michigan University working at the front desk in the Britton/Hadley residence hall. I loved everyone that I worked with and they were all easy to get along with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and flexible work environment
Student Aid/Assistant Budget Officer (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIMarch 25, 2014
The Budget Office at Western Michigan University was a good job for a student of the college, their ability to work around my class schedule was beneficial. I was unable to work more than 25 hours a week, no matter the time of year which was why I was unable to remain at the position. The people in the office were great, very friendly and always willing – more... to help. This job is ideal for a finance/accounting major rather than a marketing major because you are dealing with numbers and adjustments on a daily basis. I was able to form relationships with administrative professionals in other departments in the administration building and respect this department greatly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great learning facility
Dietetic Intern (Current Employee), Kalamazoo, MIFebruary 25, 2014
• 40-week post-baccalaureate program accredited by the Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics that is a combined professional internship program and academic Master’s program
•Built on academic knowledge to enhance clinical and management skills in a variety of settings
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience before Graduate School
Undergraduate researcher (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIFebruary 4, 2014
Typical day will depend completely upon which professor/department you work for.

Learned a lot about the research process involved in academia.

1 2 3 4 5

About Western Michigan University

Western Michigan University (WMU) is a public university located in Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States. The university was established – Read more

Western Michigan University Photos