Find companies:
Western Michigan University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
100 reviews

Western Michigan University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WMU
Program Support (Current Employee), Kalamazoo, MIMay 5, 2014
Great place to work, but little leeway for immediate advancement following graduation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a Great University
Teaching Assistant - Instructor First Aid (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIMay 1, 2014
I had plenty of issues with WMU during my time and how much the staff was actually working for the students and how many mistakes they made. However, this teaching assistant opportunity was excellent and so was the instructor. I had my first experience learning how to teach a class and giving and receiving extensive feedback to and from students and – more... the instructor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place with good management.
Student Worker (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIApril 30, 2014
A very laid back place to work. The management is great and it's a fun place to work. Employees are very friendly and it is easy to pick up the skills necessary to do your job well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIApril 28, 2014
Good people to work with, excellent facilities and beautiful location.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On-line teaching with non-traditional students
Adjunct Assistant Professor (Current Employee), Kalamazoo, MIApril 24, 2014
I have taught in adjunct status for about 30 years at this university. The on-line position's population is a most rewarding one in that I am able to listen to and assist students who are at a crossroads frequently in their lives. The program is designed to support students in evaluating their health and well-being and hence their direction in life – more... across a fairly wide spectrum. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Office Manager, Residence Assistant, Moving Crew (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIApril 24, 2014
I will always like to work for western many chances for advancement but a lot of the jobs were student job so ended when school ended for the year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and laid back
Valley One Cafe Employee (Current Employee), Kalamazoo, MIApril 14, 2014
great place to work while in college.
fun, easy work, flexible hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIApril 2, 2014
I was a graduate assistant. I was treated well and got good pay and benefits for the type of work I did.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
345345
Online Education Instructional Designer- (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIApril 1, 2014
•Lead and manage the US HR budget, holding regular reviews with each budget owner within this area, providing the forecasts and be the one contact point for Finance
•Drive and develop through consultation with stakeholders, effective business facing metrics & ad-hoc reporting (via a dashboard approach) that aligns and supports the HR strategy for the – more... different business units & functions
•Develop and deliver HRSS internal metrics, identifying trends and insights for improvement of operational efficiency
•Leverage our full systems capability to create impactful visual representations of metrics to aid understanding enabling customers unfamiliar with data analysis and technology to easily interpret insights and determine strategic decisions
•Partner with IT on identifying and suggesting areas of improvement on technology to support analysis objectives
•Develop and deliver HR metrics training to HR staff across the Americas as appropriate
•Participate in external policy forums/groups to benchmark, identify and keep abreast of industry best practice and to highlight areas of shortfall to the business in relation to metrics and – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Britton/Hadley Residence Hall Front Desk Worker (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIMarch 28, 2014
I was a student at Western Michigan University working at the front desk in the Britton/Hadley residence hall. I loved everyone that I worked with and they were all easy to get along with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and flexible work environment
Student Aid/Assistant Budget Officer (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIMarch 25, 2014
The Budget Office at Western Michigan University was a good job for a student of the college, their ability to work around my class schedule was beneficial. I was unable to work more than 25 hours a week, no matter the time of year which was why I was unable to remain at the position. The people in the office were great, very friendly and always willing – more... to help. This job is ideal for a finance/accounting major rather than a marketing major because you are dealing with numbers and adjustments on a daily basis. I was able to form relationships with administrative professionals in other departments in the administration building and respect this department greatly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great learning facility
Dietetic Intern (Current Employee), Kalamazoo, MIFebruary 25, 2014
• 40-week post-baccalaureate program accredited by the Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics that is a combined professional internship program and academic Master’s program
•Built on academic knowledge to enhance clinical and management skills in a variety of settings
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Colleeg Desk Job
Student Activities and Leadership Program (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIFebruary 4, 2014
Handled everyday secretary tasks. handled money and schedule meeting for executives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience before Graduate School
Undergraduate researcher (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIFebruary 4, 2014
Typical day will depend completely upon which professor/department you work for.

Learned a lot about the research process involved in academia.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work for
Office Technician (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: technological skills
Cons: very low hours
This was my only work study job. It was very interesting to see how work study students were treated compared to normal employees. The hours were great, but management didn't show to much interest in work study student's futures. They were more concerned about students not exceeding the work study budget. I did learn a few technological skills, which – more... has helped me succeed in my classes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience and a responsible position
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), MichiganJanuary 18, 2014
Learned lot of new things and a good platform to improve teaching and communication skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assisted residents who stayed in the general dorms for freshman in college.
Accounting Assistant (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIJanuary 14, 2014
Securing the safety and comfort of residence while planning and hosting events that improved their day to day well being.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very laid back
Cafeteria worker (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIJanuary 13, 2014
Pros: free car wash every week
Cons: winter time gets cold in the booth while cashiering
I would open up the car wash some days or close some days. when opening/closing you have to make sure all lights are on, motors going, everything is clean/tidy, lights on and car wash port ready. I was in the booth and on the sight by myself most the time so i had to be on top of things and make sure everything ran smooth. The hardest part was cleaning – more... the car port at night, the easiest part was cashiering. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they provide free food and we get an off after 4hours of continuous work
Mentor (Current Employee), michiganJanuary 3, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: very short breaks upto just 10 mins
Though sometimes the job nature is very hectic , there are times when we are very free. I love my job as i can handle my expenses on my own without much pressure. I have learnt to work as a team and to manage my team after my experience at my school. I have been mentoring students for about a year now. The hardest part of the job is that sometimes there – more... are some mis-communications within the team which has lead to quite a few problems. But nevertheless, it has been a wonderful experience being a part of this work ! It has made me self-confident and has also given a new dimension for my life . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working Educational Experience
Kitchen Facilities Administrator (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIJanuary 1, 2014
Pros: development opportunities
Cons: compensation
The atmosphere at Western Michigan University provided an excellent opportunity to understand the business operations conducted on a larger scale. It allowed me to understand economies of scale dealing with a large customer base. It provided valuable learning experiences that are transferable to various industries.

About Western Michigan University

Western Michigan University (WMU) is a public university located in Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States. The university was established – Read more

Western Michigan University Photos