Find companies:
Western Michigan University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
91 reviews

Western Michigan University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Britton/Hadley Residence Hall Front Desk Worker (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIMarch 28, 2014
I was a student at Western Michigan University working at the front desk in the Britton/Hadley residence hall. I loved everyone that I worked with and they were all easy to get along with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and flexible work environment
Student Aid/Assistant Budget Officer (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIMarch 25, 2014
The Budget Office at Western Michigan University was a good job for a student of the college, their ability to work around my class schedule was beneficial. I was unable to work more than 25 hours a week, no matter the time of year which was why I was unable to remain at the position. The people in the office were great, very friendly and always willing – more... to help. This job is ideal for a finance/accounting major rather than a marketing major because you are dealing with numbers and adjustments on a daily basis. I was able to form relationships with administrative professionals in other departments in the administration building and respect this department greatly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great learning facility
Dietetic Intern (Current Employee), Kalamazoo, MIFebruary 25, 2014
• 40-week post-baccalaureate program accredited by the Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics that is a combined professional internship program and academic Master’s program
•Built on academic knowledge to enhance clinical and management skills in a variety of settings
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Colleeg Desk Job
Student Activities and Leadership Program (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIFebruary 4, 2014
Handled everyday secretary tasks. handled money and schedule meeting for executives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience before Graduate School
Undergraduate researcher (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIFebruary 4, 2014
Typical day will depend completely upon which professor/department you work for.

Learned a lot about the research process involved in academia.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work for
Office Technician (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: technological skills
Cons: very low hours
This was my only work study job. It was very interesting to see how work study students were treated compared to normal employees. The hours were great, but management didn't show to much interest in work study student's futures. They were more concerned about students not exceeding the work study budget. I did learn a few technological skills, which – more... has helped me succeed in my classes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience and a responsible position
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), MichiganJanuary 18, 2014
Learned lot of new things and a good platform to improve teaching and communication skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assisted residents who stayed in the general dorms for freshman in college.
Accounting Assistant (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIJanuary 14, 2014
Securing the safety and comfort of residence while planning and hosting events that improved their day to day well being.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very laid back
Cafeteria worker (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIJanuary 13, 2014
Pros: free car wash every week
Cons: winter time gets cold in the booth while cashiering
I would open up the car wash some days or close some days. when opening/closing you have to make sure all lights are on, motors going, everything is clean/tidy, lights on and car wash port ready. I was in the booth and on the sight by myself most the time so i had to be on top of things and make sure everything ran smooth. The hardest part was cleaning – more... the car port at night, the easiest part was cashiering. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they provide free food and we get an off after 4hours of continuous work
Mentor (Current Employee), michiganJanuary 3, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: very short breaks upto just 10 mins
Though sometimes the job nature is very hectic , there are times when we are very free. I love my job as i can handle my expenses on my own without much pressure. I have learnt to work as a team and to manage my team after my experience at my school. I have been mentoring students for about a year now. The hardest part of the job is that sometimes there – more... are some mis-communications within the team which has lead to quite a few problems. But nevertheless, it has been a wonderful experience being a part of this work ! It has made me self-confident and has also given a new dimension for my life . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working Educational Experience
Kitchen Facilities Administrator (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIJanuary 1, 2014
Pros: development opportunities
Cons: compensation
The atmosphere at Western Michigan University provided an excellent opportunity to understand the business operations conducted on a larger scale. It allowed me to understand economies of scale dealing with a large customer base. It provided valuable learning experiences that are transferable to various industries.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Inviting atmosphere.
Office Assistant (Current Employee), Kalamazoo, MINovember 27, 2013
Pros: enjoy working with people.
Cons: being able to help everyone with their work and no one being able to help you with yours.
I am currently enjoy being an office assistant. The atmosphere is very laid back and everyone enjoys each other company. It is typically busy because student's always needed your help yesterday. We work in an environment where our mission is to help students and make sure they get what is needed to keep them successful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The benefits were excellent with free tuition
Custodian (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIOctober 31, 2013
Pros: free back rubs once a month, shoes allowance once a year
Cons: breakrooms had no windows
I enjoy working in a professional business office with skill to work on special projects at the supervisor level: maintain excellent oral communication skills, problem resolution abilities, and a high level of confidentiality; extensive experience working with the general public, customer service and office support skills; enthusiastic, mature, self-reliant, – more... hardworking disposition, and illustrate leadership and training skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work get to know more college students
student assistant (Former Employee), kalamazoo miOctober 24, 2013
Pros: free movie tickets, dinners, ropes course field trip
Cons: no overtime, only so many hours can work
make sure the incoming college freshman have everything they need from the dorms to their classes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for a full time student.
Front Desk Associate (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIOctober 24, 2013
A great job to help understand the inner workings of an administrative team and what a usual day is like. Really taught how to deal and help people with their needs through helping students and parents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Workplace
Receptionist/Security (Former Employee), 1903 W. Michigan Ave, Kalamazoo, MI 49008September 20, 2013
Coworkers were all fellow students, it was amazing getting to meet all sorts of new people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good University
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Kalamazoo, MISeptember 8, 2013
Nice place to study and work. Good work atmosphere. I learned a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching assistant for human anatomy
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIAugust 25, 2013
I was responsible for the laboratory portion of human anatomy, which included teaching students and ensuring they excelled in the class. I really enjoyed seeing students understand something that they previously may have struggled with. I felt like I really made an impact on a lot of students, and my student reviews were in agreement with that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Institution
Associate Professor (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIAugust 24, 2013
Pros: you can make friends
Cons: pressure and job too demanding for the pay
Too much in-fighting for job retention. There aren't many faculty positions for minorities, so the few positions are highly contested and people stab themselves behind. The school environment is nice though and coworkers are friendly - at least on facial value. The institution, on a general note, has good vision.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College jobs
Student Fundraiser (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIAugust 16, 2013
All depends on what department you work for. some departments are good and have a good work environment and some don't.

About Western Michigan University

Western Michigan University (WMU) is a public university located in Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States. The university was established – Read more

Western Michigan University Photos