Find companies:
Western Michigan University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
100 reviews

Western Michigan University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
Doctoral Researcher (Current Employee), Kalamazoo, MIOctober 31, 2012
I learned a lot about biology in general. Teaching was a great experience, and the department was excellent. The only thing I wish was different is the average funding level in the labs and equipment availability.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming
Office Assistant (Current Employee), Kalamazoo, MIOctober 30, 2012
I enjoy my time in the Management Department. My co-workers are great and everything is order.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning workplace
Associate Researcher and evaluator (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIOctober 22, 2012
Doing research and evaluation, designing and implementing inservices, workshops and seminars were some of typical activities at WMU.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Computer Lab Technician (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MISeptember 27, 2012
Troubleshooting software and computer problems, fixing printer issues etc...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work at Western Michigan
Front Desk Assistant (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIAugust 28, 2012
Everyday i would first come in to store the residents mail and distribute the mail to the residents. I answered the telephone when needed and provided daily customer service. I cleaned up my area daily and made sure everything would be in place. I learned how to be a better friendly me while on the job and enjoyed meeting new people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching Assistant
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Kalamazoo, MIJuly 30, 2012
As a teaching assistant you are depended on to teach labs and lectures. In so doing, you are required to design, present, and grade material for a number of students ranging from 24-60. This is great experience, but when combined with the requirements for lab time that you need to do as a grad student in order to graduate, it can be very demanding. – more... Overall I've enjoyed this time, learned a lot about teaching, and grown in my ability to relate to others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work and life balance and job has challenge
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIMay 22, 2012
Responsible for deploying/maintaining/troubleshooting hardware infrastructure (server, workstation and CISCO devices), software implement and configuration for entire virtual training environment (VTE), and assisting senior students in completing their hands-on lab assignments or E-Firm projects from the training program of companies.
I have learned – more... to configure CISCO devices and deploy the configuration of servers and clients in network topology.
I have my own free time when I've done with my work, so my supervisor does not ask me how many hours I work in a day.
The most enjoyable part of the job is that there is challenge in the job. Need to create virtual training environment for E-Firm project from the training program of a company.
The hardest part of the job is to maintain hardware infrastructure, upgrade systems/software, or deploy a different virtual training environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College Lab work
Student (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIMay 18, 2012
Gain work experience through hands on engineering labs. Sieve Analysis, Concrete Strength Testing, Construction Measurement and Layout.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible work environment with many intelligent and knowledgable people to work with
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Kalamazoo, MIMay 2, 2012
-Being a recent undergraduate student I've learned teaching is not as easy from a professors perspective
-There is not a typical day at work, just typical times to meet for class
-I hope that when I'm done with my master's degree that I will be able to work with my co-workers in the future.
-The most enjoyable part of my job is seeing a student learn – more... (that epiphany moment when they have learned something new) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large University with a Small Campus Culture
TA, Lead Instructor (Current Employee), Kalamazoo, MIApril 2, 2012
Pros: miller auditorium, recreational center
Cons: ongoing construction
Western Michigan University is an excellent place to work. The people are friendly, intelligent, and hard working. Students are appreciative and the campus can't be beat.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its good
Lead Research Assistant (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIMarch 30, 2012
Pros: flexible work hours
Cons: low compensation
Only good if you are research oriented. The opportunities at the university are great but dont pay as much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting workplace
Office Manger (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIMarch 25, 2012
Pros: office work
Cons: not enough hours
I worked hand and hand with the Director of the building. I was able to keep track of his busy schedule, I made out maintenance forms, filed, faxed, and copied all necessary papers. I dealt with various incoming freshmans, and sophmores. I took all complaints and concerns from students, and parents of students. Nonetheless, if there were other people – more... with concerns, appointments, etc., I assisted them in proper protocol – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to learn and work
Lab Assistant (Current Employee), Kalamazoo, MIMarch 23, 2012
Place where you not only learn, its also a very good place where you can work and also gain some professional experience, which really adds up to your resume a lot
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful workplace
Adjunct Instructor (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIFebruary 14, 2012
Pros: graduate students
Working with graduate students was a pleasure because they took their studies very seriously.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great University
Student (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MichiganFebruary 13, 2012
Great University in the Midwest. Received very good education, great place to go to school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University with exceptional opportunities for students to contribute productively
Systems Analyst, Network Administrator (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIJanuary 19, 2012
Pros: work life balance, educational and advancement opportunities
Cons: university with limited comp and benefits
Multiple opportunities in IT sector, network administration, engaging with government agencies to do statistical analysis, exceptional computer R&D programs in chip design
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Universidade com diversidade cultural
Visiting Scholar (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIOctober 11, 2012
Pros: troca de experiencias, cultura. desenvolvimento pessoal e profissional.
A cada dia um novo desafio, atendimento a professores e alunos, desenvolvimento de material grafico e suporte online na plataforma Desire2Learn. Experiencia multicultural, possibilidade de aprendizado diario e convivencia com pessoas de diversos paises, sendo o ingles a lingua usada entre todas as comunicacoes. Em alguns casos, espanhol.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mi valoración a cerca de la empresa es bastante alta pero debe mejorar en algunas áreas importantes
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Docente del Departamento de EspañolJuly 9, 2012
Pros: confianza en la aptitudes de los docentes.
Cons: debíamos trabajar incluso los domingos para terminar los trabajos pendientes.
Western Michigan University me ofreció una beca que incluía un contrato de teaching assistant, es decir, de profesora de español para los alumnos de la universidad. Como muchos de nosotros no teníamos mucha experiencia, el departamento de español se encargó de prepararnos mediante una asignatura dedicada a ello. El trabajo incluía la preparación de – more... temarios, las clases a los alumnos y la atención personalizada. El ambiente que se respiraba era relajado salvo en algunos momentos de tensión, pero nunca fue demasiado estresante. La jefa del departamento sólo estaba presente en problemas de cierta dimensión, lo normal era solucionar los problemas cada uno por sí mismo, o con ayuda de los compañeros. La jefa del departamento coordinaba todos los profesores y adecuaba los horarios. En esta empresa aprendí muchísimo, a partir de este momento me sentí totalmente preparada para trabajar en cualquier universidad. Casi todos los integrantes del departamento éramos de origen hispano y al estar fuera de nuestro país, intentábamos ayudarnos los unos a los otros y hacernos compañía. Lo más difícil del trabajo era el control de la clase y que los alumnos adquirieran adecuadamente los conocimientos. Lo que más me gustó fue la oportunidad que me ofreció la Western para crecer como docente y también como ser humano. – less

About Western Michigan University

Western Michigan University (WMU) is a public university located in Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States. The university was established – Read more

Western Michigan University Photos