Find companies:
Western Michigan University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
91 reviews

Western Michigan University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large University with a Small Campus Culture
TA, Lead Instructor (Current Employee), Kalamazoo, MIApril 2, 2012
Pros: miller auditorium, recreational center
Cons: ongoing construction
Western Michigan University is an excellent place to work. The people are friendly, intelligent, and hard working. Students are appreciative and the campus can't be beat.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its good
Lead Research Assistant (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIMarch 30, 2012
Pros: flexible work hours
Cons: low compensation
Only good if you are research oriented. The opportunities at the university are great but dont pay as much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting workplace
Office Manger (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIMarch 25, 2012
Pros: office work
Cons: not enough hours
I worked hand and hand with the Director of the building. I was able to keep track of his busy schedule, I made out maintenance forms, filed, faxed, and copied all necessary papers. I dealt with various incoming freshmans, and sophmores. I took all complaints and concerns from students, and parents of students. Nonetheless, if there were other people – more... with concerns, appointments, etc., I assisted them in proper protocol – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to learn and work
Lab Assistant (Current Employee), Kalamazoo, MIMarch 23, 2012
Place where you not only learn, its also a very good place where you can work and also gain some professional experience, which really adds up to your resume a lot
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful workplace
Adjunct Instructor (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIFebruary 14, 2012
Pros: graduate students
Working with graduate students was a pleasure because they took their studies very seriously.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great University
Student (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MichiganFebruary 13, 2012
Great University in the Midwest. Received very good education, great place to go to school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University with exceptional opportunities for students to contribute productively
Systems Analyst, Network Administrator (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIJanuary 19, 2012
Pros: work life balance, educational and advancement opportunities
Cons: university with limited comp and benefits
Multiple opportunities in IT sector, network administration, engaging with government agencies to do statistical analysis, exceptional computer R&D programs in chip design
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Once in a lifetime experience
Study Abroad Student (Former Employee), AustraliaJuly 10, 2013
A typical day in Australia would include visiting different businesses to speak with various Australian businessmen and women. We would learn about the business' tasks and how it operates. I was with eighteen other WMU students who too are in majoring in business, so it was a very relaxed group.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Universidade com diversidade cultural
Visiting Scholar (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIOctober 11, 2012
Pros: troca de experiencias, cultura. desenvolvimento pessoal e profissional.
A cada dia um novo desafio, atendimento a professores e alunos, desenvolvimento de material grafico e suporte online na plataforma Desire2Learn. Experiencia multicultural, possibilidade de aprendizado diario e convivencia com pessoas de diversos paises, sendo o ingles a lingua usada entre todas as comunicacoes. Em alguns casos, espanhol.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mi valoración a cerca de la empresa es bastante alta pero debe mejorar en algunas áreas importantes
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Docente del Departamento de EspañolJuly 9, 2012
Pros: confianza en la aptitudes de los docentes.
Cons: debíamos trabajar incluso los domingos para terminar los trabajos pendientes.
Western Michigan University me ofreció una beca que incluía un contrato de teaching assistant, es decir, de profesora de español para los alumnos de la universidad. Como muchos de nosotros no teníamos mucha experiencia, el departamento de español se encargó de prepararnos mediante una asignatura dedicada a ello. El trabajo incluía la preparación de – more... temarios, las clases a los alumnos y la atención personalizada. El ambiente que se respiraba era relajado salvo en algunos momentos de tensión, pero nunca fue demasiado estresante. La jefa del departamento sólo estaba presente en problemas de cierta dimensión, lo normal era solucionar los problemas cada uno por sí mismo, o con ayuda de los compañeros. La jefa del departamento coordinaba todos los profesores y adecuaba los horarios. En esta empresa aprendí muchísimo, a partir de este momento me sentí totalmente preparada para trabajar en cualquier universidad. Casi todos los integrantes del departamento éramos de origen hispano y al estar fuera de nuestro país, intentábamos ayudarnos los unos a los otros y hacernos compañía. Lo más difícil del trabajo era el control de la clase y que los alumnos adquirieran adecuadamente los conocimientos. Lo que más me gustó fue la oportunidad que me ofreció la Western para crecer como docente y también como ser humano. – less

About Western Michigan University

Western Michigan University (WMU) is a public university located in Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States. The university was established – Read more

Western Michigan University Photos