Find companies:
Western Petroleum
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
19 reviews

Western Petroleum Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work.
Accounts Receivable/Customer Service (Former Employee), Roosevelt, UTJanuary 4, 2014
Wide varity of responsibilities for job title. Enjoyed working with co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There is no typical day
Large Tank Wagon Driver (Current Employee), Rock Springs, WYOctober 31, 2013
Today, I do not have a dispatch so I'm home ... but then again, I'm two days into my hitch & 35 hrs into my 70 in 8.
This is NOT a job for those who require consistency, moving the same thing to the same place at the same time every day.
I slip-seat ... every day I could be in a different truck which operates a different way.
Every rig is different – more... in its lay-out & which tank gets what product. Sometimes I slog through mud up to my knees & sometimes I use snow chains in summer to get to where I'm supposed to be. Sometimes good directions are provided & sometimes signs point the way ... but don't depend on it.
If you're reckless, thoughtless, forgetful or distracted ... don't expect to last long. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
defunct
Fuel Transport Driver (Former Employee), Sandy, UTOctober 28, 2013
Pros: decent trucks good mechanic.
Cons: dispatchers, management.
Was hired by .."brought in"...was highly resented for this. Short Employment...no scheduled days off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Job, Poor management.
Fuel Transport Driver (Former Employee), Sandy, UTJuly 11, 2013
Pros: nice trucks
Cons: soft days off, on call, vindictive management.
Unmentioned "on call" status. Job wasn't bad, dispatchers were unintelligible. Short line..was hired by corporate, local management did NOT like that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Frac Technician (Former Employee), Weatherford, OKMay 12, 2013
Pros: great pay
Cons: not much, if you can take long hours on your feet, then your all set.
Absolutely a great place to work. They treat you so well. Long hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company
Diesel, Haz Mat, Tanker Driver (Current Employee), Tioga, NDApril 11, 2013
i would give all zeros but not available Western Petroleum SUCKS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great pay
frac tech (Former Employee), Williamsport, PAJanuary 30, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: alot of down time
i would most deff. work here again great pay and alot of good people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a lot of money but a lot of hours
cdl driver (Current Employee), tioga ndJanuary 22, 2013
Pros: a lot of hours when they're busy, time off to see your family
Cons: living conditions the equipment
The equipment is terrible, dispatchers asking you to violate DOT regulations in a indirect matter is a common occurrence Dispatchers have no past exp. as dispatchers. Living conditions the man camp is less than good crowded, over priced for what you get no privacy. The RV park has no water when it gets below freezing, there is a common 1 tolit 1 shower/bathroom – more... shared by inbound drivers and rv residents. Previous review I read free lunch? Not in Tioga. Benefits in my opinion are horrible . The company is pretty good at giving you time off to go home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace company with quick advancement opportunities
Leased Equipment Manager (Current Employee), Sandy, UtahJanuary 13, 2013
I really enjoy working here. Only leaving because office is closing due to sell of company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
money is good IF you don't mind working all the time.
Frac Fuele (Current Employee), OklahomaJanuary 10, 2013
Pros: money, free lunches
Cons: quality of employees.
Long days. LAZY employees from louisiana. Hard to get fired. Pay is good for what you do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
6 days on and 1 day off, and alot of the 6 days your on call NOT gettin $$
Fuel Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Vernal, UTDecember 9, 2012
Pros: great hourly pay
Cons: constant demads to violate hos, not enough hours alot of weeks, safety meetings where only a few drivers attend
I started off working SUN- THU 5 days a week. Then they decided to change our schedules and have the tank wagon drivers that area " assigned to FRAC crews" work a rotating 6 days ON and 1 day OFF. The dispatchers want you to run illegal and work 16 ot 20 hour days servicing the onsite FRAC crews.Theres too many supervisors giving conflicting instructions – more... and baby sitters makin up rules to justify thier jobs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
incompetence is a prerequisite to promotion
employee (Current Employee), Tioga, NDNovember 7, 2012
Pros: money
Cons: disregard for the law
You will make money like you never have but will never run legal. Forget about a family life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to Work for
Delivery Truck Driver (Current Employee), Albert Lea, MNOctober 12, 2012
Pros: your own boss while delivering, meeting customers, benefits
Cons: extreme weather, road construction
Great benefits, and co workers are helpful and willing to help you out. Management was vary supportive and always positive even if you make a mistake.
I learned the many different petroleum products that are offered now days,how to write an order and deliver to different customers.

Hardest part is dragging the hose to some of the tanks I had to fill, – more... up and down stairs and even climb ladder.

The enjoyable part was being my own boss while delivering and meeting different customers and talking to them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excessive hours placing drivers out of compliance not enough resources to cover customers needs.
Fuel Delivery (Former Employee), Grand Junction, COJuly 5, 2012
Pros: in fact when we had any meetings always on my day off i was the one that brought the pastries.
Poor management structure and communication with employees and client. With only two employees working around the clock moral was low. Management (one person and his wife) resulted in little if any support on upcoming needs of client. And because of a Corporate incentive program for managers only the two employees were pushed to the breaking point. – more... If quota was made manager would receive percentage of all years sales. DOT safety issues were overlooked or driver was issued papers to be signed indicating his blame thus protecting Corporate IE: working 19 hours a day. I personally believe in Safety First. Given 4 hours between shifts and expected to answer a phone call in the middle of your 4 hour night about the next days shift reflects ineffective management skills. If it were an organized staff the employee would know at the end of his shift what to expect and be prepared for the next day. This particular branch (Grand Junction) didn't work that way. Also in my short time I witnessed several promotions that were a result of favoritism. The owners sons rodeo competition buddy with no experience for the position to which he was appointed. And very regrettably I was also of the wrong religious persuasion. The manager said I gave 110% and that he would give a personal recommendation and as of yet ...nothing. At least I found out sooner rather than later. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a learning experience
fuel delivery driver (Current Employee), Tioga, NDMay 11, 2012
there is no typical day at work. i learned about a section of the country i had never been to before. the entire oil industry in north dakota is understaffed most guys that are willing to come up here will find jobs.due to shortage of housing, it is hard to have a family life.most of the guys up here make the best of it.customers are cool.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Look Elsewhere!!
Fuel Transport Driver (Current Employee), Tioga, North DakotaMay 6, 2012
Very depressing and unstable company to work for. You don't know from day to day if your working or not. Housing sucks( 10 men to a trailor.) bunk beds and refrigerators that are to small for this many people. One bathroom, one shower. Out our trailor door, we live in a mud pit, very, very frustrating and depressing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work with lots of hours
fueler (Current Employee), MidlandFebruary 18, 2012
Pros: great place to work
Cons: nothing bad to say
Excelent company to work for. Everyone is nice from management to the employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Weekend job I held for 4 years
Truck helper (Former Employee), Corner Brook, NLJuly 9, 2013
Pros: great weekend work
Cons: no room for growth
Help deliver oil,
organize computer slips
This company gave me the opportunity to hold down a weekend job and to learn many people skills.