Western Shamrock Corp Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible company and poor upper management
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ALOctober 11, 2017
The company itself has no regards to their employees, none of the upper management had their ducks in a row, was left in a branch for over 4 months with no help and upper management wasn't even attempting to look for another employee. Had to beg to be able to have a Saturday off even when numbers were good for my anniversary. If you're a parent the job is not for you, was never wrote up at a job before until working here. Was wrote up for taking a day off while my son was admitted into the hospital because i had no paid time off, even though i had a dr note.
Pros
friendly customer base
Cons
company doesn't care for well being of their employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place too work with and everyone gets along great
Accounting Auditor (Former Employee) –  San Angelo, TXSeptember 8, 2017
I never knew anything about this company. As I was working there I learned a lot and I am grateful too have the experience of learning something different. The people are great too work with and also a friendly staff and they work as a team. Hardest part of the job i cant recall any. I enjoyed working with WSC
Pros
Birthday cakes month for all of those that had a birthday, company parties and incentives of gift cards
Cons
Pay and benefits were high
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nurturing environment
Account Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 1, 2017
Welcoming Environment
Sales Oriented
Fast Pace
Sink or Swim mentality
Customer Service Oriented
Friendly Staff
Always something to learn
Commission available
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All work no time for family or self.
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  San Angelo, TXSeptember 17, 2016
Every work environment is different depending on the person, its best to experience it for yourself. My review may be different from yours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place I Loved meeting new people
Account Specialist (Former Employee) –  San Angelo, TXAugust 1, 2016
Productive work place my days begin with customer service in person or via telephone and I am a very hard working and reliable person
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to gain experience.
ACCOUNT SPECIALIST (Current Employee) –  San Angelo, TXMay 4, 2016
Pros
Small offices
Some Good Managers
okay hours

Cons
Little Pay
Almost Impossible Bonuses
District Management
Job Security
Turn over in some areas
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Western Shamrock
Branch Accounting Clerk (Current Employee) –  San Angelo, TXOctober 29, 2015
Poor pay.
Virtually no opportunity for vertical advancement.
Underappreciated and underpaid.
While the owner and upper management are handsomely paid, the lower level employees, although essential to the continued growth and success of the company are extremely underpaid.
I'm a college graduate struggling to make ends meet week to week.
The pay is not parallel with the level and importance of the duties performed.
Pros
If you are able to perform everyday tasks you have job security.
Cons
Accounting clerks are underappreciated and vastly underpaid.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not willing to work around your schedule
account specialist (Former Employee) –  cairo, gaJuly 28, 2015
The pay is minimal and they are not willing to work around your schedule as much as you need. It's hard to balance a job you NEED with a family.
Pros
bonuses
Cons
poor management skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A bad place to work if you are a single parent
Loan accountant (Former Employee) –  lawton okFebruary 16, 2015
I would go into work and do the same thing with no good job or hey lets do something different today. Every day was same. No benefits as a part timer and if you did go full time you had to wait an additional 90 days.
I did learn how to handle accounts and manege money even more.\
Hardest part about the job was is trying to get everything do my job and the managers job when she was to busy and then getting blamed for the manager for her not doing what she should have been.
Most enjoyable part is being there for the customer weather the needed a loan for extra food for their family a car payment they could not make and had to go a extra mile to get it paid. Basically making some one day all because I was able to assist them in getting extra cash.
Pros
none
Cons
no Flexibility
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very beneficial to consumers down on their luck
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Paris, TXOctober 24, 2014
A great company to work for. They will bend over backwards to accomodate you. On top of that, they have great merchandise that thel will finance for you with minimal payments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Manager
Account Specialist/Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Idabel, OKOctober 13, 2014
It was a great Learning Experience! Need a New Manager there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very welcomed atomosphere
data entry clerk (Former Employee) –  San Angelo, TXMay 8, 2014
Did assigned jobs, in the general ledger department. Learned alot about spreadsheets from co workers and had an oportunity to show my data skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great with working around schedule, Favortism in employees
Accounting Specialist (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMarch 4, 2014
Every manager has a different procedure for running their office so It made it a little difficult in adjusting when transferred. Although every office is different, It was an advantage in learning different ways to exceed and be successful. The hardest part of the job was working with mostly women who did not get along. Things were easier when you kept to yourself. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to help customers meet their needs and desires.
Pros
Bonus and/or free lunch or gift card when meeting monthly quotas, Great working around your personal schedule
Cons
Low pay and hard to move up in business
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly co-workers
Assistant Associate (Current Employee) –  Austin,txDecember 26, 2013
I enjoyed working hand in hand with my co-workers and providing excellent customer service to my community. I enjoyed being able to help families achieve their financial goals. I always tried to be informative and understanding. Having open availability with hours ranging from ten to twelve on a daily needs bases with little notice was the hardest part to adjust to. While working at Western Shamrock I learned different methods of improving my communication skills and enhance my multitask abilities.
Pros
free lunches when meeting goals
Cons
only one in austin
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Personal loans
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Joplin, MONovember 15, 2012
day starts at 9 am. during the day you process new loans and take payments on existing loans. Mail past due reminders and make collection calls. Office closes at 6pm. however twice a week you are required to stay an additional 2 hours making collection calls.
Management was friendly.
The location I was in had only myself and the manager.
The hardest part of the job was sitting all day making calls.
The best part of the day was the regular hours.
Pros
regular hours
Cons
collections, staying late
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
collections
Collection/Loan Specialist (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKMarch 26, 2012
Good benefits, good hours, helpful co-workers.Good place to learn how collection and loans are processed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Western Shamrock Corp. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 17 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Compensation/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
2.8
Culture
2.8

Western Shamrock Corp Reviews by Location