Western Sizzlin Employee Reviews

Showing all 111 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Starter Job
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Wilson, NCMay 3, 2017
Western Sizzlin is a great place to work, I worked there for 3 years. I would recommend anyone starting out in life, trying to find a job, to look into working here. Management is good and you will learn a lot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unproductive workplace
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Van Buren, ARMay 3, 2017
Working here I met some very interesting people. I learned what really goes on in the kitchen of a restaurant. The management staff did not want to manage so anyone could do what they wanted with no consequences which was fun but but not efficient.
Cons
poor hours, unprofessional management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy environment
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  TennesseeApril 25, 2017
Clean glasses and stock
Take orders
Maintain Food Station
Serve Guests at the meat station
Fix Drinks
Hand out plates
Clean
Not enough hours

While i was there I learned to deal with different personalities and opinions. Sometimes we have to be a team player for the good of the customer or the business.
Pros
Discount of food
Cons
Not very nice co workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A chance to show my talent for cooking
Cook (Former Employee) –  Flowood, MSApril 17, 2017
It gave me a chance to show my talent for cooking...a chance to develop new ideas and build my customer services skills..it helped build me as a cook and better my expertise in the cooking field
Pros
A chance to build my expertise in cooking
Cons
Pay didnt correspond with the hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very homely environment
Host and Cashier (Current Employee) –  SCApril 16, 2017
Western Sizzlin is a family based restaurant with an amazing staff and a strong worth ethic. It is also kept clean and takes extra precautions when cleaning up after a shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going and laid back
Cook (Former Employee) –  Russellville, ARApril 7, 2017
My first job was here and I loved it from the get go. The staff was very friendly and management was easy to get along with and helped you in every way they could.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly company
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Enid, OK 73703April 2, 2017
Good environment, friendly management, great pay, and good hours. The company had regular customers and everyone was able to get acquainted with people and make friends and your job became a family place that you loved to go to every day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great experience
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Seminole, OKMarch 30, 2017
Western Sizzlin in Seminole, OK was not well managed, was not typically enjoyable, pay was not great, workplace was not clean, and management was not understanding.
Pros
tips
Cons
dirty, bad pay, no healthcare, short breaks, bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going down fast
Buffet Manager (Former Employee) –  Monticello, ARMarch 15, 2017
I really can't give Western Sizzlin a good review all because of one Manager. Owners are overall great people. they need to listen to employees a little and fire the manager who is a compulsive liar. He's mulitiative and makes so many employees uncomfortable .
Pros
Plenty of hours
Cons
Jimbo
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life at the Sizzzz
Cashier/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Kill Devil Hills, NCMarch 1, 2017
The place is no longer in business. The management was great, staff pleasant, tips great, year round business. Gift shop was nice and the over all experience was great, wonderful
Pros
great place
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee moral very low
Dishwasher/Prep Cook (Current Employee) –  Covington, VAFebruary 18, 2017
Lowest employee moral of any place I've ever worked,unfair treatment of employees with regards to scheduling,can not depend on hours.In my opinion very poor management.
Pros
None
Cons
No reliable work schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Management
Cook (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, ARFebruary 1, 2017
Good food and neat and clean kitchen. Management was good. staff worked hard and were proud of there job. This store is under different management now.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Server everyday life
Server/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Rainbow City, ALJanuary 26, 2017
As a server for this company it changed my life, making tips i never thought to make. I made a lot of money and it helped pay my everyday bills.
Pros
tips
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work, owners take good care of employees
Restaurant Manager (Former Employee) –  Rocky Mount, NCJanuary 11, 2017
Western Sizzlin has roaches that are overrunning the place. As manager most of my time was spent comping bills because of roaches on tables and in the buffet items
Pros
free meals
Cons
smoke breaks are loosely monitored which takes staff away from customers
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't care that much
Server, cashier, dishes (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCJanuary 9, 2017
i just didn't enjoy my personal experiences working there but they did adjust to my schedule when needed but pay was not good for me.
Pros
Good food
Cons
Bad pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a joy to come in and work everyday
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Marion, ILJanuary 5, 2017
There wasn't many staff so we were like a family and all the people that came in were very nice and friendly. I learned how to prepare many food dishes.
Pros
people
Cons
its closed now
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
got to meet alot of new people
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCDecember 27, 2016
Horrible place to work. They never had the organization to place there workers accordingly and there hours were all over the place. Very unorganized and communication wasn't there. They would have 4 to 5 managers a night and they would be placing people in random places cause they never had enough people or had to much.
Pros
5% discount on your lunch if u work a 8 hr shift
Cons
no breaks and unorganized
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very routine job where everyone smokes, morale was low.
Dishwasher/Baker (Former Employee) –  Lavale, MDDecember 8, 2016
On a typical day at work I would clock in and ether set up my section of the buffet or I would go talk to the person that's about to clock out that worked the position I was working that day. To know where were at on supplies/ what he she already has prepared.

I learned baking tricks for sweets and bread.

Management was lenient, as long as we got the job done and didn't disturb the costumers they didn't care.

Co-workers liked drama and 2/3s of them smoked. Some of them were funny though and all of the waitresses were nice.

The job was never hard.

I enjoyed the free ice-cream.
Pros
simplicity
Cons
reppitishion gets depressing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great leadership
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Albany, GADecember 2, 2016
Family oriented workplace I enjoyed my Tim there. Nice and clean. The customers love our waitresses and Chefs there was none better than the steak that we served
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place for a great income
Server Assistant (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, CONovember 21, 2016
Easy money, but hard management. Micro management for sure. However, this place is now out of business in Colorado Springs due to the way it was ran
Pros
tips
Cons
no longer in business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Western Sizzlin. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 111 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.4
Culture
3.4