Find companies:
Western State Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
27 reviews

Western State Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling and rewarding.
Fiscal Technician (Former Employee), Tacoma, WAMay 29, 2014
Pros: the bond with my co-workers and employee's, meeting new employee's, learning new things everyday because of state changes.
Cons: non-perm position.
High End data entry, I was in charge of 286 employee's Paychecks.
Input of over time, sick leave and personal leave accruals and adjustments as needed per pay period, Prepare fiscal reports, input information of new hires into DSHS Personnel systems. Enroll new hires into the Health Care Authority system and adjust current employee's changes to HCA. – more... Answering a high volume of calls and E-mail's, Faxing, Scanning, and Copying. Maintain and update Filling, Inventory, Mailing and Database Systems.
being a Fiscal Tech 2 was very rewarding in many ways as I learned a great deal about communication, Time utilization, and Customer Service. I had approximately 15 co-workers whom I enjoyed seeing on a daily basis we, as Fiscal Tech's had a very stressful dedication to make sure our employee's payroll and leave compensations were completed accurately and by State deadlines. This at times would put high pressure in the office, but we all knew we would pull through as a team. The hardest part of being a Fiscal Tech at WSH would have been when a co-worker would call in for time off when it was close to payroll cut-off, this would cause us in the office to come together and make sure the absent person's payroll was completed before the State system locked us out. (Each FT was in charge of 250-300 employee's payroll)
The most enjoyable part of my job at WSH was the feeling of accomplishment twice a month every month, knowing my employee's were happy and they knew I would do what ever it took to get the job done accurately and on time every time and they appreciated it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved my job
Switchboard Operator (Current Employee), Hopkinsville, KYApril 19, 2014
Many phones daily, i found out that people were not nice on the phone to operators.The people here are not fun to work around.
I do not work with people ,i work by myself. There is nothing hard about my job except for finding a soft chair for 16 hours.Being here ,I like to come
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do yourself a favor and stay away from WSH. Terrible place to work! You have been warned!
Psychiatric Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Staunton, VaMarch 23, 2014
Pros: state benefits if you get hired full time.
Cons: no job security, mandated overtime, dangerous situations, controlling and deceiving supervisors, no advancement
Western State Hospital in Staunton, Va is a terrible place to work. Please do not let anyone tell you otherwise. It might not be so bad if you are an RN, or even an LPN, but the the nursing assistants get treated like dirt by the supervisors and by the administration. The job of working with psychiatric patients is difficult and dangerous enough, but – more... supervisors, co-workers and administration make it much worse. The gossip among employees, as well as the backstabbing mentality of the employees is horrible. The scheduling of staff is completely inadequate, and as a nursing assistant you will be mandated to work overtime( mostly double shifts) to cover holes in the schedule. The hospital does not care if you have family obligations or not. Patient aggression is often escalated by some RNs, and employees get hurt as a result of this. Employees, especially RNs, are often bullied by their peers. The administration play favorites, and gossip about employees in an inappropriate manner. One Assistant Director of Nursing in particular is especially guilty. These are only a few issues. I could go on and on. I worked there as a nursing assistant for five years and had good evaluations consistently. There is also no chance for promotion. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to learn the health care industry in large scale.
Mental Health Technician (Former Employee), Lakewood, WAMarch 13, 2014
Pros: many lives impacted by the interaction.
Cons: lots of agency red tape.
Everyday was something new, daily routines had some texture and learning of individuality - interaction of cognitive entities. Was purely and extended team environment, all striving to optimize a set plan of treatment goals within a medical physiomechanical regimen.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An experience that everybody should have to enrich their knowledge to all sector in the medical field
LPN (Former Employee), Tacoma, WAMarch 11, 2014
Pros: knowing more people
Cons: some injury
It begins with a report from the previous shift and that gives the charge nurse what we have to tackle for the shift. Distribution of personnel to vital assignments with appropriate balance for the patient safety In mind. whatever the result, inform the charge nurse and the rest of personnel regarding the decision of assignments.
supervisors are informed – more... whether personnel count is balanced for the acuity of the ward. Safety check should be performed prior accepting from previous shift. Proper participation of all staff when faced with obstacles to tackle the 'HARD PART OF THE JOB"
The most that I consider enjoyable part of the job is when patient's trust is earned and stars to connect where treatment is attainable. Discharge would be next and in sight. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's where I had my 8 weeks internship. (NO PAY)
CLINICAL ROTATION, HEALTH UNIT COORDINATOR (Former Employee), Lakewood, WAFebruary 10, 2014
My typical day was doing the data entry, admitting or discharging patients, filing paperwork in patients charts, getting their mail twice a day. Screen and relay phone calls in a prompt and efficient manner, multi-tasking in a fast paced environment. I was using what I learned in my health unit coordinator program and all co-worker especially my (preceptor) – more... were so patience and helpful in my training. That hardest part is being in the Mental environment, seeing and hearing the patients. It was sad for me, but the enjoyable part is the people I was trained with and the fast paced job which kept me sane. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Place to work.
Patient Aide II (Former Employee), Hopkinsville, KyFebruary 5, 2014
Very good hospital, with great Staff. A very caring place for those with mental health issues. was able to work one on one with patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Externship (Former Employee), Steilacoom, WAJanuary 6, 2014
Good people, great place to work and learn. Have good benefits if you become an employee. Feel very safe and able to talk to superiors about anything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the career you imagined
Patient Care Technician (Current Employee), Hopkinsville, KYDecember 11, 2013
Pros: convenient hours
Cons: management could care less
a gossip center, you do get alot of experience with patients and all their issues, The hardest part of the job is dealing with all the unprofessional individuals you work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Place
Patient Aid Assistant (Current Employee), Hopkinsville, KYNovember 17, 2013
Pros: hour break, and laid back
Cons: worrying about patients fighting you.
Typical day is just checking on patients doing vital signs and interacting with patients
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best place I have ever worked. I hope that I find that satisfaction of a position that I can feel like I really help some one .
Transport driver (Former Employee), Hopkinsville, KYOctober 8, 2013
Cons: being able to be out of the facility
I would be the first to arrive at the office. I didn't have a supervisor title
but I would carry out duties of a supervisor. I have coordinate the runs that would be carried out for that particular day. Carry duties out.
I really learned a lot being in that kind of environment. Most of my co-workers loved and respected,admired me.The residents too.
The – more... hardest part of the job was being the only female to have ever been in that department. The most enjoyable part of my job was taking the residents to their destination to get the service they needed whether it was a doctors appointment or a placement to a personal care homes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have accomplished so much in so little time with this hospital
Clinical Rotation/Health Unit Coordinator (Former Employee), Steilacoom, WAAugust 28, 2013
Pros: keeps you busy
Great place to work, staff is very helpful works well as a team to accomplish the tasks at hand.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work. Great Co workers.
LPN4 (Former Employee), Lakewood, WAAugust 27, 2013
Pros: co workers are great. lots of training here.
Cons: usually short staffed
WSH is a wonderful place to work. Each night we completed first rounds checking each patient and our ward for safety issues. We had report with the previous shift and then the RN and I would assign duties to all staff. Once duties were assigned we did hourly checks of the ward. Gave medications as they were needed, made assessments and documented on – more... patients. Monitored patients 1:1 when needed, Obtained vital signs and assisted the lab techs to obtain specimens as needed. Completed assigned tasks and then the RN reported off to the next shift. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The staff at the Hospital were great to work with and we valued team work.
LPN (Former Employee), HopkinsvilleJuly 22, 2013
Pros: open door policy to discuss any concerns that employees may have.
Cons: not enough staff to work with patients.
I worked at the Hospital for several years. All the staff were wonderful to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace but can get stressful at times...
PNA (Current Employee), Staunton, VAJuly 16, 2013
Pros: working with the patients
Cons: staff and pay
Good job but doesn't pay enough I think. As a full-time employee you get excellent medical benefits. The only problem I would say is controlling RNs. Can make the day at work extra stressful in a environment that can already be tense.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very challenging
LPN (Current Employee), Staunton, VAJuly 9, 2013
Pros: good state benefits
Cons: can be stressfull.
There is NO typical day. You never know how the mentally ill clients will be from one day to the next. Always a chance for physical aggression towards self, peers, and staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place.
Administrative Secretary (Former Employee), Tacoma, WAJune 20, 2013
Pros: monday thru friday
Cons: political
Safety comes first so remember you bubble! You meet a lot of interesting people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people all around
Busboy (Former Employee), Lakewood, WaApril 18, 2013
Pros: lots to do.
Cons: people would start to irritate you.
A typical day at work would be talking to people. I learned to be productive all day and stay conservative. Management was nice. Very friendly and outgoing people. My co-workers were just as nice as management. The hardest part about the job was staying awake. The most enjoyable part about the job was lunch.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits
Assistant to Director (Former Employee), Tacoma, WAMarch 4, 2013
Training always available.
Good medical and dental.
Union shop.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An interesting place to work.
Warehouse Operator (Former Employee), Steilacoom, WADecember 5, 2012
Pros: steady work
Cons: confusion in management
Arrive in the morning, get your work for the day. must be very flexible, Management can be somewhat confusing at times, due to lack of comunication among themselves. Co-workers were like a family. great group of people to work with. Hardest part of the job was the lack of communication. The most enjoyable part was when there was a variety of things – more... on the job. – less

About Western State Hospital

The common good of the¬†Commonwealth of Virginia¬†falls under the purview of the Office of the Governor. The office is responsible – Read more