Find companies:
Western and Southern Financial Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
48 reviews

Western and Southern Financial Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Environment
Client Relationship Specialist (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHNovember 25, 2014
I have learned all about the insurance industry. It is a good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WESTERN AND SSOUTHERN
Sales Manager and Insurance Salesman (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PANovember 9, 2014
DO NOT WORK HERE
YOU WERE WARNED
THIS ISS ALL SALES AND COMISSSIONSS ANDD THEY DO NOT GIVE YOU A WORKABLE BOOK
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place
Sr. Programmer Analyst (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHNovember 2, 2014
This a stable place to work for the home office. It has a very old work culture that requires suits and ties. Kind of dated in company beliefs (its like working for a company in the 1970's). Offers good benefits and a pension. Great for a person looking to safely plan their future if you can deal with the dated policies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Marketing and Sales Assistant (Current Employee), Sarasota, FLOctober 31, 2014
I was hired as Accounts Receivable. The company is going in other directions and did away with that position and moved me into Marketing and Sales. I take care of inventory among other duties. We just moved so I set up the marketing supply closet.

I liked my coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
AVP, Process & Project Management (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHOctober 14, 2014
W&S is a great place to work - very professional organization with strong growth over the last 10 - 20 years. Great leadership team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
District Sales (Current Employee), Independence OhioOctober 12, 2014
Pros: short salary
Cons: short salary
Great place to start your insurance career. If you are looking for a great insurance company and environment, go to western and southern,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Sales
Account Executive (Former Employee), Grove City, OHSeptember 24, 2014
Good company, however the training provided is insufficient. Basic sales job, little effort is put in my management to help succeed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stong company, no layoffs
Pension Administrator II (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: free lunch, pension plan, subsidized downtown parking
Cons: business professional everyday
Very stong company, has never laid off anyone ever!
They offer a pension plan, as well as partial match on 401(k)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough to get started, management really matters
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Lima, OHJuly 10, 2014
Pros: you set your schedule with appointments
Cons: straight commission, takes awhile to build a good bank
Not the job for the emotional people, you will see people after someone has died and talk about death with people to sell them policies. The management at your office matters most, good managers will pump you up and keep you working, bad managers will just criticize you and make things miserable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do not recommend for starting agent experience agents might be ok they want high end market but do not have competive enough products
agent (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INJuly 8, 2014
Pros: can't think of any
ok company not much training by managment team , they write on top of agents and do not work with agents , been here for 3 1/2 years and have no managment out in field with me. go co workers good support from clerical
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NA
Staff Manager (Current Employee), Parkersburg, WVJune 19, 2014
The best job in the company is an agent. Management is unable to correct any issues in the field in fear of loosing their job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career focused opportunity
Insurance Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Stow, OHJune 9, 2014
Pros: make own hours
Cons: commission bases
Networking and building a customer base was a great challenge
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
financial representative (Current Employee), WVMay 29, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: deception, structure (pay & managment)
Poor management! Horrible lying, deception from time of employment from divisional VP. Sales manager is a joke they have no idea what they are doing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Allows you to take charge of your success
Registered Representative (Current Employee), San Diego, CAMay 28, 2014
Pros: great benefits & compensation
Cons: micromanagement if struggling
There is a level of micromanagement if you are not able to produce on your own, however higher producers have a great deal of autonomy. If you have a good manager you will find ways to be successful as training is great. Allows for a fun, challenging environment while putting you in charge of your own success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very little qualified management
Licensed Agent (Former Employee), Indianapolis INApril 25, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: too captive
Did not feel they were concerned about agents or their success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old school company trying to pass as progressive!
Manager, General Accounting (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: everyone knows the pros.....free lunch, though it was never very good!
Cons: mid level management left to make all the decisions regarding staff, not supported by upper management, always easy to pass judgement after the fact!
They treat their non-exempt hourly associates like gold! There is not a lot of high expectations placed on non-exempt associates and if they don't do the job they were hired to do, that's usually OK. W&S offers many benefits to their associates, though less than other companies of a similar size. The company is very resistant and slow to change. Many – more... processes, systems and people are stuck 20+ years in the past. If you're looking for a progressive company, this is certainly not the company for you!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad practices dishonest
Sales (Former Employee), MichiganJanuary 30, 2014
A typical day is full of lies.
I learned I'm better off somewhere else.
Management is cold and misleading.
No salary as I was told there would be and was promised other things like a new computer, it never happened.
Look else where and do not do any business with a company that are dishonest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
SALES REPRESENTIVE (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHJanuary 18, 2014
Pros: free lunches, good managers
Cons: health care process
The process at W&S can be determined based on the clients we have day to day. A typically work day brings me in contact with 30-45 clients. I help each client develop a plan when it comes to their life insurance needs. Management is developing different approaches to bring our company into a positive profit. The co-workers are great and bring a great – more... effort each day and provide a fun atmosphere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I learned
Student Externship (Former Employee), Bloomington, IndianaJanuary 18, 2014
I learned more about the insurance industry, long-term finance industry, and sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trainee sell insurance products
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Akron, OHDecember 4, 2013
Pros: great team environment
Cons: straight commission
I was being trained to sell insurance products. I worked well with my managers and other team members.

1 2 3

About Western and Southern Financial Group

Columbus Life Insurance wants to be out in front, just like Christopher Columbus's famed Santa Maria, which the company adopted – Read more