Westfield State University

19 reviews

Westfield State University Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experience
English Writing Workshop Instructor (Former Employee), Holyoke, MAJuly 16, 2015
Pros: students, coworkers, program objective
Cons: temporary
Educating students on their next steps toward career paths and adult growth is enlightening and meaningful. The programs are nurturing for educators and everyone is always willing to help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Getting to meet new students every year.
Supervisor (Current Employee), Wilson buildingJune 15, 2015
Pros: We have a lot of raffles and employee of the month
Cons: Health Insurance is not the best and we only get paid for 3 holidays
When I get to work I count out the safe and set up my register and then I try to have a safety meeting every day to remind my employees about safety and the different chemicals we use and teach them about – more... food prep. taking temps on our food and how to record them. I serve and take orders and run the register and clean up at the end of my shift. The hardest part of my job is working short handed.What I enjoy most about my job is working with my employees and talking to the students and professors and seeing them smile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and educative place to work
Exams room Officer (Current Employee), Westfield, MAJune 9, 2015
Always in touch with so many people. This improved my inter personal relationship and communication skills. I really enjoyed helping students to get better understanding of what they are having difficulty with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best school ever
Student Manager (Former Employee), Westfield, MAJune 2, 2015
Worked in this position my final semester, gained more experience as I improved skills, including time management, team building, and advertising. This internship was paid and even if it wasn't, it was – more... a blessing to get any opportunity I could at Westfield State University. A place where people appreciate you for you, always show you unconditionally you are part of their family, and being a role model to students on campus, older or younger, motivates you to go to school and take part in anything. I was blessed to have the opportunity and make the best of it. To give back to the students and faculty and be appreciated for it just to be seen doing something made the moments special and even though I graduated in December 2012, I still visit and donate to the university as an alumni. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review of Westfield
Desk Attendant - Fitness Center (Former Employee), Westfield, MAMay 19, 2015
A typical day at the Fitness Center involved answering phone calls, swiping students in, and cleaning. These activities varied on where you were placed that day. Upstairs is where you would greet the – more... students, take phone calls/messages, and interact more. Downstairs is where you supervised the students and cleaned the weights and floors. The managers were great. They took the time to get to know you and made you feel comfortable working there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and a great learning experience.
Residential Assistant (Former Employee), Westfield, MAOctober 23, 2014
Pros: single living, paycheck.
Cons: restrictions on social life, late hours.
A typical day at work included going to classes and hanging with my friends, when I was on duty at night I sat at the desk of our buildings main entrance. We supervised the students and the building we – more... lived in. We did hourly rounds between 9pm and 1am on nights that we had scheduled duty. I learned a lot about myself as a person. I used to have a mindset similar to that of an introvert, but being in a position where my job is to work with and meet new people has really brought me out of my shell. It also helped me build upon my management and organizational skills. My problem with out management as RA's really limited our social lives. Specific rules were set in place to keep us from leaving the campus which never sat well with the other RA's. The hardest part of the job is dealing with emergencies, I dealt with everything from deeply emotional residents and parents to medical emergencies. The most enjoyable part of the job was all the amazing new friends I made. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee), Westfield, MAAugust 22, 2014
Wonderful
People are eager to help
great coworkers
Team Environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a team to achieve excellence
Assistant; Office of Alumni Relations (Current Employee), Westfield, MAAugust 19, 2014
working with others to create programs that benefit both current students and alumnus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work enviorment
Staff Associate's Assistant (Former Employee), Westfield, MADecember 19, 2013
Pros: boss
Cons: just needed to finish my mba
My work experience at Westfield State was excellent. The staff I worked with was extremely intelligent and fast-paced, yet fun to be around.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful and supportive people in Academic Affairs
Director of Grants and Sponsored Programs (Current Employee), Westfield, MAAugust 30, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: insurance costs out of state
you are able to work independently. Love my co-workers. Hardest part of my job is trying to keep current with trends in the market place with day to day work to do. Love the communte and the hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and productive work enviroment.
Building Maintainer (Current Employee), Westfield, MAAugust 22, 2013
Pros: unsupervised working enviroment, you are trusted to do your job correctly.
Cons: summer work schedule, as a maintainer you have to work harder to correct building conditions, as a i.s.o.the summer months are scheduled off, no work.
As a building maintainer, I really enjoy working for this company, it provided, a great opportunity for advancement, and helped me to learn to develop a strong work ethic. It is fast pace environment, – more... which make your work day faster, the best part of working there is the people and students you encounter during your working hours. Management works hard to provide the proper work conditions, and that make you job much more reassuring, to know that are there for you, when needed. As a I.S.O. Working with campus police department, provide a truly professional environment. The Officers give you all of the training and support, you will need to perform your job, to the best of you ability. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a family like workplace
Urban Education Program - Student Leader/Mentor (Former Employee), Westfield, MAJuly 23, 2013
Urban Education made me feel like I had a family away from home. The counselors were always there for me whenever I needed advice in regards to my academics, career, or personal life. They taught me leadership skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work great people
Office Assistant (Current Employee), Westfield, MAApril 10, 2013
I got to work different events and meet lots of people which has really helped me decide a direction. Working in a university setting is very different from working anywhere else because you have way more opportunities in different fields in one place. You can do PR, assisting, teaching, etc. It was amazing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, not managed well
Banacos Academic Center Student Assistant (Former Employee), Westfield, MAFebruary 26, 2013
• Present Students with tutors based on academic needs and schedule requirements.
• Enforce rules to insure a safe and comfortable environment for students to study and work in.
• Acclaim pay for tutors
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy going to work
Police Officer (Former Employee), Westfield, MADecember 19, 2012
Pros: enjoy working with college community
Cons: to much force overtime
Patrolling the campus (foot or crusiser) responding to calls, assisting students, faculty, staff and visitors, parking enforcement. Report writing. Backup officer if needed. Working with victims of a crime, interviewing witnesses, interrgation suspects. Work closely with local and state police, fire department, medical. Exercise power of arrest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An incredible place to work with a rich history and a commitment to student success, diversity and civic engagement.
Administration (Current Employee), Westfield, MAOctober 15, 2012
Pros: people, commitment to diversity, civic engagement and global awareness.
Cons: i have none. i love working here!!!
I have enjoyed every day that I have worked for this organization! Management is both visionary and strategic and provides much opportunity for involvement in the committee structure and new priorities. – more... The people make the place and I can truly say that some of my best friends come from my work environment. My favorite part of the job after the people....the opportunities to explore the community and world! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cozy Office Work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Westfield, MAAugust 28, 2012
I would start the day off filing, answering e-mails, and scheduling appointments for my director. I learned how to work spreadsheets on Microsoft Excel. In doing so, I was able to register students for – more... classes, register rooms for classes, and providing resources for the classes. My director was very laid-back and calm which made my job less stressful. I was always doing two things at once but never felt overwhelmed. My knowledge for administrative work greatly improved with this job and I believe that I have the ability to further my knowledge and feel comfortable in doing so. The hardest part for me, was making phonecalls. I would have to call fifteen people back to back, but it was also my favorite part because I was able to have conversations with the students, or professors, and my confidence in phone-calling greatly improved. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse Learning Experiences
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee), Westfield, MAMay 12, 2012
Westfield State University offers numerous opportunities to expand your knowledge in topics you are interested in. I worked with the Bully Prevention Program and presented to schools in Western MA educating students on bullying and how to handle a bullying situation.
Claimed Profile
Headquarters
577 Western Avenue
Westfield, MA 01086
Employees
501 to 1,000
Industry
Links
Westfield State University website

Facebook