Find companies:
Westin Hotel
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
245 reviews

Westin Hotel Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Westin
Host (Former Employee), WilmingtonOctober 26, 2014
Pros: benefits, full time, meeting great people
Cons: dealing with day to day inconsistency of management
Great place to work however management is not consistent or properly structured. I learned that standing up for what you believe in makes a huge impact. Co-workers were like family, we genuinely cared for each other. Hardest part of the job was taking orders from certain managers who I lost respect for. Most enjoyable part of my job was keeping a smile – more... on guest faces. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced environment
Senior Bartender (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 23, 2014
Basically good place to work. Most of management empathic. Great place to meet all walks of life. Guest flow choppy at times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Met great and professional people, learned a lot.
Lobby Lounge Bartender (Former Employee), Westin Hotel in Jersey City, New jerseyOctober 20, 2014
Pros: the freedom i had to make the drinks i love to make.
Cons: when it would be too busy i could not take breaks. but as a bartender i love busy days.
Typical day at work I would come in and open and set up my bar. Served hotel patrons, entertained patrons at the bar. I trained and managed new employees and enjoyed every part of it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
13 years of greatness
Director of Guest Services & Fun (Current Employee), Hollywood, FLOctober 9, 2014
Pros: culture and talent pool & development
Cons: the beach and sunshine:)
amazing guests, talented team, driven service culture, 5 star.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very typical of Hospitality Industry
Frontdesk Supervisor (Former Employee), Columbus, OHOctober 7, 2014
Pros: free lunches on premises
Cons: no employee parking
It's been some years since I worked there but you had the usual smattering of people in their early 20s trying to calm down frequent flyer corporate types who were always upset that the hotel had Victorian sized rooms. I believe they have done construction since then but there was a lot of turnover in the time I was there due to the hours and the pay – more... and the way the frontdesk was treated by the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work if you are a single person without children
Room Attendant (Current Employee), Cleveland, OHOctober 6, 2014
Pros: the lunch is free
Cons: no where to park
cleaning rooms paying a great deal of attention to detail and also have knowledge of different perks that the hotel have to offer. In my opinion the management could get more training in how to interact with the staff that is under their supervision. The hardest part of my job is working every weekend and holiday not knowing when I will have a day off
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Hostess (Current Employee), Hollywood, FLOctober 5, 2014
Great associates and manager. The most enjoyable part of my job is that we are like a family and there is alot of structure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a great place to work
Guest Service Agent / Night Auditor (Current Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FloridaSeptember 30, 2014
Westin Fort Lauderdale is a great place to work, there is room for promotion, you can do whatever it takes to make the guest happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hard and rude people
Housekeeping (Former Employee), Westminster, COSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: no breaks, no benefits, part time hours
This job in general was difficult. The co-workers didn't speak english or understand anything. This job was mostly just cleaning hotel rooms. The hardest part was having to clean every room before you can leave. This was the least job I enjoyed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Executive Meeting Specialist (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCSeptember 22, 2014
Great place to learn and grow your career with Starwood.

Westin's PROMISES
+ Do the Right Thing
+ Go the Extra Step
+ Play as a Team
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Networking job
Accounting Assistant (Former Employee), Boston, MASeptember 22, 2014
 Accounts Receivable (A/R) – Generate and manage debit and credit memos for customers. Maintain A/R aging records and follow up on outstanding collections, manage cash applications, identify and resolve account variances
 Accounts Payable – Match invoices to purchase orders and receivers. Process automatic and manual check runs, and resolve any payment – more... discrepancies
 General Cashier – Control house and manager’s fund of the property, including all banks issued out for associates
n Income Auditor – Review the overnight manager’s audit to ensure accuracy as reported. Allocate revenues and posts to appropriate ledger accounts – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
laughing together and having a great time at work
Banquet Sous Chef (Current Employee), Cleveland, OHSeptember 21, 2014
Pros: the benefits are great for the employees and nice hot meal for everyone
Cons: smoke breaks
I learned to control temper at times of discourage. seen everyone coming together as a one body as it should be. The hardest part of my day was to learn the people i work with and their ways that the are and carried them self as individual try to mix with them being different than me, our back ground,taste, music,humor e.t.c. The most enjoyable part – more... of the day is that we have accomplished a job well done and go back to our respective home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We have 2 crew parties per year. The staff is aknowledged for their hard with quarterly awards luncheons. We are provided with lunch and dinner
Banuet Captain (Current Employee), Banquet DepartmentSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: an amazing professional environment. i feel appreciated and cared for at my job.
Cons: i have a 130 mile commute. this averages 3-4 hours driving per day.
My job is high pressure most days, but I love it. I have been a part of some amazing events and seen incredible galas. My management team has helped to continue my education in hospitality and leadership.
Working for The Westin has been an exciting journey for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable place to work
Receptionist (Former Employee), los angeles CASeptember 18, 2014
Steady place with a very good environment, that taught me first hand the responsibilities of being receptionist. Manager takes time to make sure all employees are fully trained and comfortable with their job to bring excellent customer service. Any customer complaint is handled immediately with the proper care. Most enjoyable part of this job was the – more... environment and the company's customer service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company really takes care of the employees
Receptionist / Sales Assistant (Former Employee), Detroit, MISeptember 6, 2014
This is a very busy hotel but the company really does a great job of showing the employees they are appreciated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very profitable and confortable,workplace clean and attractive.l personally appreciate this hotel, lux and services.
Laundry Attendant (Current Employee), Portland, MEAugust 17, 2014
Pros: free lunch, bonus, profitrelated bonus...
Cons: few times of break and the company don't give the annual vacation
I prefer the daily work from 7:00 am to 3:00 pm and from Monday to Friday.
l learned that Westin Hotel is among the highest hotels of Portland and make the pride of infrastructures of Maine.
About management is well.
My co-workers must be devoted, concientous and very workers.
The hardest part of the job is technical part like computers, kitchen, laundry,public – more... relation and security services.
The most enjoyable parts are game part, tasking food and drinking, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
accomodation. banquet services.buffet services
Steward (Former Employee), Santa Clara, CAAugust 13, 2014
Pros: also offer a good benifet
Cons: short breaks also
also employs different culture of people.a nice place held a meeting
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Hotel for Leadership and Growth
Coordinator/Assistant Catering Sales Manager (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 13, 2014
• Responsible for managing all previous coordinator duties
• Book, detail and service all social functions: Weddings, Birthday, Anniversary, Holiday etc…
• Book, detail and service all small corporate catering groups 10 rooms and under
• Respond to prospective business in lead base management systems including ACVB, StarCite and Cvent
• Maintain an – more... entrepreneurial and proactive mindset to exceed catering sales goals
• Analyze historical data to develop quality business cases for top producing and new accounts
• Consistently develop and strengthen client relationships through the coordination of client events, promotions, and incentive programs – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maintain order and safety inspections.
Hotel Security Guard (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAAugust 11, 2014
Pros: most repsoncible, exciting, fun, active position in the private sector.
Cons: exterior walks had no back up or surveillence.
Depending on your post for the 3rd shift you must never neglect those duties for the safety of the guests and employees.

Conduct hourly walk though of the 32 story hotel stairwells, sub-levels, lounges, elevators and guest halls. Submitting daily reports
of activities to the Management.

If in the guard shack, you must control employee entrance and – more... key control. Maintain a constant view of all monitors and notify guards of suspicious actives.

Escort dignitaries or high profile persons to necessary location.

All guards reported his or her shift activities and recapped to the relief guard and supervisor.

The key to success is to be aware of your surroundings and never get comfortable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Housekeeping (Former Employee), Tampa, FLAugust 6, 2014
Working for this company was a great experience. I couldn't have asked for better managers or co-workers.

1 2 3 4 5

About Westin Hotel

Host Hotels & Resorts will leave the chandelier on for you. One of the largest hospitality real estate investment trusts in the – Read more