Find companies:
Westinghouse
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
30 reviews

Westinghouse Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at, but job security is not available.
Quality Assurance Document Control Specialist (Current Employee), Shoreview, MNMarch 25, 2014
Pros: ot available, challenging and great company
Cons: job security not available and hard to receive full time position.
I love working at Westinghouse. We have projects to do, work with other countries, and build important nuclear equipment. What I enjoy most about my job is how challenging it is. My coworkers are amazing, and they all have over 20 years of experience and I've learned a lot from them. The hardest part of the job are the long hours. We work up to 72 hours – more... a week, but I still love it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall not a bad place to work
Supplier Quality and Manufacturing Engineer (Current Employee), Cranberry, PAMarch 22, 2014
There isn't really a typical day. Wide variety of product to review.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lean mfg. multi- task and interact with mfg. and eng. also material handler
Inspection (Current Employee), Windsor, CTJanuary 20, 2014
measure review parts interact with machinists and Eng.run cmm
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Munitions handler (Former Employee), Anniston, ALJanuary 18, 2014
Good place to work. Good pay. Lots of training. The co-workers were my favorite part. The rotating shift was my least favorite part.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Sourcing Specialist (Current Employee), Cranberry, PAJanuary 5, 2014
Westinghouse is a tremendous place to work. In my time there I have been asked to work on a variety of projects and been able to prioritize the projects at my discretion.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
promotes safe and clean work site
Electrical Technician (Former Employee), Anniston, ALDecember 27, 2013
Was very happy with my time at Westinghouse. Company was very pro active in keeping work place safe and clean and gave off the impression that they cared about your safety. Safety program was not just words but programs were put in place to create a safe place for you to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall good company
LEVEL II COATINGS / MECHANICAL / RECIEPT INSPECTOR (Current Employee), Shoreview, MNNovember 14, 2013
over all good company to work for, Some management could use a little work . Company Par Nuclear got bought out by Westinghouse , and they are having a hard time moving over to nuclear . I do not feel that they will succeed ,in their primary field of service , simply is why I am seeking work else where
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Offers great growth oppertunites
Under Vessel Supervisor (Current Employee), BWR Reactor power plantsNovember 8, 2013
Traveling is a big part of this job.The company dose very well taking care of you when traveling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temp job only
customer service rep (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 28, 2013
I can't give a positive review so I won't give one at all. I met some very nice people that worked very hard with little to no reward.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work since I was there for 25 years. Bittersweet to be Riffed after that time.
Senior QA Engineer (Former Employee), Aiken, South CarolinaOctober 18, 2013
Pros: very satisfied with salary
Cons: would have appreciated a better salary
As a former employee of 25 years I have seen many things that I had never seen before. I learned that working for a DOE contractor company has its unique own standards of conduct and etiquette. This experience has taught me how to work well with a diverse group of individuals, men and women that come from all over the world. People that hail from drastically – more... different cultures.

I have enjoyed meeting this diverse population of individuals and have indeed learned much about them as individuals and as a whole. They have taught me many things just by observing them.

I was fortunate to have worked for 25 years for the same employer and departed without any regrets. I always did the best that I could regardless of how simple or difficult a particular assignment may have been. I hope that when people mention my name that they will remember that "David was a good employee". – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job site management was marginal. I was a sub contractor. No benefits whatsoever.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Hematite MOOctober 4, 2013
Pros: close to home.
Cons: no benefits.
The work at this job site was wonderful. Lots of challenges, lots of people and a very good team atmosphere. I learned a lot of additional skills in the Health and Safety area. I enjoyed all the people and those I worked directly for every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Assembler of Dish (Former Employee), 300 phillipi rdAugust 22, 2013
Pros: good place to work
Cons: lay offs
good place to work got along well with co workers it was an assembly line
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Defense Company
Interactive Graphics Computer Operator (Former Employee), Linthicum, MDJuly 15, 2013
I worked Westinghouse 10 years and company had sold to Northrop Grumman Corp.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stable job.
Project Assistant/Clerk Typist (Former Employee), Aiken, SCJune 19, 2013
I was seeking career advancement and left this job to take another.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nuclear Services Division
Supervisor Nuclear Function Group (Former Employee), Kennesaw GAMay 31, 2013
Pros: travel
Cons: travel
Fantastic Group to work with, however they are out of business now.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Principle Engineer (Former Employee), Windsor, CTApril 11, 2013
workday was filled with constant problem solving. You learn many different analytical methods used in nuclear engineering.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Have fun in getting the job done in a safe and proficient way
DSA OPERATOR / ALTERNATE LEAD (Current Employee), Anniston, ALMarch 25, 2013
Pros: never miss a pay day & off 7 days a mo.
Cons: 12 hrs. shift
I will start by saying after being hired at westinghouse of anniston, and now URS it has been a once in a life time experience.
I am privilege to be a part of a dynamic Industry,The company as a whole reminds me of how we use to work for the American dream.
I have learned more about myself than anything, I am more patient I communicate better. I have – more... met some of the sharpest people and some others.The hardest part of the job, is the 12 hr. shifts the most enjoyable part of the job is going to work . I believe a positive mental attitude takes you far in life , and in the work place . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company and management but a nitch market
Grade III Technician (Former Employee), Oldsmar, FloridaFebruary 20, 2013
Pros: overtime with exclerated pay
Cons: nitch market.product was overtaken by compition
Except for pay company was almost second home for many.
People who had trouble working one job would be tried on others tell they found their ability. Training was great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good travel
Westinghouse (Former Employee), pittsburgh Pa.January 1, 2013
Pros: free lodgeing, paid lunches
always on the go different states assemble the rosa arm to work in the genrator.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work, but no longer exist
Vice President, Composites (Former Employee), Bedford, PAAugust 12, 2012
good company to work good mangement, good planning, but they close westinghouse divisions.

About Westinghouse

Westinghouse Electric has gone nuclear, with nuclear services, fuels, and power plants. It provides design work and start-up help – Read more