Find companies:
Westlake Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16 reviews

Westlake Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and polite work place
Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Melrose Park, ILApril 20, 2014
Pros: great amount of time for brake
Cons: cannot leave building for brake and not much to choose from to eat.
When I would get in I would take a look at what patients were assigned to me. Then I would start my vitals and chart them. I would check and see which patients were completes and who were assigned to have baths in the morning. In between all of that I made sure to answer call lights. Management were friendly and they did let me choose which days I could – more... work. My co-workers were very helpful and they were like extended family we always helped out each other when we could. The hardest part would have to be making sure all patients needs were met especially when you were assigned 15-18 patients a night. The most enjoyable part was being able to help those patients who cannot help themselves. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Westlake Hospital is a very good place to work and part of Tenet Group
Director Behavioral Health Services (Current Employee), Melrose Park, ILMarch 8, 2014
A very friendly and ideal place to work that offers upward mobility and highly interested in employees and the achievement of their goals. Tenet encourages staff development.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy and comfortable working with different paitents
Nurse's Aide Assistant (Former Employee), Melrose Park, ILJune 19, 2013
Pros: free lunches from business meetings, love the patients, and very organized and professional working office.
Cons: no pay because i was a volunteer and when i came back again the doctor didn't agree for payment.
A typical day at work would be getting the patient files out that are already here. I would call them in, take their weight and height measurements, and I eventually took their blood pressures after I was taught how. I would then write the information done on the patients file and put into the computer file as well. While waiting for the doctor to go – more... see the patient I would usually check the inventory of the medicines and other supplies needed. My supervisor is a phlebotomist so I've learned a lot from her. She taught me how to use the EKG machine which checks the patients pulse and prints out a small spread sheet to where I go and get the okay from the doctor that the spread sheet looks good. I watch my supervisor draw blood and that's when I ask her if I need to copy their insurance. When she says yes I would go to the patients' file and take out the insurance and make a copy of it. I would then put the insurance copy in a plastic bag where we put the blood and urine that have to be tested by our lab. My other co-workers I don't really speak to that much because we worked in different places. Two work at the front of the desk at the doctors and the other one is all the way in the back which is a place where I don't go because I have no reason or duties there. Most enjoyable part was seeing the patients and talking to them. They made laugh a lot. Hardest part would be when the patients did last minute add-on or walk ins. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working there
Staff Radiographer (Former Employee), Melrose Park, ILJune 3, 2013
Enjoyable place to work. Started in surgery. Liked the people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room for advancement, gratification in helping save someones life
Scholarship Student (Former Employee), Melrose Park, ILApril 13, 2013
Pros: benefits, pay
A typical work day would be to transport patients throught the hospital. process xray films, help move patients, help nurses with feeding and bathing patients. Also assist in registering patients that came through the ER. Management were nice but also strict. The co-workers were friendly for the most part. The hardest part of the job was having to lift – more... heavy patients and transport a patient in their bed without any help. The most enjoyable part of the job was to be able to rotate through every department and learn so much from different people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Busy Day in Rehab
Patient Care Technician (Current Employee), Melrose Park, ILFebruary 16, 2013
Pros: supportive & helpful cna staff
Cons: short staffing, minimum breaks, minimum off days, bad managing & unfair, rude patients, not a good nursing staff
A typical work day involves me working with 17 patients at the most, being the only technician on the floor to perform all my duties to each patient equally. I give showers, check glucose, check vitals, transport and transfer patients, reposition , dress and assist with ADLs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security is not safe
Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee), Melrose Park, ILJanuary 13, 2013
Pros: patient care experience
Cons: patient to staff ratio
Prepare patients in the am for therapy. Bathe and dress patients accordingly before therapy times. Each patient must be dress and transferred to his/her wheelchair to be transported to therapy room. After breakfast change bed linen and make beds. Care for about 6-18 patients. Before lunch time check vital signs and blood sugars. Co-workers at time are – more... difficult to count on when patients are calling because of the patient to staff ratio. But team work is always important and patients come first. Difficult part of my shift is preparing all my patients before they're therapy time. Overall working with patients has taught me patience, responsibility, compassion, and has given me the knowledge of medical field. Being in the medical field is a great self satisfaction and everything and anything I do I always do it with love and care. No matter what my job duty is it important to accomplish it correctly and with pride. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Westlake
Registered Nurse/ System manager (Current Employee), Melrose Park, IlNovember 23, 2012
Pros: being a nurse
Cons: short staff
I have been working at WLH for about 16 years in between I left for 1 year because they would not hire new grads. Working at WLH with so many different management and Companies has been easy to adjust. I've learned to be patient, understanding and compassionate not only towards our patients but with each other. I have been a Charge Nurse and now I am – more... a System Manager. I am the superuser for all of the computer programs at work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
read my review , I explained a lot,
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Melrose Park, ILNovember 11, 2012
Pros: read above
Cons: read above
- each day is very difficult , most of the days people experience work burn out
- Since this was my first hospital to work as a nurse I learned all my nursing skills from my wonderful charge nurses
- management: feels like no support, feels like you are on your own, so many changes almost every month if not every week.
- co workers: we all became very – more... good friends, work hard as a team to survive each day, unfortunately most is looking for different job or different hospital , we lose some of our friends already.
- hardest part of job: 6-7-8 patient each day on Tele/Medsurge unit during the day which feels unsafe, impossible to finish all task which as a nurse you feel not complete at the end of shift. Hate to leave things for next shift. I'm a hard worker , not eating lunch to try my best of my ability to complete all task, but still with this # of patient is not realistic to finish everything.
- love to work with patients. Born to be a nurse. Have caring and loving heart for patients and I fill continue to try very hard to keep enjoying to be a nurse. I just wish I can be a part of hospital that is growing, is financially stable so that patient safety and quality of care is number 1, but unfortunately is so hard to find a job. I just pray that this day will come soon and I will be very happy again to go to work and enjoy each day of my work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
being a productive team player
Unit Secretary (Former Employee), Melrose Park, ILNovember 8, 2012
I felt like westlake was a fun and productive place that I grew very fund of, all my co-workers and I were just like family and we worked very as team players to accomplish whatever tasks we were up against on a daily basis.My mosy enjoyable part about my job was i made a difference on my unit and loved helpling and taking care of others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We hate this place.
Nurses aide (Current Employee), Melrose parkSeptember 19, 2012
Pros: the people you work with.
Cons: management dont care.
Westlake dont care about you they have layoff alot of people they have close a lot of departments its like living day to day not knowing if you have a job the next day.we hear we might be closing in dec.

November 11, 2012

If you have opportunity to work for different hospital do so. Westlake used to be great place to work long time ago but since about 3 years now every day is worse and worse. Job security is 0. Many changes, many layoffs , unknown future as a worker. You're always in stress if again during this layoff time will it be me? Some actually do wish to be layoff and once for good be done with Westlake.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful
Certified RX for Inpatient Pharmacy (Former Employee), Melrose Park, ILJune 24, 2012
WestLake Hospital taught me how to do everything about a hospital setting because I came from Walgreens. They were very helpful and understanding when it came to training and taking care of patient medications.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Community Hospital
Registrar (Former Employee), Melrose Park IL.May 30, 2012
Pros: great benifits
Cons: long hours and different shifts
Very enjoyable enviroment. Learned different computer systems. Hardest part of job was having to collect deductibles and copayments from patients. Great team of coworkers. Most enjoyable part of my job was the interaction with patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment!
Community Service Contractor (Former Employee), Melrose Park, ILFebruary 20, 2012
Pros: really good cafeteria food!
I enjoyed working at this hospital, the staff members are really fun and caring people. The staff here knows how to treat their patients and their co-workers and that's what I really liked about this place. It was unfortunate for me that I had to quit but I will always remember my days at Westlake Hospital.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT PLACE TO WORK
RADIOLOGY TECH (Current Employee), MELROSE PARK ILJanuary 27, 2012
Pros: like working with your best friend
Cons: parking
WEST LAKE IS A GREAT PLACE TO WORK. IF YOU NEED ASSISTED WITH A PATIENT SOMEONE IS ALWAYS WILLING TO HELP.