Find companies:
Westminster Canterbury
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
34 reviews

Westminster Canterbury Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work just not managed good.
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Winchester, VANovember 25, 2014
Pros: good lunches, pays good, nice enviroment
Cons: poor managment
( Westminster Canterbury) a typical day there clock in most time 7 depending were your working. I learned that housekeeping a lot work but u get to meet great people. clean environment. My hardest part of my job was have to wait out in the rain in snow came taking out trash or cleaning apartments. The most joyable part of my job was meeting new people – more... co-workers, residents. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee), Richmond, VANovember 6, 2014
My work day is pretty productive and busy. I enjoy taking care of the elder.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heavy work load
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAOctober 28, 2014
Very heavy work load and not a fair enough amount of compensation. I was fortunate enough though to continue working after my student CNA course in High School.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Efficient
Human Resources/Receptionist (Current Employee), Winchester, VAOctober 15, 2014
They are quick and efficient. They are great people to work for!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Security (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAOctober 13, 2014
Great team of co workers and management staff. Each day provided a variety of task and assignments as residents came and went. The hardest part of the job was loosing people that became special to me during my every day interaction with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Energy and productive environment
Licensed Practical Nurse (Current Employee), Richmond, VAOctober 4, 2014
Pros: convenient day care center
Cons: 12 hour shifts
My experience with this company is one of highs and lows. First few years it was a wonderful place to work, Busy all day but close relationships with residents and their families was enjoyable, staff was happy and helpful toward one another, But after the 12 hour shifts started people became burned out, tired and exhausted which leads to irritability. – more... Many staff members have left and brand new staff are now there trying to learn the process, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No tips for Bartenders
Banquet Bartender (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAAugust 26, 2014
Pros: nice old folks
Cons: not allowed to receive tips while bartending
I didn't get into bartending for the hourly rate. This place doesn't allow bartenders to receive tips and the hourly rate does not at all make up for it. Maybe for an entry level bartender, this might be nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive workplace
Human Resources Coordinator (Former Employee), Winchester, VAJune 7, 2014
Management encourages professional growth. Staff support each other to meet the needs of residents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful facility wher residents are #1
ADON (Current Employee), Virginia Beach, VAMarch 13, 2014
Low Stress, everyone is friendly and willing to help. Management is fair and knowlegeable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
welcoming environment
Opening Lead (Current Employee), virginia beach, vaMarch 3, 2014
Every resident thanks their employees for working every day and putting in all the hard work for them to be there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed environment
stafff RN (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VA.January 15, 2014
Pros: parking
Cons: written records
Work as sole nurse on your shift
Great co-workers from other units
Management good
hours were great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed work environment
CNA/Unit Clerk/Medical Records Asst (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VADecember 11, 2013
Very relaxed environment. Private sitting job with individuals in their homes with daily living tasks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable place to work
Stylist (Former Employee), 501 V.E.S Road, Lynchburg, Va 24503November 8, 2013
Pros: discounts in gift shop, and on lunch
Cons: short breaks
A typical day consisted of reviewing the appointment book, confirming appointments, getting sit up for clients to be punctual when clients arrive with an enthusiatic attitude. I learned to work as a team, to stay focused no matter what the situation and to always think before you speak.
Management was good and Co workers where easy to get along with.The – more... hardest part of my day was the waiting time between appointments. The most enjoyable part of my day was interacting with clients and knowing the impact my job had on their lives. Their happiness made my day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy and productive days.
Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee), Winchester, VASeptember 17, 2013
Pros: helping others
Cons: payrates
My typical day at Westminster consists of non stop work. I work in the health care unit which is challenging but at the same time it is very rewarding. I help the elders with their every day living needs. The hardest part of my job is that it can be mentally and physically exhausting. The most enjoyable part of my day is knowing that I was able to help – more... someone and make them feel some what normal. You become their family. I love the feeling of being able to put a smile on someones face just by helping them, even if its something simple. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CNA
CERTIFIED NURSING ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Richmond, VAAugust 22, 2013
The place has some rules that are little unreasonable. They do not allow cell phones in the building. Which is understandable to not have your on the floor but they do not allow them in the employee cafeteria or employee lounge. If there is an emergency situation and someone is trying to reach you it can be a little difficult to get a hold of you if – more... they do not have a direct line to call at the facility. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice company to work for
unit secreatary (Former Employee), Richmond, VAAugust 14, 2013
This is a place to go work if you want to feel like you are at home
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A medical retirement facility
Certified Nursing Attendant (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAAugust 2, 2013
Learned a lot about the medical field.

Worked in various departments. I enjoyed working with the patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent, Professional, Caring place to live and work!
Wait Staff (Former Employee), Richmond, VAMay 20, 2013
Westminster Canterbury is an A+ employer. ALL staff members are polite, friendly, and 100% customer oriented. Training is awesome and interactive. There is active interaction and involvment with upper level management(President/ CEO), as well as direct supervisors with staff and residents regularly!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great High School Job
Waitress (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAMarch 12, 2013
Pros: great co workers, fun residents
Cons: short shifts
This job was great in high school and when I first made work a routine. The staff and the managers were great people to work with. The hours were short though for the position I worked, only 4:45 - 8pm and that was it. I was put in different position later on but they weren't as good as working wait staff. The cafe was so slow and boring and the male – more... bar tender in the bar creeped me out. I loved waiting tables their and because all the tables were regulars, you got to know the residents real well! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AMAZING!!!!!!!
The Hoy Center Receptionist (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAMarch 2, 2013
By far, the best job that I have ever had. No wonder there are so many people who have been there for 20 years or more. The residents are amazing and the employees are great.