Wharton County Junior College Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Showing all 15 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly administered
Resource Development Officer / Grants (Former Employee) –  Wharton, TXOctober 13, 2017
I suspect that the top management officials at the college are not really competent for the positions they hold. Also, I detected mismanagement of several federal and state grants, which I reported to appropriate authorities.
Pros
Cordial relations with co-workers
Cons
Mismanagement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive a family oriented place
Civil/Structural Designer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 20, 2017
Excellent work ethic with a productive a fun work day. Was able to provide for my family for many years at Mustang Engineering. I enjoyed the family oriented, people driven theme to the company while enjoying being a big contributer to the project work I was given while still enjoying a flex schedule that allowed me to get to spend more time with family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very calm
Lab Monitor (Current Employee) –  Sugar Land, TXJune 6, 2017
Its a great place to work the people are great and the hours are perfect for a part time job. The job is very easy once you get your hands on the computer and help people out with the software's. if your a people person this is a great job to look into.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Academic Culture
Adjunct Instructor (Former Employee) –  Richmond, TXJune 5, 2017
The students attending WCJC were always enlightening. Many of these students have made my acquaintance in the community and express sheer delight as they have personally and professionally excelled after their experience with this institution.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse Opportunity for Summer Activities for Kids
Transition Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Sugar Land, TXMay 26, 2017
Employees take good care of the children.
Lots of opportunities for students to study what interests them.
Monitor and occasional substitute for camp teachers at a
children’s day camp, which offered a variety of classes from PSAT
prep to clay molding (academic and extracurricular)
• Gained more experience with children between the ages of 5 and
13 years old
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved It
STUDENT SERVICES REP (Former Employee) –  Wharton County, TXMay 2, 2017
Helped me stay involved on campus. Had a lot of fun meeting new people. Helped me pay off most of my student loans. Campus was beautiful. However, the food there sucks lol,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Computer Lab Attendant (Current Employee) –  Richmond, TXJanuary 17, 2017
It is a great, healthy, and professional work environment! All of the workers and managers are great at their job. Also, everyone one is willing to help everyone out!
Pros
Able to do homework when slow.
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice staff to work with
Financial Aid/ Academic Advisor Clerk (Former Employee) –  Sugar Land, TXJune 30, 2016
Management and co-workers are friendly. Nice atmosphere. Learn new things everyday. Management is very helpful with hours and managing schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional team of people who invested heavily in their students
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT TO SR. VP OF INSTRUCTION (Former Employee) –  Wharton, TXJuly 21, 2015
Time was split equally interacting with students and administrators/instructors to assist and support the Sr. VP of Instruction in daily functions to maintain and meet high quality standards of higher education while ensuring courses complied with numerous regulatory standards.
Pros
Excellent, supportive team of people with unified goal to serve students
Cons
Salary position, but not contract, yet overtime was often required to meet deadlines.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job. Nothing really to do
Online Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  Richmond, TXFebruary 16, 2015
I went to the college and my dad got me the position so I could just work after class. Didn't really learn too much here. Just strengthened my skills in word and excel.
Pros
Dad worked at the college
Cons
Very boring
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

Want to know more about Wharton County Junior College?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
close to home - great doctors
Licensed Vocational Nurse/Clinical Instructor (Former Employee) –  Richmond, TXJanuary 29, 2015
typical day--med/surg or icu rotation. hardest part about the job was the short staffing and the need to compensate for the short staffing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Positive work environment
Admin Clerk (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 3, 2014
Working with Wharton County Junior College was fun. Very positive, respectful co-workers. There was a oneness amongst workers. The most enjoyable part of the job was the opportunity to speak to people, both live and on the phone, helping them with their questions and concerns.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full time student including classroom and clinical rotations
Vocational Nursing Student (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 24, 2013
I was a student at WCJC for one year and didn't work while attending the program after previously working for 12 years.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challengeing workplace
Adjunct Instructor Biology (Current Employee) –  Brenham, TXSeptember 8, 2012
Teaching biology can be very challenging because of the diversity of students. You as an instructor have to be able to connect with each student and teacher them the concepts of biological processes. I have carried this diligence from past positions and try to always better my work place.
Pros
freedom to use personal experience in present position
Cons
temporary
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Wharton County Junior College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
4.0
Culture
4.1

Wharton County Junior College Reviews by Location