Find companies:
Whataburger Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
21 reviews

Whataburger Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place, but somewhat overwhelming.
Manager (Current Employee), Dallas, TXJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: half off on meals and the opportunity to meet new people each day.
Supervised employees and made sure each member was certified in a station they could work. Greeted customers and got to know majority by name. Did a lot of office work and hiring process. Management crew was great! We all always had each others back as well as came up with ideas and outcomes as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work and have fun doing it.
Owner- Adam Ross (Former Employee), Waxahachie, TXSeptember 28, 2013
Pros: yes free lunchies
Cons: yes short breaks
* a typical day at work is working my hardiest to get the job done..

*what I have learned is a good work ethic..

*management is a important thing in a job..

*co-workers are there to help get the job done..

*getting the work done..

*the most enjoyable part I would say is talking to my co-workers..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very nice and enjoyable place to work and learn new things
was a fast food burger Reastuant (Former Employee), Victoria, TXAugust 24, 2013
Pros: discount on meals
Cons: days i was off i wanted to work
Very determined to work and keep up with appearences, greet people properly, and try to get new people to come in and enjoy themselves.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Crew Member (Former Employee), El Paso, TXAugust 14, 2013
Pros: many co-workers
Cons: low hours
Typical day was just cooking and cleaning. I learned some of the health hazards when handling food. Management was good. Co-workers were good to get along with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), El Paso, TXApril 25, 2013
Pros: discounts, breaks
Cons: sometimes working over time while being in school
When I first started I had no idea of anything. Manager taught me how to use the register and I liked it i was a cashier for 3 mnths and then got moved to preparing food. I was really fast worker in preparing food. I got along with all my co-workers gave the best customer service I could. The hardest part of the job was the company wasn't really understandable – more... that i was still in high school sometimes i would work graveyard shift and would go to school very tiered and sleepy that is one of the reasons i left this job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD SOCIAL ENVIORMENT, CUSTOMER SERVICE AND RELATIONS,
Team Lead/Supervisor (Former Employee), Irving, TXJanuary 9, 2013
Pros: free lunches, diffrent shifts, good management team
Cons: short breaks, some times not enough dedicated employees
WHATABURGER WAS MY FIRST AND ONLY JOB TO THIS DAY. I LEARNED ALOT FROM WHATABURGER MET MANY EMPLOYEES AND MANGERS. WORKED FOR DIFFRENT LOCATIONS AND HAD A LOT OF EXPIRENCE WORKING WITH DIFFRENT PEOPLE WITH DIFFRENT BACKGROUNDS AND CULTURES. MOVED ON TO A TEAM LEADER/ SUPERVISOR ONCE REACHED AGE 18 WITH THE COMPANY WAS TRAINED IN FOOD SAFETY AND EQUIPMENT – more... SAFETY. WAS ASKED TO MOVE ON TO MANAGER POSTION BUT WASNT SATISIFIED WITH THE PAY OFFERING. BUT CONTIUNED ON AS A TEAM LEADER I'VE LEARNED HOW CASH MANAGEMENT, DAILY INVETORIES, AND SERVICE EQUIPMENT AND DEEP FRYERS CLEANING.I'D HAVE SAY THE MOST ENJOYABLE PART OF JOB WAS JUST DEALING WITH CO WORKERS AND COUSTMERS. HARDEST PART WITH IS WHEN WOULD GET COLLEGE GAMES IN TOWN AND WE WOULD GET SO BUSY BE UNDER STAFFED BUT ENJOYED THE CHALLENGE. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun, family work place.
Accounts Receivable Data Analyst (Former Employee), Corpus Christi, TXDecember 17, 2012
Pros: sports, concert tickets etc.
Cons: raised too low based on work load.
• Responsible for the daily preparation and data entry of the deposits for three major corporate accounts
• Produce monthly aging, open invoices and un-applied cash reports for a major corporate account (Shoes for Crews)
• Collaborate with the Accounting department to update the general ledgers and journal entries
• Maintain accurate and comprehensive – more... charge sales accounts for over 250 schools and businesses
• Run monthly statements, outstanding notices and all customer calls and concerns pertaining to the charge sales accounts
• Take all customer calls concerning all charge sales accounts
• Process credit card payments and record all incoming wires for customer accounts – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun with a busy and steady pace.
Fry Cook (Former Employee), El Paso, TXOctober 16, 2012
Pros: half off purchases. opportunities for advancement. fun.
The environment allowed for a bit of relaxation, but the pace was very fast and busy, yet enjoyable. Management was great at dealing with any problems and were willing to help with school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with advancement opportunities
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Roanoke, TXSeptember 28, 2012
Pros: 50% discount on food, supplies most of the required uniform for free
Cons: no breaks for management positions, 50 plus hours work week required to achieved promised salary
Enjoyable work experience in a fast paced environment. Opportunities for advancement readily available, though relocation is often necessary. Overtime required for management positions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great fun place to work
Senior Manager (Former Employee), Mission, TXSeptember 19, 2012
Pros: great place to work
Cons: grave yard
great service Iearned i lot from the P&L bussines plans food control
labor the works great management and great co workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull day
Manager (Current Employee), Hewitt, TxAugust 31, 2012
Pros: fast paced and friendly enviroment
Cons: not much time for personal life
A tyical day at work consists of making sure the store has enough product to make through 3 more shifts, ensuring employees are following all guidlines and food safety prcedures, covering the next shift if someone calls in sick, and ensuring that all customers are satisfied with the level of service and the food that they ordered. The most difficult – more... part of the job would be having to work 3 different shift in one week. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just like you like it
Cook/cashier (Former Employee), Austin,TXAugust 19, 2012
Pros: free lunches
Cons: smelling like whatabuger in your car, house and overall greasiness
Whataburger is notorious for its signature burger and delicious fries, but again as in any food service industry the customers can get to you especially working overnight dealing with intoxicated college students. I always got the hours i needed and was always called in for overtime if available
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love whata buger
crew member (Former Employee), Defuniak Springs, FLAugust 11, 2012
Pros: half on food
Cons: i had to take 30 min breaks
it is a wonderful fast food resturant , the employees are amazing to work with ,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Restaurant Team Member (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 19, 2012
Pretty good job for a teenager who is well organized. Weekly pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good management. 4 stars
cashier (Former Employee), Corpus Christi, TXJune 26, 2012
Pros: bonus baseball cards sell win trip to movies with a friend.
Cons: no breaks, no vacation pay.
typical day is many customers lunch rush. Love those whataburgers. They are the best of burgers. and their rating a 5 star. the flavor never fails. their shakes are also good. and they take almost no time to prepare. Chocolate any one.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working hard can take you places
Shift Manger (Former Employee), Houston, TXMay 27, 2012
Pros: excelling what i did
I started as regular team member I willing to stay over and work over time I wanted to be the best I could be and it paid off to become a shift manger
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok for a high school job
Cashier (Former Employee), schertz, TXMay 23, 2012
Pros: example: free lunches, etc.
Cons: example: short breaks, healthcare, etc.
Working fast food is definitely great for a high school student. You get to meet new people and see and actually learn what "the value of a dollar" really means
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture/Views are outstanding.
Team Leader (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXMay 20, 2012
Pros: half-off meals
Fast-paced environment, job advancement offered during my second year of work. Mostly upbeat work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay and benefits, but poor job security and management.
Manager (Former Employee), DFWJanuary 22, 2012
Don't leave another job to work for Whataburger. Job security is nonexistent; management is legalistic and uncaring; employees are viewed as disposable (easily replaced, so why bother trying to save).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Workplace
Associate (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TexasAugust 31, 2011
Pros: friendly associates, fast paced
Cons: low pay, low benefits
The job is very fast paced and steady. It's a great place to be at for your first job. I wouldn't recommend it if you want to start a career. The benefits are very lax, and the opportunity for advancement is kind of low. But if you just want a fun fast paced job then this is right for you.

About Whataburger Inc.

Yes, Whataburger restaurants make fresh burgers and great food, but there is much more to our company. We expect a lot from our – Read more