Find companies:
Whelan Security
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
256 reviews

Whelan Security Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice job placement
Lead Security Officer (Current Employee), St. Louis, MODecember 16, 2014
Pros: good clients
Cons: n/a
Monitor cameras, and interact with clients. The staff is very friendly.
Management is good.
The co-workers are easy to get along with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
there is no Respect for their employees
Assistant Security Supervisor (Former Employee), Houston, TXDecember 16, 2014
This Company has Site managesr that do not care about their employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family-Owned Security Company that knows how to welcome new-comers
Employee Services Specialist aka HR Generalist (Former Employee), Crescent Springs, KYDecember 5, 2014
Pros: good co-workers
Cons: can't think of any
As the Employee Services Specialist (aka HR Generalist) I was responsible for the full-cycle recruiting of security officers. This is a high-turnover industry, so I was always busy reviewing resumes, conducting phone-screens and personal interviews, coordinating second interviews with supervisors, and managing the pre-employment screening for all applicants.
I – more... ultimately left due to differences with my Branch manager (whom I hear is no longer with Whelan), but I met many other leaders in the company that I was very impressed with.
I was very impressed with the on-boarding process for new hires. It was mostly electronic and included an excellent orientation program called "Welcome to Whelan." It gave a brief history of the company and encapsulated benefits and expectations very clearly. I feel it made new hires feel very welcome and excited to start work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed working for this company.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 4, 2014
I really enjoyed working for this company. The staff was great, very polite and professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but can be hard work & fast paced
Event Dispatcher (Current Employee), Kansas City, MODecember 3, 2014
Fun people. Can be cold near the end of the season. Also can be hard work & get fast paced.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The only good thing about this job is that i could work as much overtime i wanted if the Caption was in a good mood.
Security Guard (Former Employee), Kansas City, KSDecember 3, 2014
Pros: overtime
Cons: your just a number and you life dose not matter
I would work 6/7 days a week 12hrs or more a day but if I need a day off or wanted to take time off I couldn't. The Caption of the site was not friendly at all and she would treat me like I was no one. The only job a had to fill a complaint to HR, which end badly after informing HR of my problems the Caption went off on me that was my last day working – more... the only job I have not put in two week notice. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Lacks Skill
A) Security Officer (Current Employee), St.louis, MO.December 1, 2014
Pros: it's a job. easy money but very boring.
Cons: low pay, terrible hours, bad benefits, management sucks
Alot of sitting. Management doesn't care about their employees. Alot of time by yourself. Hardest part of the job is trying to find something to do. Best part of the job is going home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Security Guard/Site Captain (Former Employee), Kansas City, KSDecember 1, 2014
Pros: tough job, good co-workers, great management
Cons: moderate pay and hazardous environments
On a typical day if you do not have a set post position, The managers will call you and let you know where you are going. Once you are there they call to see if you made it there alright and if there is anything that you need for the shift. Then they leave you to stands your shift watch, no bugging you and very few supprise visits.

Management and co-workers – more... are great. If you need anything there is always someone there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Supervisor Security Officer (Current Employee), Roseville, MNNovember 22, 2014
Each event is interesting to work. I was able to advance and get promoted every year, just by working hard, good communication skills, and being reliable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a ok job not really satisfied here.
Security Officer (Current Employee), Oakland, CANovember 22, 2014
The job is stable easy going however it isn't me. good conpany overall. The employees and coworkers aren't friendly at all.
The scheduling is very bad. The supervisor and management is ok.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good, family oriented, and makes you feel like you belong.
Security Officer (Current Employee), St. Louis, MONovember 16, 2014
Pros: postive atomsphere
Cons: at points you are just a number.
Makes you feel welcomed and respected. You are gain the respect of the those that you work for. Would recommend Whelan Security for those that want to fit it and get a sense of belonging.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to to work
Camara room (Current Employee), Baton Rouge , louisianaNovember 16, 2014
Pros: above min wage, great management team
Cons: i always want more money
I do not know what all of the other posters expected out of a security job but obviously they are spoiled. We recieve above min.wage, if you give respect to your supervisors you will recieve it back. You knew what the job entailed before you excepted it , if you don't like it quit! Our management team is great, yes it could be tweeked a little but all – more... humans have faults. I would absolutely recommend working for this company. I have been here for 3 months and there has been at least 2-3 opportunities to advance. I work at a hospital and yes we do have a director whom insists that things are done the right way. That is how it is in life! The management team here is willing to help. I have seen the bosses from New Orleans several times they are not scared of comming out to sites and working. I have been trained well and even asked by the captains if I was comfortable with the training I received or did I want more. So stop your crying because you probably got fired for breaking rules and grow up. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is not Whelan Security
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), Belton, MoNovember 5, 2014
This is for the Belton School District, I love working with the children
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MY Experience
Security Guard Supervisor (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNOctober 22, 2014
Pros: security experience for the next job
Cons: unprofessional head office
I was a Employee for Whelan security for 2 years, it is no a place for career advancement, the overall structure of the company was not a good fit for me, i was placed in random sites with little no training on those sites. after a year i finally found a place i call home, down at the northstar center in downtown minneapolis. I enjoyed that particular – more... spot until i was laid off due to a disagreement with the account manager, I felt as if they are out to make a quick buck. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job.... That's about it
Security Officer/Shift Leader (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOOctober 10, 2014
Pros: no micomanagement, free uniforms, simple job functions
Cons: horrible upper management, terrible pay, the rules change from day to day
The post I was assigned to was mostly enjoyable. My coworkers were very friendly and my immediate supervisor was nice, but upper level management was horrible. I watched them fire people for no real reason and not even tell them until they arrived for work the next day. They did a horrible job getting shifts covered so we handled getting shifts covered – more... amongst ourselves. There is no real opportunity for advancement unless you know someone in upper management or a company owner. They did nothing to protect the officers in many cases against client abuse and we didn't even make $10 and the "fringe benefits" are not even worth paying for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place and people to work for
Security Guard (Former Employee), 1st Ave Way ste 210 Federal Way, WAOctober 1, 2014
Pros: the people and staff and sites
Cons: contract ended too soon
I started learning how to become a security guard at this company with good and informative instructions on how to be a good security officer with training and philosophy about the position. Management was a great help and assistance in carrying out my duties with regular hours and sites.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job to learn from
Security Officer (Current Employee), Albany, GASeptember 26, 2014
Pros: opportunity to move forward
Cons: short breaks
A good company to work for many opportunities to move forward in the company. A busy day most of the time, good hard working coworkers. The most enjoyable type of job is it study pace its always something to do. Management is good always explain everything good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Allows opportunity for advancement very quickly
Security Officer (Current Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 23, 2014
I enjoy working for Whelan security but I am ready to evolve from security and do something more Career driven and salary stable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sergeant reports for duty!
Supervisor (Current Employee), Saint Charles, MOSeptember 22, 2014
As I report for duty, on a typical day, the Sergeant that I am relieving will fill me in on details that occurred throughout the night. This is why we report for duty 15 minutes before clock in time. I will summarize the other shifts Post activity reports and send a summary to the property manager. Next, I head out on patrol. I try to keep students – more... and contractors from parking in prohibited spots. I will then familiarize myself with the property and anything that has happened that needs to be noted. I will then go into the office and perform computer surveillance. Filling out incident reports is a very common thing that officers do. Having to be very descriptive, and to the point. After my shift I will brief the next supervisor and I will clock out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Questionable
Site Supervisor (Former Employee), Mexico, MOSeptember 22, 2014
On site work no issues goo people. Upper management difficult to get a hold of and address any issues with site operation.

1 2 3 4 5

About Whelan Security

With headquarters in St. Louis, Missouri, Whelan Security is a privately-held, family-owned company providing contract security – Read more

Whelan Security Photos