Find companies:
Whelan Security
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
230 reviews

Whelan Security Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Area Manager (Former Employee), Wichita, KSAugust 28, 2014
I loved working as a security guard. I handed out visitor passes, verified personnel, walked the perimeter to check the premises. The management was hard to communicate with because they were located in Saint Louis Missouri. We didn't really get to work with other people from our company unless it was shift change. The hardest part of the job was being – more... on call 24 hours a day 7 days a week. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job i loved
Security Officer (Former Employee), Decatur, ILAugust 26, 2014
Pros: working my post
Cons: keeping the system running smoothly
exciting and challenging. I've learned to help the most disgruntled customers. logging in thousands of truckers an a daily basics. Waving a the clients taking their information, clearing visitors and keeping the post running. Management is very supportive and will be there in a flash. My co-workers is the best crew to work with there isn't anything – more... hard about my job I hated to leave but my Father was sick and I had to move back to Texas – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Structured, Organized, Clear Duties, Great Work Place.
Security Officer- Seargent (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOAugust 21, 2014
A typical day at work would include regular patrols, computer monitoring and coordinating with fellow officers. I learned the routine of whatever post I was assigned to. As sergeant, I assigned duty routes to security officers as directed by the Post Captain. I enjoyed working with my co-workers. Together, we made our place of work a great environment. – more... The hardest part of my job was having to secure relief for officer getting off work, due to last minute call-offs. The most enjoyable part of my job was simply the security officers' staff and the staff that worked at the facility in which we were posted. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gives me balance and able to do fire training/safety
Fire Administrator (Current Employee), Canton, MSAugust 21, 2014
Pros: company car
Cons: no holidays off
Typical day is to make sure all the safety and fire protection is in place at Nissan. I meet with facilities to make sure we are in code, I also meet with safety about any safety issue. I mange about 20 Fire Brigade officers and 25 volunteers to be trained and for fire suppressions. The hardest part of my job I am on call 24/7 and covering about six – more... million square feet of building. The most enjoyable part of my job i have meet some many wonderful people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place of business
Security Officer (Current Employee), Houston, TXAugust 19, 2014
Access control, signing clients in and out monitoring camera
How to operate the C*Cure system and the CBA system
Management can be a lot better
Co-workers are very messy and childish
The job is pretty simple
Going home
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company towards certain employees
Security Guard (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOAugust 14, 2014
Was a very good place to work for and nice benefits. The downside was that they ddn't like the employee to ask questions regaurding certain criterias.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Whelan Security
Unarmed Security Officer (Current Employee), Houston, TXAugust 7, 2014
This was my first security job.. i no longer want to work in security it does not comply with my home life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good security company.
Security officer (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOAugust 4, 2014
Pros: the pros of this company was that they keep you busy.
Cons: the cons of this company is there is too many people trying to stab a person in the back.
A typical day for me was patrolling my assigned assignment. I learned how to be very alert on my assignments. The management at this company was marginal at best.My co workers were very friendly. The hardest part of the job was learning different assignments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the most enjoyable part of the job
Security Director (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 31, 2014
I love working with the public whether its business related or customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and educational work eviroment.
Security Officer (Former Employee), Louisville, KYJuly 26, 2014
Able to assist and help team members on a daily basis to keep the job place a safe and productive environment. Also to help keep any theft and vandalism from accuring on the campus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical security company
Security officer (Former Employee), Austin, TxJuly 26, 2014
Pros: you get a paycheck
Cons: very poor management, unsafe work environment
All these rave reviews must be from ex military types to like putting up with not being relieved of your post on time and the terrible management. Anyways, it's your typical security company. They don't offer sick leave, nor raises. They offer vacation pay after a year of service but good luck getting approved for time off. Yes, they do take 200.00 – more... from you for a uniform deposit which is understandable but the way they word their uniform policy is deplorable. I can't believe a security company can be such thieves. I never ever saw my supervisor. Never even met him. They didn't even have my back (I'm female) when I was having issues with a crazed visitor and feared for my safety. Management didn't hold my coworkers accountable for their actions so pretty much NO ONE did their jobs, causing me grief from the client and visitor because I actually did as I was trained. As like other security companies, they have people in charge of the office who have NO security officer experience what so ever. Don't even get me started on the stupid assessment tests and the 8 hours of UNPAID do at home on the internet training be for they can even offer you a post. I was seriously disappointed in this company after jumping through all those hoops to get the job thinking I was going to be working with quality officer and then find they all were just as lazy as all the other guards I've worked with at other Austin based companies. If you are wanting to feel you are doing a worth while job then pick a different career. Security in the Austin area are for people who are lazy and need to be hired right away. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Security Officer (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJuly 22, 2014
Pros: sit down
Cons: gain weight
A good company to work for if you do not mind sitting around and doing nothing constructive with your time. A person who enjoys being challenged need not apply. Some of the staff take the job to serious like they can make an actual arrest. This job helped me finish my degree with all the down time that I had.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lying Scumbags
security guard (Former Employee), saint joseph missouriJuly 22, 2014
Cons: low wages, inexperienced managers, no training, no support.
They lie to you to get you to fill an immediate position not caring if you stay or not because they will line up another warm body behind you. They do not tell employees that they will be charged $200.00 for their uniforms until AFTER they have hired them then when you leave they want them dry cleaned at your expense and tell you it could be up to a – more... year before you get your "deposit" back. No training whatsoever except in their "corporate culture" which is laughable. No accountability for actions by field staff. They knew up front I had experienced a heat stroke and could not be outside in extreme temperatures and yet despite the fact that we had a company vehicle for patrols they made me walk them anyway. Their literature states that they will provide reasonable accommodation if its needed for the person to do the job and then they refuse to do it. Their literature states they "value" their employees but yet they give them no pay raises, charge them for uniforms, offer no sick leave, but demand that you provide a doctor's excuse for any time off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and not fair
Weekend Supervisor (Current Employee), Canton, MSJuly 21, 2014
This job would be amazing if you didnt get picked and played over because of your race and gender, you have people having favortisim and if you are not favored you get played over.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entry level contract security
Contract Security Officer (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJuly 20, 2014
Pros: independence, great coworkers and clients, not demanding
Cons: not active, unarmed, very low pay with high turnover
I enjoyed the work atmosphere on duty, clients were always nice. I learned a lot on minimizing risks, loss, and opportunity. I made friends with my coworkers and enjoyed the job. The hardest part of the position was that I was unarmed and faced several moments when I had wished I had been.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
SECURITY OFFICER (Current Employee), Laredo, TXJuly 19, 2014
Pros: set schedule
Cons: no extrra officers if you were to get sick you would need to find your own relieved
Fun Place to work however the pay is not so great. I think that some officers should be making more then others I do not think that everyone should be at the same level.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to work
Security Officer (Former Employee), Southfield, MIJune 29, 2014
Overall not a good place to be employed by. Compensation was not good and neither are the hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of standing
security (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNJune 24, 2014
Pros: you see everybody, also your're at the football game
Cons: you only work when they play
You stand in one spot and have to speak and check everyone coming in. Very fun place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical security company
Public Safety Officer (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOJune 24, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Typical security company, nothing special about this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting and chalenging
Security Officer (Former Employee), Roseville, MNJune 23, 2014
Pros: cold possition " putting up w the winter weather
Cons: free food
working as a special event security/ticket taker , was good on one way had plenty of co workers that made the job easier.

and they always needed people at the vikings football games.

1 2 3 4 5

About Whelan Security

With headquarters in St. Louis, Missouri, Whelan Security is a privately-held, family-owned company providing contract security – Read more

Whelan Security Photos