Whelan Security Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MO 63144October 13, 2017
good place to work as long as you dont mind being in a car for like 9hrs then again that depends where you are assigned to the job was easy as long as you turned in your reports your good to go mainly work alone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hate this Place
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Brentwood, MOOctober 12, 2017
I hate this job and never wanna go back. i would give zero stars if i could. Everyone stay far away from this place. Never take a job there its worst then working at walmart
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my company and post
Security (Current Employee) –  Washington City, DCOctober 11, 2017
The company shows that they appreciate you with rewards. The pert good with all your needs and concerns. I've had no issues except I think I should be in a different uniform then building officers no biggie thou.
Pros
Dont see then much most means no complaints
Cons
A hour break straight would be nice
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, CO 80921October 10, 2017
ok to work at but pay was inconsistent one day I would be paid 11.00 and the next 11.50 and overtime was inconsistent as well also management was lacing and inconsistent on where they stand on everything and there was a lot of favoritism happening
Pros
none
Cons
no breaks, and well everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager was not very good
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXOctober 9, 2017
The manager was not very good to work for. She had her favorites and did not treat everyone as equals. She had no right to butt into people's personal business
Pros
Lots of hours
Cons
Bad work enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work that has flexible hours
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOOctober 7, 2017
my day is typically very laid back because I do what is called soft security so my job focus more on customer service. the management team is very nice and understanding and they usually work around your existing schedule when it comes to your work hours. I enjoy working around others.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOOctober 5, 2017
Very rude management. They are ok with bullying and harassment. Very uncomfortable. Family owned. So they sweep a lot under the rug. I would not recommend anyone there
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Note
Security Officer/Concierge (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LAOctober 4, 2017
The company was okay. We left on a bad note. They lost the contract at the sight at which i was working down in the CBD area. I managed to work my best with this company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Security Officer (Full-time) (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOOctober 4, 2017
easy going employees good working conditions work schedules changed periodicallygot days off when needed ability to take personnal time if needed good management team
Pros
good people
Cons
not enough money
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Centennial, CO 80112October 3, 2017
Monitoring the area you are assigned to while enforcing the rules and regulations.

Good amount of time per shift to stay organized and on top of you're focus.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair Job
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXOctober 2, 2017
I recommend to work there, it is a nice place to work for, the management are excellent and understandable. you need to try it for a temporary job for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Atypical Security Job.
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Houston, TX 77040October 2, 2017
Working for Whelan Security was a good company to work for. The atmosphere was nice but the hours were long. Management wasn't a problem to the employees. Everybody got along.
Pros
Nice people to work for.
Cons
Long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a nice work environment
Front Desk Representative (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 29, 2017
Whelan Security gives you different options of security sites to choose from so that you may work at a site close to home. The pay at the security sites differ. you will have to interview for Whelan Security and for your security job site
Pros
flexible times
Cons
cant think of any
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Officer (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNSeptember 28, 2017
I have enjoyed my time with the company. I have learned a lot of things and feel much more confident about my job than I did working for my last company. They are new to Memphis but I can see they are trying to change the way security officers are treated here. They are so much better to work for. Management seems to actually care. There are some things that need to be fixed but I think they will fix them. I would definitely recommend Whelan.
Pros
Pay increase, management, overtime
Cons
Sometimes overtime can be
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, good work environment
2ND SHIFT SUPERVISOR (Current Employee) –  Erlanger, KYSeptember 28, 2017
I enjoy working at Whelan, and I feel the pay is adequate. I like the people I work with, and the job is not too hard for what you are compensated. My only issue is there is plenty of job placement opportunities, but few that lead to promotion. The people in those positions don't want to give them up.
Pros
Decent pay for relatively easy work.
Cons
Not enough positions that are in fact promotions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Unarmed Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXSeptember 26, 2017
My coworkers are great. But the pay is abysmal. Great job for students. The job is very slow paced. It is relaxing and there isn't any micromanagement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always being alert
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOSeptember 26, 2017
A typical day was posting in a guardhouse checking employees badges entering the airfield at St. Louis Lambert Airport. I always made sure I was dressed properly in a Whelan Security uniform and personal traits were displayed properly.
Pros
good guard station to work at
Cons
if your relief was late, you had to stay at post
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Way your options and value yourself
Secretary/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Southaven, MSSeptember 26, 2017
It depends on where you work with this company.Working contract is not good with the company. They re all about the rich getting richer. Changes of advancement are slim if you work down south. They do not really value hard work. This is one company you learn to work smart not hard because in the end your hard work is only used to benefit them and not you.
Pros
overtime, discounts, benefits depends on contract
Cons
pay, some benefit package, management, high turn over in management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was not the best fit for me.
Division Manager (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOSeptember 26, 2017
Company at the time did not have a very good training program for new people. Security Guards were not paid very well at the time so most often then not you got what you paid for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security Experience
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Blue Springs, MSSeptember 25, 2017
The experience of working security is one that I believe will help benefit not only in all areas of any career, but also in all areas of how one lives in everyday life. I learned how a manufacturing plant is expected to be operated. The management of over the security employees is shockingly unprofessional. The hardest part of the job was the single week of training to cover the immense expectations. The most enjoyable part was the learning everyday experience.
Pros
Learning experience and hours
Cons
Pay, poor leadership, no raises, no career advancements
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Whelan Security. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 652 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.8
Culture
3.0