Find companies:
Whelan Security
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
219 reviews

Whelan Security Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and educational work eviroment.
Security Officer (Former Employee), Louisville, KYJuly 26, 2014
Able to assist and help team members on a daily basis to keep the job place a safe and productive environment. Also to help keep any theft and vandalism from accuring on the campus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Security Officer (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJuly 22, 2014
Pros: sit down
Cons: gain weight
A good company to work for if you do not mind sitting around and doing nothing constructive with your time. A person who enjoys being challenged need not apply. Some of the staff take the job to serious like they can make an actual arrest. This job helped me finish my degree with all the down time that I had.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lying Scumbags
security guard (Former Employee), saint joseph missouriJuly 22, 2014
Cons: low wages, inexperienced managers, no training, no support.
They lie to you to get you to fill an immediate position not caring if you stay or not because they will line up another warm body behind you. They do not tell employees that they will be charged $200.00 for their uniforms until AFTER they have hired them then when you leave they want them dry cleaned at your expense and tell you it could be up to a – more... year before you get your "deposit" back. No training whatsoever except in their "corporate culture" which is laughable. No accountability for actions by field staff. They knew up front I had experienced a heat stroke and could not be outside in extreme temperatures and yet despite the fact that we had a company vehicle for patrols they made me walk them anyway. Their literature states that they will provide reasonable accommodation if its needed for the person to do the job and then they refuse to do it. Their literature states they "value" their employees but yet they give them no pay raises, charge them for uniforms, offer no sick leave, but demand that you provide a doctor's excuse for any time off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entry level contract security
Contract Security Officer (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJuly 20, 2014
Pros: independence, great coworkers and clients, not demanding
Cons: not active, unarmed, very low pay with high turnover
I enjoyed the work atmosphere on duty, clients were always nice. I learned a lot on minimizing risks, loss, and opportunity. I made friends with my coworkers and enjoyed the job. The hardest part of the position was that I was unarmed and faced several moments when I had wished I had been.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
SECURITY OFFICER (Current Employee), Laredo, TXJuly 19, 2014
Pros: set schedule
Cons: no extrra officers if you were to get sick you would need to find your own relieved
Fun Place to work however the pay is not so great. I think that some officers should be making more then others I do not think that everyone should be at the same level.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to work
Security Officer (Former Employee), Southfield, MIJune 29, 2014
Overall not a good place to be employed by. Compensation was not good and neither are the hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of standing
security (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNJune 24, 2014
Pros: you see everybody, also your're at the football game
Cons: you only work when they play
You stand in one spot and have to speak and check everyone coming in. Very fun place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical security company
Public Safety Officer (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOJune 24, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Typical security company, nothing special about this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting and chalenging
Security Officer (Former Employee), Roseville, MNJune 23, 2014
Pros: cold possition " putting up w the winter weather
Cons: free food
working as a special event security/ticket taker , was good on one way had plenty of co workers that made the job easier.

and they always needed people at the vikings football games.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job is low pay and long hours
Security & Events Services Officer Supervisor (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHJune 16, 2014
Pros: client interactions
Cons: low pay
This company is a well respected security event services company. However, the company operates on a shoestring budget; maximizing profit and yet maintaining low pay to employees. The most enjoyable part of working for the company is client interactions
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always taking care of their workers.
Lobby officer (Current Employee), Denver, COJune 12, 2014
This is a great company to work for i learn so much and interact with people. Management is always taking care of their employees and there was always an opportunity to move up.
A typical day would be always busy giving direction to those who needed it, very fast phased always doing something from answering phones to filling up DAR (Daily Activity Reports) – more... or a patrol check list. Access card to keep control of who comes in and out of the building had to be made and delivered. I was also in control of having up to month fire extinguishers to make sure they are property working and had to keep an inspection sheet of the property from inside and outside. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very professional company.
Certified Security Officer (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHJune 11, 2014
I would not recommend. Management was very nit picky. I did not enjoy my time their.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prestigeous company with dedication to customer service
Command center operator (Current Employee), Southwest AirlinesJune 11, 2014
Pros: referal bonus
Cons: short breaks
A typical work day involved being engaged in phone calls ,employee scheduling and rescheduling, and ensuring clients and customers are 100% satisfied.
I learned that a good attitude towards work a highly contagious.
Management tackle issues urgently and try their best to make sure all employees are having a fair share of the work cake.
Very friendly – more... co-worker with positive attitude towards work.
The hardest part of the job is having to deal with emergencies, but the easy laid down procedures make it less stressful.
The most enjoyable is the communication channel. Easily structured to help employees know who to talk to and how to get grievances answered as soon as possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Event Staff (Former Employee), minneapolisJune 9, 2014
Showed me a lot. fun entertaining.
Learn a lot of customer service work and how to deal well with others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security
Security Officer (Current Employee), Roseville, MNJune 8, 2014
Provide the best customer service possible to all guests, ensure all guests sign in and out at the main front desk, guide guests to appropriate destination, complete daily activity reports, monitor parking lot camera, front entry doors and alarms, respond appropriately to any building emergencies or concerns.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security
Security Officer (Current Employee), Roseville, MNJune 8, 2014
Provide the best customer service possible to all guests, ensure all guests sign in and out at the main front desk, guide guests to appropriate destination, complete daily activity reports, monitor parking lot camera, front entry doors and alarms, respond appropriately to any building emergencies or concerns.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable Work
Private Security Officer (Current Employee), Dallas, TXJune 5, 2014
Pros: stable work, no close supervising
Cons: no high pay
If your looking for work stability and knowing that there will be work for you then this is for you. If your looking for higher pay and advancement, then this wouldn't be for you. I did find this job through Indeed though, and I am now taking a week's paid vacation since getting out of the military. I have now been with Whelan a year and a month. When – more... I needed a job, Whelan was there and did work with me. Though sometimes, it felt like at times that I had to throw a tantrum to get some things done with the administrative part anyway. Overall though I have been satisfied with Whelan. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sucks overall
Security Officer (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJune 4, 2014
Cons: everything
Everything about this company is bad. You are just a number to them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Again
Building/Patrol Officer (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMay 25, 2014
I was originally told that I would have a supervisor position then they pulled a bait and switch and told me the day of orientation that the person that had that position previously is coming back and they are giving him his job back (which was not true) then after being there a year they told me that they do not give raises (something they failed to – more... mention when I was interviewing). A horrible company to work for which is why they have a high turnover rate....extremely bad management as well – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
suit and tie security
Security Officer (Former Employee), Tulsa Ok.May 23, 2014
Cons: no real lunches, ate when you could
Not the best post I've ever worked. Most of time sat at the front desk, helping visitors. I did periodically made rounds. Also was trained and accessed badges for employees. I worked the second shift, so I would lockup and arm the Bldg. I was on call every other week and answered the alarms when they went off during the night.

1 2 3 4 5

About Whelan Security

With headquarters in St. Louis, Missouri, Whelan Security is a privately-held, family-owned company providing contract security – Read more

Whelan Security Photos