Whelan Security Employee Reviews

Found 497 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Usually small office with CCTV system.
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMarch 22, 2017
This company is a great stepping stone to finding better opportunities in security.

The teams are very team oriented, and very professional.

I enjoyed working with this company, and would recommend anyone else to apply.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
low pay, short breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNMarch 22, 2017
The most enjoyable part about the job is meeting new people from all over the world. The hardest is dealing with the weather. Its cold half the year and hot the other half. A typical day at work is basically giving instructions on what to do after drivers reach our facility.
Pros
No immediate supervisor on shift
Cons
weather
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meet new people
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNMarch 20, 2017
arrive on site in the morning for two hours, check the sites floors and monitor the front of the building until the receptionist arrives. go back to the site in the evening for six hours and get the work vehicle from other building and drive back to site. after a while check the floors then bring the product to the other building. at the end of shift return the vehicle back to other building and then clock off.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible pay
Security Officer/Firefighter (Former Employee) –  Smyrna, TNMarch 19, 2017
This company does not pay well. You get your hours but may get held over without warning. There is not much room for advancement. I was hired as a firefighter and really only worked as a security guard.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Fun
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCMarch 18, 2017
Productivity and fun environment to work. Very great co- workers at all time. Hope to work with this company as long as possible. I would recommend anyone to thus company.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Company
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Martinsville, VAMarch 10, 2017
This company has no respect for students that work for them... They are not very employee friendly... If you are in school and working for this company, do not tell them your plans after you graduate, they will hold it against you..
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No growth
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Roseville, MNMarch 8, 2017
Worked the overnights with no equipment supplied and was suppose to by my own. Management was not around to help when you needed any training. Manager who was there was rude and not helpful.
Pros
None
Cons
Pay no benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
Security Guard-Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIMarch 7, 2017
Management and my other coworkers are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. I enjoy working at my post, which is a receptionist area. It is nice to interact with a variety of people each day.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great pay and benefits
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Fort Dodge, IAMarch 4, 2017
My personal boss was amazing! The company paid well where I was located. The only problem I had was people not showing up for work and you have to stay until someone else comes to relieve you from your post.
Pros
pays well, works with your personal schedual, easy job
Cons
uncomfortable uniforms that do NOT fit well, when someone calls in you have to cover
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
may be a good place at other locations, but not in the Midwest
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Merriam, KSMarch 1, 2017
in my interview i told my account manager i can not do overnights, 4 months later im on overnights and i haven't slept in 3 days. people are constantly being fired or quitting. it is miss managed and they view the guards as expendable
Pros
decent pay
Cons
no paid sick leave
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You have the opportunity to catch a sporting event or concert while working
Event Staff (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOFebruary 28, 2017
Unorganized and no training provided. They tell you you will be working for the sports team and not them, bait and switch. Actually voiced that I was there for a sales position with the Chiefs and the Royals not a security job. They make it impossible for you to be hired by the sports teams as there is a non compete clause. Once you start with them, you have to be unemployed from them for a year before submitting a resume to any arena they work.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place and culture to work in staff and manegement are great
Firefighter/EMT (Current Employee) –  Stanfield, AZFebruary 28, 2017
Everyday I go to my job I am thankful to have a place like this to call my workplace. Everyone is very nice and helpful, the job itself is very laid back but also very professional its a good balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work enviroment, sometimes lots of overtime
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Mankato, MNFebruary 25, 2017
The people you work with are capable and cooperative, management is run rather nicely given the circumstances. The job is a bit strenuous as it involves long hours on your feet, with little breaks.
Pros
Ocassionally free food
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fairly decent place to work
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Denver, COFebruary 24, 2017
I have no personal complaints with the company, however I will say that it is occasional miscommunication that occurs and some employees morale isn't the greatest. But usually if you request something it's done in a timely fashion.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strict workplace
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IAFebruary 23, 2017
A lot of protocols. management is willing to work with you
Pros
management is very helpful
Cons
typically no breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wouldn't recommend
Security Specialist (Current Employee) –  Delano, CAFebruary 22, 2017
They say they will do this and that for their workers and they don't they always mess up on pay and upper management has no idea about what goes on at the work site they lied to us! I will not refer anyone here
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
EMT-Basic (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 21, 2017
Whelan is a good company to start with or begin a career. They have room for growth, and a lot of things to teach you. Although a client can be difficult, Whelan always protects their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee driven work environment
Security Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Farmington Hills, MIFebruary 20, 2017
Whelan Security is an employee driven work environment where Management's #1 goal is to support and develop great talent. This well balanced approach provides the highest quality product for the client.
Pros
great management.
Cons
pay is on the low end
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not to hard but annoying
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  MissouriFebruary 20, 2017
Nice place to work hard to get management to do stuff when you are short on people. My boss is awesome he tries to take care of is employees the best he can.
Pros
Fun job every is nice
Cons
No pay raise and hard to move up
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just like any other security company
Lead Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 17, 2017
Whelan does not separate themselves from any other contract security companies. Low pay and very poor benefits. Very little advancement and growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Whelan Security. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 498 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
2.8
Culture
3.0