Whelan Security Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company does not care about you
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 28, 2018
Simply put, it's all about the bottom line for them. I advanced quickly as long as I was working myself to death and only dedicating my time to them. I went back to school to pursue a better career and now they try to force hours on me over my school schedule.
Pros
Decent Pay for Supervisors
Cons
Too much overtime, perpetually understaffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
yup
Fire Safety Officer (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJanuary 27, 2018
if you are looking for below average leadership, below average pay, no time off and beyond repairable middle and upper Management then this is the place to go. And dont count on getting your uniform deposit back
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Place To Work
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Sumter, SCJanuary 27, 2018
I work For This company For a year and A half They have No Respect For Employees Lack Of Leadership And Will Terminate You Over Confusion With Contractor
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAJanuary 25, 2018
Depends on site can be laid back or stressful. Management always willing to work with you. Will always assure that you have 40 hours a week at minimum.
Pros
Paid lunches
Cons
Stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Whelan is horrible
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJanuary 25, 2018
I would not recommend working for Whelan. They advertise good work environments, benefits, and advancement. That is all a joke. You do not earn PTO or get vacation days. We are treated like garbage and only used as a "spot filler." If you call to file a complaint, they don't get looked into, or it comes back to hurt you. They only look out for their brown nosers and not their employees who show up everyday and work.
Pros
No Pros
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mouthy supervisor very very stressful to be around
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNJanuary 24, 2018
The supervisor had no business being in a supervisor position all they did was complain and cuss and whine which made me very stressed and on edge every time I knew they'd be showing up. They forced us to make coffee before they showed up or by golly you'd have to hear the cussing if you didn't. Their kids would hang out in the guard shack which was even more uncomfortable while they were complaining about personal employee problems. Best job I ever had but had to leave due to poor management and the supervisor had no patience with anybody or anything they're famous words "IDGAF"!
Pros
Easy job kicked back
Cons
Bad area to be in, terrible supervisor, stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked the jpob but got placed at another site
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 22, 2018
a typical day, I learned a lot from the job and wouldn't mine going back.The management was very helpful and their was a lot af room for growth. The hardest thing I had to do at the job was go to another site.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stepping Stone
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Saint Joseph, MOJanuary 21, 2018
Not a permanent job.. just a stepping stone to the next best thing.. Decent people.. No paid time off... Will be called in all the time due to others not showing up
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great for part time
Corporal (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJanuary 20, 2018
A great job if you are a college student or a senior. If you are in it to make some extra cash, I highly advised for all of you to put in a application for this company.
Pros
management are great
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad working enviroment with worse managment
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TX 78217January 20, 2018
The workplace had no room for advancement, and the managers did not know how to manage or train guards, the worst part was the training my manager liked to discipline guards in front of employees and other guards.
Pros
if your retired this is the job for you
Cons
the entirety of the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast past but great people that work here
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Wauwatosa, WI 53226January 18, 2018
me coming in signing login board say hi to associates i didn't really know what to say i gets boring at times you have to monitor cameras, your a first responder, in charge of the safety of the people and the plant
Pros
knowledge
Cons
not knowing where or what the next problem is gonna come from
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great short term company to work with
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNJanuary 17, 2018
Supervisors are nice and very knowledgeable and do whatever it takes to help you succeed as an employee. hardest part of the job is standing in place for 10+ hours but is a great environment to work in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Whelan Security
Western Regional Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJanuary 16, 2018
Great company to work for with many opportunities for advancement.

Pay is above average for the industry.

The hiring process is more involved than most other companies. But, it ensures our quality of candidates is very high.
Pros
Co-workers and Team focused
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didn't Like it
Security (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJanuary 15, 2018
Not a job iIwould recommend. It is good for here and there to get some extra cash. I would not work here full time. Quick paced and management really does not care about the workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy to learn workplace.
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 13, 2018
Since being here I experienced teamwork, Good attendance with Everyone, Good recognition of the Employer as an Employee, Good Customer service to the client and the Client's treat Us good as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
solid
Field Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJanuary 12, 2018
Whelen was a good employer it was difficult to work there due to scheduling conflict I have a letter of recommendation on file from my security manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting work environment
Site Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 11, 2018
The experience I had at Whelan gave me invaluable security knowledge. I learned a lot about client relations. The position allowed me to do what I like most, interact with the public.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfair workplace
Human Resource Specialist (Former Employee) –  Southfield, MIJanuary 9, 2018
When i was first hired into the company I thought this was the job of my dreams, until the Branch Manager left me on my own and I had to work alone for a while, Until VPs' started to come down and help out. It was great for a while until they hired this guy as the new VP and that when everything when down hill. He was unfair, uncaring, and did not want to give people chances to develop there skills or move up in the company. He wanted everyone at a stand still or he want to change your position to something else, without your say so.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational, fast pace,professional.
OIC/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJanuary 9, 2018
Meet/escort contractors and Company personnel...coordinate training, maintain operational procedures...proactive role in communicating with the client.
Pros
Exciting, professional
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company bad account manager
Security Specialist (Former Employee) –  Delano, CAJanuary 8, 2018
we started great and slowly dying account manager has favoritism
pay is not enough just keep on adding stuff to do
a lot of call offs so if your relief does not show up your screwed
watch your pay check they mess wit it all the time
Pros
good company
Cons
account manager needs to be replaced
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Whelan Security. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 739 reviews
5152
4170
3190
299
1128

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
2.7Compensation/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.0Culture