Find companies:
Whelan Security
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
218 reviews

Whelan Security Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This Company Stinks
Security Officer (Former Employee), St Louis, Hanley officeDecember 28, 2013
Long time employees get poor posts or are cut to part time to force them out. Have seen one security officer leave his post for hours and be rehired to that post, but stable officers harassed. Management is a joke and cares nothing for their employees. DO NOT WORK FOR THIS COMPANY
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multiple sites
Security Officer (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXDecember 23, 2013
Pros: constant change
Cons: management constant changing
Depending on the site depended on what was required of me. Some sites required all employees/visitors to sign in and out with security. I would monitor all the camera's and monitor anyone coming or going from the main gate. Every hour patrol both inside and outside of property. Answer the phone, write daily reports, fax, file, and inform shipping or – more... receiving when a truck came on grounds. Other sites I would have to patrol grounds every 30 minutes checking in with manager/s and keeping an eye on parking lot for any trouble. Most of the time I would work alone and a few of the sites I would be relieving or be relieved by other Security Officers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job to have
Security Officer (Former Employee), St. Louis, MODecember 18, 2013
I would monitor the front desk and sign in any visitors and patrol the premises on an hourly basis. The hardest part of the job was having to constantly remind people of the rules and guidelines and the most enjoyable part of the job was the co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work for little pay.
Security Supervisor (Current Employee), Dallas, TXDecember 11, 2013
Pros: always get my 40 hours every week
Cons: not paid enough
security officer supervisor makes sure all the officers have reported to work and are assigned duties. He also organizes the work schedule, including the officers' rotations and breaks. At the beginning of the shift, the security officer supervisor inspects the team to ensure they are wearing their uniforms properly and have all of their equipment. – more... He briefs the security team at the beginning of a new shift to update them on developments since the last shift and shares information about any security concerns. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
security officer
Security Officer (Former Employee), St. Louis, MODecember 9, 2013
Pros: free parking
*typical day at work was complete a daily log, lock doors, and assist vistors
*i learned how to operate elevators, turn off water in restrooms, and how to operate fire panel
*my co workers was nice and easy to work with
*the hardest thing about my job was having to stay pass my time because of a person being late
*the most enjoyable part of my job was – more... having the tenants thank me and tell me how good of a worker i was – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Great Entry Level Job fro Criminal Justice Students looking to go to the police force
Security Officer (Former Employee), Frankfort, KYDecember 8, 2013
A typical day at work consisted of signing trucks in and out of the facility. I also signed in employees whom lost their badges as well as signing in Contractors or other visitors of the company. The job also consisted of giving out parking violations and doing 2 perimeter patrols as well as 3 patrols on the inside of the facility. I also would make – more... copies of paperwork and write out incident reports. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable environment
Unarmed Security Officer (Current Employee), Kansas City, MODecember 5, 2013
Cons: minimal breaks
I enjoy the moments spent on the job, just wish there were more breaks and a better sense of who left for break and being accounted for who was missing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Security Officer (Former Employee), Saint Louis, MODecember 2, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
I learned that being a security guard can have challenges but I like it overall...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Whelan Security
Security Officer (Current Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 30, 2013
Working for Whelan has given me a broader perspective of working security. I am fortunate to work in the corporate side of security. I work in a major health care providers building and absolutely love it. The pay is much higher than most security jobs as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USED to be a great company to work for
Security Officer (Former Employee), Oakland, CANovember 28, 2013
Pros: lots of ot
Cons: new branch management doesn't respect employees and will lie to your face as easily as they breath.
When I first started at Whelan, it was a great place to work. The branch manager at the time was great to work for, listened to his employees and there was mutual respect. Unfortunately, when the new manager came in, the atmosphere became politics and backstabbing. They recently asked me if I was interested in coming back. NO WAY.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place
Receptionist (Former Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 26, 2013
Pros: free lunches
Cons: lay offs
It was a very dynamic company.I love the fact that your company trusted you to do a phenomenal job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company is inconsiderate of its dedicated employees.
Security Officer (Former Employee), St. Louis, MONovember 24, 2013
meeting and greeting clients.Opening and closing building and securing my post.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, excellent employees, and good benefits
Security Officer (Current Employee), Secaucus, NJNovember 19, 2013
Excellent job atmosphere, Although No job security or room for growth
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reasons for the above rating
Security Guard (Former Employee), Santa Fe, NMNovember 16, 2013
Cons: 9 pm to 5 am shift hours only.
NO annual increases for any of the Guards are ever given. Management gets automatic annual increases.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Going work place
Okay to contact this Supervisor (Current Employee), Georgetown, KYNovember 10, 2013
Pros: good people easy work
Cons: low pay, no room for advancement and hardly any benefits
The work isnt hard work very easy to comprehend, Just very little to no benefits, No room on advancement. People you work with is good people. The only real downfall is no room for advancement and pay raises hardly ever if ever.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place
Private Security Guard (Current Employee), Kansas City, MONovember 2, 2013
Pros: okay job
Cons: slow, diffcult to balance work and family with employer
diffcult to balance work and family with employer learned proper ways to be effective when monitoring property
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor communication and no accountability of senior staff
Site Safety and Security Manager (Former Employee), Eau Claire, WINovember 1, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: poor communication and lack of real support
Whelan certainly talks a great game with its core values. I had high expectations for the company and expected to finish out my career with Whelan. However six months into the assignment it was clear to me that it was smoke and mirrors. There was no contact or direction from the branch office and at the six month point no one from Whelan had even visited – more... the site or conducted an inspection or site servey. It was a don't ask, don't tell atmosphere. The bottom line is all that mattered. Even when Senior Management was made aware of of site short commings, they turned a blind eye to the issues so as not to create any friction with the client. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
idiots with a badge
Supervisor (Former Employee), saint louisOctober 29, 2013
Pros: paycheck when they get your hours worked right
Cons: horrible work environment created from uncaring, greedy, poorly educated managers and support staff.
Dont work here. I was told I would make 12.50 hour at the hq. When I arrived at my post I was told that I would only make 9.50 an hour. When I called the office the recruiter denied telling me that to my face. This is indicitive of their management practices. Beware.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Whelan is a good company not many ways to advice.
Security Officer/ Customer Service (Current Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 22, 2013
The people at Whelan are good, moral men and women of honor and integrity who understand the difference between right and wrong.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nissan Data center
Security Officer; Patrol client's (Former Employee), Greenwood Village, COOctober 19, 2013
I enjoyed work at the Nissan data center in greenwood village and my supervisor was great, but the company lacked in supervison and the office staff were very bad.

About Whelan Security

With headquarters in St. Louis, Missouri, Whelan Security is a privately-held, family-owned company providing contract security – Read more

Whelan Security Photos