Whelan Security Employee Reviews

Found 530 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 16, 2016
Unreliable company to work for. No advancement or raises. Poor communication and management. No consistency in job regulations and unreliable co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes17No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company to work for
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MODecember 13, 2016
They will work with you on availability. Very flexible. The office took care of employees. They made sure the needs of employees were met to do their job efficiently.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Canton, MSDecember 10, 2016
It's okay. The pay I'd terrible. They pay you biweekly and the pay is disappointing. When people don't come to work, you have to stay the entire shift or you will lose your job. There are picks and chooses. This company is unfair.
Pros
None
Cons
No breaks, low pay, overwhelming
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIDecember 8, 2016
The company was a great place to work and it was great people there. very professional and very nice people to work with and for. I love this company.
Pros
Great hours, and good money.
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCDecember 3, 2016
the site I was place on was a working process but also a beautiful place to work at,,,all my coworker was nice to work with we became a family. u couldn't never get bored there because the employee are so nice and willing to have a conversation to get to know u a lil better
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoy working for Whelan. I have a great set of employees working for me.
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Portland, TNDecember 3, 2016
I come into work around 8am. I work on payroll, scheduling and handle the administrative duties required of me as the Account Manager.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jeremy Gee
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Southfield, MINovember 12, 2016
• Accomplished achievement-driven and result-oriented: highly motivated professional with experience in customer service, stocking, and inventory, other capabilities.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Event Security
Event Security (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis-Saint Paul, MNNovember 9, 2016
Event Security with WHelan is a good part time job. When I worked with them I worked Vikings games at the Metrodome, it is was fun while it lasted. This is a good in addition to job.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good place to work
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MONovember 8, 2016
complete rounds
patrol building
check intercoms
check doors to make sure locked
learned time management skills
enjoy the co workers
flexibly with schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great group of people
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYNovember 4, 2016
great people and management with room to grow,really good to work for and to work with ...............................................
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Whelan is a company thats been a round for sixty five years.
Armed Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MINovember 2, 2016
Whelan security is a good company but it's not for me. I have been doing security for a wile There is no chance for advancement . I am a single father who is trying to find a new career to venture into.
Pros
Nice people to work with.
Cons
No chance for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Granite City, ILNovember 2, 2016
I really enjoy working for this company. I can see myself growing with this comapny. I been with them for a few months and all ready got 2 awards with them.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy going but lonely.
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 1, 2016
The typical day this company was just me driving around from post to post helping out other guards, and filling in slots that where not yet filled until the company place a worker there. the hard thing about this job you have to know how all of the contracted post polices, the best part was the different post that I got to look after.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
check vehicles
Security Guard Officer (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOOctober 20, 2016
it was an ok place to work, although there was always overtime, and the down side of the job was when the season changed early it was mandatory that we wear the uniform that was issued to us. It was a fun place to work and meeting new people.
Pros
plenty of overtime and insurance was good.
Cons
it was always hard to get post relief, and bad supervision.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked the people I work with
Site Supervisor (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOOctober 20, 2016
I like dealing with the clients and some of the challenging aspects of the job. I don't feel there is a chance of advancement.
I've got to meet some wonderful people doing this. I loved working along side of the client. There were day's my multi-tasking skills where tested.

Down side, sometimes you don't get to see the best side of people.
Pros
The client I worked with was really nice and allowed me some growth
Cons
I didn't like the degrading attitudes I was met with by some people.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved my job and the students.
SECURITY OFFICER (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOOctober 19, 2016
Constanly on your feet always moving, being patients while working with young college students, I worked along on my site. Hardest part sometimes student come in under the influence and out of control. Enjoyable part of the job talking to parents and tell you , they feel their kids are good hands.
Pros
They work with in situations of personal nature.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could Do Better
Licensed Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Roseville, MNOctober 19, 2016
I wish I worked at a different job. Not at all happy with my employment at the current moment. I am seeking full time employment else where.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room for improvement
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAOctober 17, 2016
Did not support team, would not provide candidates for support. Openings for positions would exceed 5 months. MO company that doesn't understand CA law.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and observant
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOOctober 17, 2016
My typical day as a security officer is making sure the environment is a safe place to work. Monitoring cameras and lobby. Locking doors and making sure they are secured. My coworkers are very friendly. We make working together a team task daily. The hardest part of my day is giving someone a fair warning as of asking them to stop skate boarding on our property, and the continue. Further more I call the police department to remove the crowd away. The most enjoyable part of my job is lunch, because working around the nicest resturants.
Pros
christmas parties
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be careful
Security officer (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 12, 2016
Every day the Supervisor is on shift there is a change in post orders verbally and not written in the post order book, but you will be expected enforce policies not written down.

Snitching and backstabbing by co workers, depending on where you work you are allowed to be on your cell phone when its slow

Management has no clue whats going on at the different job sites.

Supervisor at my current job site will snitch to management on every issue. EVERY issue.
Pros
paycheck
Cons
to many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes13NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Whelan Security. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 531 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
2.8
Culture
3.0