Whirlaway Corporation Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 10 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Whirlaway
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Wellington, OHAugust 8, 2016
Not a bad place to work everyone's really nice management is awesome. the only bad part about working there was the oily floors in some places for example by the akumas the floor is so slippery that the wrong motion in your foot and you are on your butt
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stay away
operator (Current Employee) –  wellington ohioMay 11, 2014
Horrible place to work. Bad air quality bad pay/low raises unmaintained machines that run awful. The benefits are pretty good but everything else is awful. There's virtually no chance for advancement unless you're related to someone. It's steady work but you'll leave every day feeling stressed. It's a paycheck but if you can help it STAY AWAY.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
everything other than benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People Poor Managment
machine operator (Former Employee) –  wellington,OHJanuary 31, 2014
Was there for A few months. one of my machines never worked
management would complain about quotas but never order tools or fixe machines If You have any option stay away.
Pros
good people
Cons
every thing else
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No comment
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Wellington, OHOctober 11, 2013
Good benifits but low pay and work hours are too flexable. I did learn quite a bit in a michine shop setting.
Pros
benifits
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unless you need a job, stay clear of here.
Machine Operator A (Current Employee) –  Wellington, OHJune 13, 2013
This place has to be one of the worse managed places I have ever worked for. You won't go far here. They constantly are bullying people to work more and longer hours running unmaintained machines asking for unobtainable number for production. No support when you need it to do your job, and getting hammered to make numbers. If you are not liked or kiss butt you get singled out and picked on. The rules get bent for some and not others. If you work there as a temp... you might as well get used to it. There is temps there for well over a year. Some over 2 years now. When you finally get hired in you get a 10 cent raise and a 90 probation period, after 2 years.... really? Shaddy people running things here. There are a few good people working there, not enough of them. Oh and the hours...... if you like working 6 sometimes 7 days a week and working at least 10 to 12 hours a day then this is the place for you. Unless you really need a paycheck I would steer clear of here.
Pros
it is a paycheck.
Cons
i don't know where to begin...
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people with bad leadership
IT Systems Analyst (Current Employee) –  Wellington OhioApril 26, 2013
Upper management are into bullying and not listening to there employees. They set unrealistic goals and go off if not met.
Lack of professional culture. Stay away!
Pros
hard working people
Cons
upper management need to take management courses.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean facility. Big emphasis on cleanliness.
Production Machinist (Former Employee) –  Wellington, OHSeptember 20, 2012
It was a nice place to work. I ran a production cell making fuel injection rods. Hardest part of the job was getting there. I got up at 4:25 am, being that I started at 6am. The number one thing was listening to the machines, as the pitch of the sound would change as a cutting tool would need to be replaced. I would work 10 hour shifts with a paid half hour lunch.
Pros
paid half hour lunch.
Cons
cutting oil mist would get in clothing, few breaks having to make production numbers.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work. Great people.
Cell Supervisor/Setup (Current Employee) –  Wellington, OHJuly 30, 2012
10 hr days. Been employed there for over 2 years now. Over the past 2+ years I've learned a great deal about automatics such as Index 25's and Tornos BS20's. Couldn't ask to work for better people, from upper management to co-workers. Hardest part of my job is trying to keep cool in the summer. The most enjoyable part of my job is being able to work alongside the people i do.
Pros
excellent benefits (healthcare, paid holidays, 401k)
Cons
advancement oppurtunities
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good communication
Position - Euroturn Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Wellington, OHMay 9, 2012
A typical day at work is starting your machine up, reviewing your tool log, changing tools, gauging parts to make sure they are in print, stacking parts, loading bars in machine, writing an hourly log, cleaning machine and mopping oil.

I learned how to adjust/change different tools in the machine, how to read blue prints, how to produce a lot of parts that are in print by checking often and properly, organizing your work space to make sure everything is in a specific spot, how to use a micrometer and about reading measurements in microns.

Management was great, still working on things to improve but the place is definitely heading in the right direction. The leaders were fun and down to earth people and knew how to keep things running very well.

The co-works at Whirlaway are very competitive and friendly. They try every day to produce more parts and reduce the amount of scrap while reminding themselves about safety.

The hardest part of the of the job was dealing with machine problems. Some of the machines needed work done to them to correct re-existing problems and instead of fixing the problems they bandaged it up to keep things moving.

The most enjoyable part was just being there in general. It was very positive and I enjoyed all the people that worked there. It was like having a second family.
Pros
paid lunch breaks
Cons
getting very oily
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 10 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
2.6
Culture
3.1

Whirlaway Corporation Reviews by Location