Whitsons Culinary Group Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people. Good company
I.T. Customer Service Desk Manger (Former Employee) –  Islandia, NYOctober 9, 2017
Growing pains have proven costly to some. Job was great, but with small businesses, the loss of one big contract can have a major impact. Causing budget cuts.
Pros
Free lunch. Flexible hours.
Cons
Pricey healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work / summers off
Server (Former Employee) –  Islandia, NYOctober 9, 2017
great place to work in Hamden school system. summers off is a killer on the wallet / fast pace at lunch. this is a great job for someone who has school aged children you will be out before they get home from school
Pros
fun place
Cons
summer w/o pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace moving job
Kitchen Staff (Current Employee) –  Islandia, NYSeptember 26, 2017
your co workers are great its a fast pace invironment keeps you active. you get free breakfast and lunch. you do work for a union. It's a cold and hot working environment.
Pros
free lunch and breakfast
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Lead Manager Food Services (Current Employee) –  Sudbury, MAAugust 24, 2017
great place to work, friendly environment, is a place that is very responsible and is also very oriented.. its a fun place to work and the manager is great person
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Un trabajo bueno que se hace en equipo
Warehouse (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAAugust 22, 2017
Fue un buen trabajo y tenia buenos compaƱeros de trabajo
Cons
Descanso para desayuno
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
growth
Procurement Specialist/Buyer (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAAugust 15, 2017
very unorganized, high paced group with very little leadership from the corporate office. Management is replaced and new faces are coming and going very quickly/
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It nice work place
Cook/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Irvington, NJJuly 31, 2017
can you get me different personalities different attitude you also learn from one another at this job do you know what the meaning team work for what it really is,you learn how to cook different foodThe hardest part of work is delivery day that the tiring part off the day
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Short break
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, very low pay
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Islandia, NYJuly 28, 2017
The hours are long and the pay is very low. Only upside is the free lunch. I would not recommend this job to anyone who is looking to advance in the company. Only family members get promotions and raises or if you've been working there for many years.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Food Service Worker (Current Employee) –  Schenectady, NYJuly 24, 2017
Not enough money needs new equipment not getting enough hours they short you out of your hours by trying to get you to leave early in the job description they say you work from 6:30 to 2:00 when they want you to leave at 1:00 to much favoritism at the work place needs new management
Pros
Discounts on snacks
Cons
Not enough money short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stepping Stone
CDL Driver (Former Employee) –  Long Island City, NYJuly 11, 2017
Poor quality trucks and vans.
Punished for finishing route early - example you are an efficient worker and knock out a route that should take 8 hrs in 6 hrs you are paid for 5 and a half hours because the company automatically takes out a half hour for lunch

Best advice get in get your experience and leave for a better company
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The place that I worked, was unclean and moreover unsafe.
General Worker (Former Employee) –  Redwood elementary school.June 15, 2017
I did not have a very good work experience with this company, at least in the area I was in, and the higher upper management didn't seem to bothered about the employee's safety in the work place nor their moral. Broken machinery, lake of safety equipment. Being told to clean the bathroom, and mouse dropping's whilst cooking and serving food. Disgusting! They also have a union that you have to join or you can't work there. They take $8 a pay check and $50 a one time deal because you joined them. When your pay goes up say...50c so does your union dues.
I would not recommend working for this company at all.
At least not in this district.
Pros
Liked working with my co workers.
Cons
Excessive charges for the union.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Cook/Butcher (Current Employee) –  Islandia, NYJune 7, 2017
This is a Decent company to work for, you learn alot from the chefs that are in charge. They place you in numerous departments to gain skills. I would recommend to those looking for a start.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Server/ Waitress (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYApril 3, 2017
worked here for a few months was a cool place to work best part was helping people out i did a lot of food prep here for elderly people and old drug addicts hours and pay was pretty good
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you are stern and focused, go for it.
Fullfillment Associate (Former Employee) –  Islandia, NYFebruary 26, 2017
I never liked this job. Always hated it. The managers always have a bad attitude, communication is very difficult if you can't speak spanish because almost no one speaks english. You are expected to be superman, which means you will eventually be expected to do not only your own job, but others. Its all almost unbearable until that check comes in on friday. That fantastic check. Making 400+ dollars a week is a great feeling, and the only reason I would recommend this job to anyone. If you want overtime, its almost guarenteed to be there for you. There is money to be had in this stressful job.
Pros
Free lunches, and good pay per week.
Cons
Everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  East Haven, CTFebruary 9, 2017
Got hired after a new manager was hired Many employees quit, loved the job, uniform, atomsphere but after a while i quit as well the manager oh no she something else! Pay was okay they even had a union. Break was okay like 10-15 minutes. Would return just to a different location
Pros
Free lunch, extra hours
Cons
Managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was to cold wet because you r working with frozen food that has to stay cold
Auditor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Long Island, NYJanuary 19, 2017
Whitsons culinary group very cold wet and it feels like working in an icebox I would not work there again I got sick with the flu I had to go to the hospital it was horrible
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible company to work for
cafeteria lead (Former Employee) –  Grafton, MADecember 5, 2016
Worked bat location at Grafton high school. Got pregnant. Was out due to complications for my pregnancy. Had doctors notes and everything. They fired me at 5 months pregnant ....terrible benifiets and pay. Don't waste your time with this company.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
management...pay....benifiets...etc
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
FOOD PREP (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 15, 2016
Very productive workplace and a good overall place to work with. Heavy workload with little to no pay. i wouldn't recommend working in this company.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company! No concern for workers.
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee) –  Islandia, NYAugust 26, 2016
Whitsons is a terrible place to work. The pay is extremely low and the workload is high. They do not provide you with the tools or resources to do your job. Management is dishonest. Several years ago, the company had to pay over $1M to the NYS Attorney General's Office for overcharging them for school lunches. If they're willing to steal from the government, they will be willing to steal from you.
Pros
None. Even free food was gross.
Cons
Lousy pay. Dirty environment. Poor management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
fws (Former Employee) –  Islandia, NYMarch 31, 2016
I enjoyed fsw.preping food just fun for me seein all the kids smiles onn threre faces they was good group of people to wok for
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Whitsons Culinary Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 41 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.5
Management
2.8
Culture
3.2

Whitsons Culinary Group Reviews by Location