Whole Foods Market Employee Reviews

Found 3,126 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture, benifits and work enviroment.
Grocery Team Member (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAFebruary 25, 2017
breaking down loads, stocking, ordering, customer service, spoilage.
replaying to emails, placing customer special orders.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High energy
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCFebruary 24, 2017
We work for the guest and there needs change daily. Being any independent on the fly thinker helps you evolve in the company quickly. This company is evolving and setting a stander for how you should eat and treat your employees.
Pros
20% discout on everything
Cons
No set schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a better company
MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAFebruary 24, 2017
I worked at this company for many years and unfortunately the company culture changed. Labor dollars are low and technology is behind, so you're expected to do a lot more with less money.
Pros
sample foods and great customers
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere you can grow with
Associate Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Yonkers, NYFebruary 24, 2017
Overall a team oriented company that does try to help team members grow with the company. They teach you lots of skills that you will be able to use for future employers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great quality and great enviroment
Front End Cashier (Former Employee) –  South Beach, FLFebruary 23, 2017
great work area, fun working with everyday customers, food was great since we get discounts! cool place overall!

Cons: bad front end management ( South Beach ), strict on time and attendance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Job I've Ever Had
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 23, 2017
I worked at the Columbus Circle location in New York City, and I have to say that it is the worst job I've had to date. I was a front end cashier working under the most awful, argumentative, abrasive Team Lead who has no respect for team members. I've watched them berate team members ON THE SALES FLOOR. There isn't much room to move up in the company either, if the right people haven't taken a liking to you. It's a very draining, demanding job with little upside.
Pros
There are no pros.
Cons
Lack of professionalism, little room for advancement, hostile environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great products and people
Produce Manager (Former Employee) –  Franklin, TNFebruary 22, 2017
Good place to work, but I prefer an environment with higher professional conduct and appearance standards. Extremely high rates of unnecessary shrink are considered acceptable, and support of poor/disadvantaged growers in poor regions is greatly exaggerated.
Pros
Great food, management hours, and free health insurance.
Cons
Poor bonus structure, locations are too widespread to encourage motivation for employees to desire going into management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable work environment
Meat Clerk (Former Employee) –  Mishawaka, INFebruary 22, 2017
Coming to work is easy when you work with amazing people! The company's culture is like any other I've ever experienced. Working here taught me a lot about quality standards in the grocery industry as well as what it means to have strong values to stand by.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work with amazing people.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCFebruary 22, 2017
A typical work day consisted of cashiering/recommending products to customers/restocking/taking out trash and recycling and organizing carts. Working at whole foods taught me how to engage customers in a kind and helpful way. The culture of the job is what i loved most, Everyone was always so nice and helpful. The hardest part of the job was working holiday hours. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to be of service to people everyday.
Pros
free food/good breaks/very friendly work environment
Cons
holiday hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace
meat clerk (Former Employee) –  West Orange, NJFebruary 22, 2017
employees great.
work enviroment is great.
organized.
fun enviroment.
managment organized and strict. overall great expirience working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-time
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYFebruary 22, 2017
• Heavy duty cleaning
• Cut vegetables and fruits as supply
• Retail cooked foods
• Customer Service
• Checking expired date for food

Wholefoods company has culture as green,organic health foods for customer. No GMO
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable environment.
Meat & Seafood Team Member (Current Employee) –  Tanasbourne, ORFebruary 21, 2017
Whole Foods has provided me with many skills and training to support my career path as a retail employee.They have given me a platform to grow my fondness of interacting with people and quality food.
Pros
Diversity of co-workers, Heath insurance, food sampling
Cons
Short staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
whole is a fun fast pace work place where you can be yourself
Customer Services Representative (Current Employee) –  University Heights, OHFebruary 21, 2017
A typical work day at whole foods is me running a cashier line while talking and laughing with customers getting them out by working fast and accurate.

I learn a lot about food and products i never knew exist until work with Whole Foods.

I like that management blend in with the team members and work just as hard as the team.

The hardest part of the job is not being able to move around. we pretty much stand there and ring customer out for a whole shift.

The most enjoyable part of the Job is talking too so many different people, you will learn so much.
Pros
20 percent discount
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really productive environment, great workers, family oriented environment
Cashier Assistant (Former Employee) –  Davie, FLFebruary 21, 2017
Great place to work with great benifits family oriented environment and a very productive business very kid and pet friendly environment great and respectful employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
whole paycheck is declining fast
Manager (Former Employee) –  Mishawaka, INFebruary 21, 2017
The company is sinking fast. Cutting labor every where it can. It is the typical company that hires consultants to try and improve there sinking revenues. Consulting firm says best way to raise stock prices for the company is to cut labor. Prices are too high for the exact same product every other grocery store is buying its produce. Total sham asparagus water anyone? Don't work here dead end career with opportunities shrinking everywhere. They should of lowered their prices instead of cutting hours and team members jobs.
Pros
20 percent discount
Cons
They only pay executives good. Everyone else is payed poorly
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good grocery store to work for
Cashier and then a Cashier Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Prescott, AZFebruary 21, 2017
The experience varies wildly from store to store and person to person, but overall the company provides great benefits, fair compensation and a healthy environment to work in. They incentivize the team members to have a healthy lifestyle by offering a bigger store discount. Emphasis on being honest, fair and generally being nice to people... the company has several charitable foundations which do wonderful things. It is a decent and civilized culture.
Pros
Store discounts, salary transparency, strong core values.
Cons
They pay a premium wage & expect superior performance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with great perks
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Evanston, ILFebruary 21, 2017
Great place to work at. they have good benefits. you learn to experience great customer and improve your social and work ethics. Positive environment where you can grow.
Pros
Great benefits and awesome coworker. long breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prepared Foods Observer
Receiving Clerk (Current Employee) –  Cranston, RIFebruary 20, 2017
Prepared Foods at Whole Foods has a wide range of work. The specialty of the department is to provide great Deli and Food Service to the customer and have a wide knowledge on Customer Service.
Pros
20% off on various items, Gain Share, and Healthcare
Cons
Average Management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult at times
Meat Department Team Member (Current Employee) –  Orland Park, ILFebruary 20, 2017
Started off great
Typical day was to get production in a good flow
Management declined in reliability over my time being there
Hardest part was being understaffed
Best was the team atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best supermarket to work for
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLFebruary 20, 2017
Whole foods is a great company to work for, it offers increasing pay, benefits and they let you make your own schedule. The people who work there are very nice and helpful, it is quiet a joy to work there.
Pros
Ability to make your own schedule, great break times, nice environment.
Cons
Long hours standing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Whole Foods Market. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 3,239 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.4
Culture
4.0

Whole Foods Market Reviews by Location