Find companies:
Whole Foods Market
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,046 reviews

Whole Foods Market Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interacting with millions of customers on a daily basis
Barista (Current Employee), brooklyn , new yorkSeptember 26, 2014
Cons: short breaks
• Engaging customers and surpassing their needs
• Maintaining the store environment and equipment
• Re- stocking inventory and communicating store needs.
• Ensuring food safety standards are met
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay and benefits
Parking Lot Attendant (Former Employee), West Hartford, CTSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: lack of job security
The pay and benefits are good; however, there is little job security. It can also be hard for some to advance within the company. Overall not a bad place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Foodie Culture!
Human Resources (Current Employee), Rockville, MDSeptember 25, 2014
Wonderful human resources team.

Learned about organic and sustainable foods.

Was an integral part of the store opening process.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its an okay place
Overnight Stocker (Current Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: good money
Cons: short over night staff
the people that work there are cool just always working
lack of overnight people so more work for others
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place
Cashier (Current Employee), houstonSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: free things, good benefits, employee discount!
Cons: demanding customers
can be stressful because of the customers but overall a good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace when busy and very orderly
Cashier (Former Employee), Manhattan, NYSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: win free lunch vouchers
Cons: not flexible with work schedule
Everyone were fairly friendly. A typically day consist of standing for long period operating cash register. Time to time short competition in speed of cashing out customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unless your a favorite, watch your back.
Front end manager (Former Employee), Aventura, FLSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: pay and food
Cons: favoritism and unfair treatment
Worked there for more than 10 years. Taken over from a previous company. It was good in the beginning but then turned cult like. I was a loyal employee but once a different manager came, I was forced to resign without good reason. Lots of mandatory meetings. Not a fair workplace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great place to work.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: short brealks
My experience was excellent. My co-workers were very helpful. I learned alot about organic foods and diferrent variety of foods.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Associate Team Leader (Current Employee), Pasadena, CASeptember 22, 2014
Fun place to work but stalling team members in advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked and underpaid
customer service (Former Employee), milfordSeptember 22, 2014
Whole Foods once a great place to work were people cared about the core values but now they just hire anyone and promise everyone a chance to move up make you take classes and training to move up, use you to do work they don't pay you for the work you're doing. Do not work here unless you won't a part time job it's not worth it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Summer Job during my last school year
team member (Former Employee), Denver ColoradoSeptember 21, 2014
Pros: great company!
I did work for the sea food department preparing ready to eat foods, I did learn a lot about fish and sustainability. It was a great place to work! The hardest part was the schedule with a lot of nights and weekends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Parking Lot Attendant
Parking Lot Attendant (Former Employee), Coral Gables, FLSeptember 20, 2014
Perform valet duties and park vehicles in open spots.
Take tickets from waiting patrons and park or retrieve vehicles.
Manipulate vehicles to take advantage of all spaces.
Collect fees from patrons wishing to park in garage.
Hold up signs advertising parking lot fees.
Call tow trucks if person is parked illegally.
Issue tags to customers to put up in – more... their windshields for display.
Clean up debris from parking lot.
Use hand signals and lights to direct patrons into open spots.
Check vehicles for damage.
Ensure cameras are working properly in case an accident happens.
Position or remove barricades to prevent parking in certain spots. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun coworkers
Coffee Specialist-Buyer (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WISeptember 20, 2014
Pros: 20% whole foods market discount
There is always opportunity for advancement. You create your own path.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Culture
Acting Supervisor (Former Employee), Oakland, CASeptember 19, 2014
My peers made this job enjoyable. It wasn't so much the culture, but the livelihood and personalities of the people I worked with that made going in worth while. The hardest thing, at least for me was moving up, I feel like the politics overruled the reality of what should have been done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Team Leader (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: meet great people, pay is good, easy advancement if you are willing to move
Cons: no set schedule
I have learned so much about eating healthy while working here. I love the people I work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with an excellent break room.
Customer Service (Former Employee), Boston, MASeptember 19, 2014
Pros: discount on groceries.
Clock in and get straight to work. I was very serious when it came to working on the floor making sure I correctly greeted customers. I learned the basic from cashier (dealing with money) to bagging and making sure customers had a great experience shopping at the store. Management was spot on and co-workers were very polite and great to work with. Hardest – more... part of the job I'll say was bagging groceries after checking them out all by myself. The most enjoyable was definitely the customers and the meeting we had at the end of every month. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT WAS A GOOD PLACE TO WORK
MAintenance (Former Employee), Darien, CTSeptember 19, 2014
AT WAS DOING MAINTENANCE OVER THERE ,MAKE SURE EVERYTHING IS FINE AND EACH FLOOR
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome; Laid Back Team Members - Great Benes!!
Front End Team Member (Former Employee), Greenville, SCSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: will work around your schedule; samples!
Woodruff Rd. team is the best! Cool people - really care about what they're doing/selling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Grocery Associate (Former Employee), Durham NCSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: employee dicount
Cons: physically strenuous/demanding
Good Pay, Nice environment, the patrons of whole foods were Great Never Had a problem with anyone.
I gain a lot of knowledge about nutrition working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great if you want a professional career in retail operations
Regional Quality Assurance Specialist (Current Employee), Landover, MDSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: corporate culture, pleasant work atmosphere
Cons: very few higher ranking, professional positions.
Great atmosphere and corporate culture.

Just does not offer enough good paying, professional-level technical positions/career tracks. Most of the positions are store-related.

Great place to work if you do not have a formal education, want to learn on the job and move up the ranks, but there are huge limits if you have a formal education or professional – more... degree. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Whole Foods Market

Whole Foods Market owns and operates a chain of natural and organic foods supermarket. As of September 30, 2008, the Company operated – Read more

Whole Foods Market Photos