Whole Foods Market Employee Reviews

Found 1,936 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a productive environment.. I was on my feet the whole time which was fast pace and i enjoyed it
Customer Service Cashier (Former Employee) –  Plymouth Meeting, PAFebruary 10, 2016
A typical day was very fast paced and very productive. I learned great customer service skills and management was not to bad. The employers were not bad but they also were not good.. most of them had negative attitudes which made the environment a little hostel. The hardest part of the job was dealing with some of the employees. The most enjoyable part was meeting the new customers and being able to work in a fast paced environment.
Pros
benefits 401k plan discount on food shopping
Cons
no free lunch, waiting to be rung up for our lunch, could barley use the bathroom
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place, great people, and work school balance
Meat Team Member (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAFebruary 10, 2016
Everyone is friendly at whole foods and it is a great place to work. The company goals are very positive and they promote a healthy lifestyle.
The store can get very busy, and management does a great job on helping everyone in a timely manner.
I learned exceptional customer service working here.
Pros
discount on food
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
difficult place to work
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  IllinoisFebruary 10, 2016
bad balance of work and life and slowly becoming a more "walmart" type of company. not the company it once was and continuing to change in a negative direction
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Higher Standards in the Grocery environment
Grocery Team Member (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 10, 2016
I certainly gave me personal growth in personality,character,and people skills. I became educated in the nutrition arena.
Pros
20 % Discount
Cons
Quick Advancement with in the company
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work very busy and can add a lot of stress to your life(customers are pretentious)
Cashier (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 9, 2016
Its ok to work if you need a check. dont expect all that green save the world stuff to be actually a thing...the company is definitely full of shi% when it comes to actually practice what is preaches lots of food education and you learn a lot though
Pros
discount on food
Cons
busy place with the most stuck up customers i have ever seen in my life!
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company, Great benefits, Great environment
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLFebruary 9, 2016
I loved working there but now I am looking for new experiences. Dealing with the public is stressful but I am very social and a positive person.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i enjoy working with my co worker
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 8, 2016
I am a hard worker! Who enjoy working with people. I also like the hour that I work. I got along with my co worker we help each other out when needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Works well with my schedule for school
Specialty Team Member (Current Employee) –  Aventura, FLFebruary 7, 2016
They work really well around your schedule but can be very disorganized.They have some really neat things they do for the employees but it isn't easy to get fulltime
Pros
Great with scheduling, cool programs and things they do for their employees
Cons
Short breaks, don't always get to take your 15, disorganized
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wow what a company
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 6, 2016
I wish I could work for this company longer. Great company, great team and awesome management. One thing, I didn't like is that the company can write you up for anything.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Whole Foods is a very good company to work for.
maintenance/reciever (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 5, 2016
Every day is a good day that I worked for Whole Foods. That is why I am anxious to work for them again. The management team is on point for as helping their employees. I never ran into a co-worker that wasn't smiling or didn't open up with you with a great greeting. Their wasn't a hard day for me at Whole Foods cause I like a rough day it shows how prepared and qualified my skills for the job is. The most enjoyable part of the job in knowing you are returning to work another day for the Whole Foods Corporation something I miss so very much.
Pros
Their is something you can learn every day from working at this organic grocery store
Cons
Their is something you gonna come out with something you did't no.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Want to know more about Whole Foods Market?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assistant Team Leader
Assistant Team Leader (Current Employee) –  MichiganFebruary 3, 2016
Things are changing at Whole Foods Market, Some positive, some so-so. Benefits are good. Food options and discount a big plus.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and active workplace
Demo Specialist (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLFebruary 1, 2016
Greet customers and provide exceptional customer service.
Anticipate customer needs whenever possible and adhere to Core Company and sales policies.
Utilize interpersonal skills to sell the overall experience to the client while promoting and displaying edible items.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Whole Foods Team Member
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARJanuary 31, 2016
Sometimes its great sometimes its bad. Busy times ensure a sense of organized chaos in order to sell as much product as possible and help as many guests as you can in a day. Slow time ensure you will get your hours cut without notice, or others will leave you to deal with the work of two people throughout your shift. Management is good but constantly shifting. Miscommunication happens often so things are often left undone or unchecked. The team atmosphere is good but very political at times. In all its a hard job to work continuously so a team first me second attitude is essential to not get upset that you feel overworked or under appreciated. The company will give you a decent paycheck if you can manage a full time position. If not, its better to have a second job or other ways of earning a living to compensate for the low hours. Part time benefits will drain your paycheck, and full time benefits wont as much if you have worked there for more than a year or so. Its a great company to work for if you want to move up, but again very political and hard to work with the corporate constraints. If you manage to move up, expect to be overworked and underpaid. If you do not bring in enough money expect to get constant emails about why you and your team inst making enough, and warnings about bringing up profits or else hours and possible jobs are lost. Its a constant balance between work, having fun, and dealing with every day stress you would encounter in any work environment. The pay and benefits are worth it, but the job security is not very good, and moving up is challenging for  more... lots of people. Most enjoyable is the type of people that work there, love to have fun and love to enjoy life. Least enjoyable part is when corporate constraints make the job no longer enjoyable but more like a job you have to do out of fear of loosing your job.  less
Pros
Happy environment, pay, benefits
Cons
Hours, full vs. part time, difficulty moving up and staying there.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My second family
Prepared Foods Team Member (Current Employee) –  Newport Beach, CAJanuary 30, 2016
When it comes down to management, politics, and favoritism, the team members are the ones that makes my day easier and productive.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Buyer (Former Employee) –  Paramus, NJJanuary 30, 2016
Great people, good food and fun environment to work in. A typical day would involve speaking to my manager about strategies to increase sales and organize the department, then helping every customer that walks into the doors.
Pros
people
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An eclectic company to work for
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 29, 2016
I really enjoyed working for Whole foods. They had a great atmosphere and I got to meet so many different people from all walks of life. This is where I started learning about healthier living for myself.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I hear its under better management
cashier by building (Former Employee) –  Cerrillos, NMJanuary 29, 2016
I received little support from the managers when it was busy or when I felt it necessary to confront coworkers on inappropriate behavior. I hear it is under new management though so I hope the best for all my old friends that currently work there.
Pros
benefits, free holiday lunch and massage
Cons
6 am meetings
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job, full-time was not available
Grocery and Dairy Team Member (Current Employee) –  Naperville, ILJanuary 28, 2016
Very simple job facing and rotating stock. Great Customer service experience. Disappointed in lack of opportunities to move to full-time.
Pros
store discount, good friends
Cons
healthcare was unobtainable for part time
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Grocery department, team member (Former Employee) –  Milford, CTJanuary 28, 2016
whole food's market was a very team, friendly place to work, flexible, fun environment to work in. Great food, culture and atmosphere, however management could use a little bit more understanding
Cons
management don't communicate effectively
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Whole Body Team Member (Former Employee) –  Union, NJJanuary 28, 2016
Working for whole foods market was a great experience! It was a great job for when I needed the extra money. My coworkers and bosses were awesome. The customers were friendly and I genuinely enjoyed working there.
Cons
don't allow set schedules
Was this review helpful?Yes4No

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,985 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture