Wichita State University Employee Reviews

Showing all 109 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to study and work
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee) –  Wichita, KSMarch 20, 2017
It's a very good university to study for masters.There are good opportunities for the students to work on campus special for software developers.
Thanks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching and reserch was great except for administration
Assistant Professor, Aeronautical Eng. Dept (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSMarch 18, 2017
Took great pride joining WSU after 4 years of aircraft stress analysis at Learjet, so that I wanted to share my knowledge and experience to students pursuing aerospace. Guided and performed research towards masters and doctoral theses, bring lot of funds to WSU.
Pros
Academic freedom
Cons
no encouragement from adminstration
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people!
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vice President's officeMarch 13, 2017
Working with students in the best time of their lives is so rewarding! In my 12 years most of my time was amazing! The coworkers are awesome as well. I miss them dearly.
Pros
State benefits
Cons
Job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An average university to attend and work in
Instructor, Research/Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Wichita, KSMarch 10, 2017
The university is located in an urban area. Tuition is not fully waived for research/teaching assistants. The workplace culture is average. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with some talented students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An opportunity to grow
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSMarch 2, 2017
Every day was different and it was an opportunity to grow. There were days where you have to sort and manage data, maintain admission database and see if employers need extra help.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good workplace that anyone can work in.
Facilities Managing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSFebruary 14, 2017
- It is always good to meet new people using the facility everyday.
- I learned to be organized.
- The workplace culture is diverse with people around the world.
- The hardest part of the job was to be updated with all the things going around the world, since the fellow students we meet is of all over the place.
Pros
Free Locker in the Gymnasium
Cons
The work schedule was not regular through out the week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wichita state university
Facility supervisor/manager (Current Employee) –  Wichita, KSJanuary 27, 2017
good the place, i am a student in there and tyr to study hard and hoppfully can get good job, yes, i like this school. please come to check it out
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work for
Associate Director (Current Employee) –  Wichita, KS 67260January 14, 2017
I love working at Wichita State University because People is great, benefits are the best, pay is excellent. working environment is excellent.........
Pros
Benefits, work environment
Cons
long hours sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grade and supervise both graduate and undergraduate course works.
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSJanuary 2, 2017
It was such a privilege to work as a graduate teaching assistant helping students on public health courses. I have a learn a great deal of knowledge interacting with students.
Pros
Received tuition remission and text book assistant during my graduate study.
Cons
The work load could be sometimes hectic.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Wichita, KSNovember 12, 2016
It's a good place to work but pay is very low and opportunities are very few as well tough to find one! If you wish to have a moderate professional career, you can go with wichita & wichita state university.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prductive and fun place to work
Graduate Research Assistant at REAL (Current Employee) –  Wichita, KSNovember 9, 2016
nice co-workers
good learning opportunities
made lots of connections
worked on projects that really made a difference
this job helped to create a platform for other future jobs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WSU is an exciting and fascinating place to work.
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSOctober 22, 2016
Wichita State University is filled with interesting and passionate employees--both the faculty and the staff. As a graduate teaching assistant I worked closely with professors and students and greatly enjoyed the experience.
Pros
Passionate and interested employees
Cons
It can be a highly competitive.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate Assistant
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Wichita, KSOctober 6, 2016
Assisted assigned professors in market research and data analysis.
Supervised exams and graded tests, assignments and papers.
Tutored freshman and sophomore students on Economic related courses.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Only 20 hours a week
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Actually for my fraternity
Member Development Chairman (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSSeptember 27, 2016
This was a basic leadership position that provided me the experience to advance in my career opportunities after college.
Pros
Fraternity life, leadership skills, network building
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
research
Student Research program (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSSeptember 24, 2016
I worked with a researcher as a helper in psychological research named SONA. She assigned few of the students from science field especially psychology to help her. I attended many different age clients of her and tested their pace of working brain through her set up of few assessments on computers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSSeptember 7, 2016
while working there I noticed that training was everything. Paid to take tests that you needed to advance. Management was as busy as the rest.
Pros
paid training, good benefits
Cons
short breaks.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job for Full-Time Students
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSAugust 29, 2016
I loved working at WSU and I wish that I could still be working there, however the positions fill up fast for students. There are no compensation/benefits and the department that I worked for had a small job security issue.
Pros
free time for homework, very laid back environment
Cons
work days seemed to be a little long due to lack of work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSAugust 27, 2016
it was a great place to work had alot of experince
working with people
it was a place to have fun with students, parents and teachers
faulcaties and other
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and more Interesting
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Wichita, KSJuly 2, 2016
Manageable time limit and nice pay
Lot of opportunities to Learn and challenge ourself
co-workers and supervisor were more supportive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching experience
Research Assistant for the Structural Lab (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSJuly 1, 2016
The hardest part was first time teaching in my career. I really enjoyed teaching and the management was excellent. The most enjoyable part of my job was being a teacher.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Wichita State University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 109 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
4.0
Culture
4.2

Wichita State University Reviews by Location