widener University Employee Reviews

Showing all 42 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good College
Research and Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chester, PAJanuary 28, 2017
Friendly, convenient & flexible place to work at. Entire staff are very supportive and realistic. Got education stipend as my remuneration. Enjoyed my time while at Widener University.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, not so good upper management
Adjunct Associate Professor, (Current Employee) –  Chester, PADecember 18, 2016
Too many less paid adjunct professors, and luck of full time faculty positions. Teaching school with no so many (or any) space and resources for research activities.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a fun place to work
Campus Safety Officer (Former Employee) –  Chester, PAOctober 11, 2016
Its a good place to work inspite of the supervisors and other mamnagment. And dont work on second shift if you are trying to go to school there
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Director University Center
Director of the University Center (Former Employee) –  Chester, PASeptember 12, 2016
GREAT PLACE TO WORK, The school is in a great location to Philadelphia and has an excelent CAPS center. The school of education is awsome and really make taking grad classes very easy,
Pros
location
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  Chester, PAAugust 4, 2016
Excellent teaching experience with supportive tenure faculty.
Part-time nature of the position has allowed me to complete my PhD program.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for work/life balance
Assistant Director of Multicultural Admissions (Current Employee) –  Chester, PAJuly 20, 2016
Everyone works well collaboratively for the success of all students. The location is ideal for students and employees.
Pros
Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Support Services
Resident Assistant (RA) (Former Employee) –  Chester, PAJune 19, 2016
As as resident assistant I managed roughly 55 students int he residence hall with all the problems, issues and concerns with campus life. I was trained in Title IX and was instructed to follow all campus policies
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT Helpdesk
IT Help Desk (Current Employee) –  Chester, PAApril 28, 2016
Help student with computer issues and monitor the computer lab in order for students to work in a calm environment. Fix the printer and make sure there is no issues with the lab computers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place and fun atmosphere for employment
Student Operations Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chester, PAApril 13, 2016
logging in students using game accessories
setting up club rooms with desired layout for meetings
communicating with new students daily
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful place to work
Director of Corporate and Foundation Relations (Former Employee) –  Chester, PAApril 10, 2016
Widener University is a wonderful place to work. I learned a great deal. The staff is friendly and caring and the students were wonderful.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No positive leadership.
Assistant Manager, Human Resources (Former Employee) –  Chester, PAAugust 17, 2015
The president was nice but did not have a positive leadership team.
The department I worked for was very dysfunctional and the director was rarely at work.
Pros
easy commute on most days
Cons
poor management and leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
desktop technician / teacher
PC SUPPORT TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  chester , paAugust 14, 2015
I work as computer technician for almost eight years. It was great experience and I learned a lot in last eight year in Widener University.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace with good people.
Research assistant (Former Employee) –  Bartholamew LabAugust 6, 2015
Small university where you will be able to interact with a diverse faculty without having to travel to far. Some people need some time getting use to but the overall experience was positive.
Pros
Friendly staff
Cons
Surrounding location not the safest
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical
Contractor - Salesforce (Former Employee) –  Chester, PAJuly 21, 2015
Typical. Fair employment in the city of Chester. Part-time work great hours. Didn't have many co-workers. Many hours on the computer.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Resident assistant
Resident Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chester, PAJune 26, 2015
I loved being a resident assitant in widener university. I was treated very respectfully and was able to work in our own convenience. It was an awesome experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Campus Safety is more customer /student services not safety issues
Campus Safety Officer (Former Employee) –  Chester, PAMay 1, 2015
A typical day is walking, standing at an assigned post, no talking to co-workers and a 6 day work week is horrible on family life, but your only paid for 5 days. The 6th day goes to next week, 1 weekend off every 6 weeks. They give you an education benefit , but you cant use it (lol). The most enjoyable part of the job is helping the students get around the campus and to help them get adjusted to campus life.
Pros
maybe free sandwiches after football games
Cons
extreme amount of patroling the campus on foot, rain, snow, shine.
Was this review helpful?Yes14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate Work
Graduate Area Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Chester, PAFebruary 25, 2015
I worked here while completing my MBA and enjoyed the work I did and the people I worked with. It was a fun environment and always a new adventure
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Outreach Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Chester, PAFebruary 7, 2015
Clerical work such as filing documentation, greeting students in the office as they come in and provide information about the programs.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours
Outpatient Therapist (Current Employee) –  Chester, PAJune 24, 2014
Work is with client's of a higher level of functioning; no office space exclusively for the position - the building is shared with PsyD interns.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Study
Game Day Management- Work the home games (Former Employee) –  Chester, PAJune 2, 2014
worked to earn money during the school year, helped out with home games for soccer, softball, baseball, basketball, and track and field (indoor and outdoor)
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at widener University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 42 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7

widener University Reviews by Location