Find companies:
Wildlife Conservation Society
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
50 reviews

Wildlife Conservation Society Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Children's Zoo Associate (Former Employee), Bronx, NYSeptember 12, 2014
It was a really good place to work. I learned as I worked which is what I like. The other seasonal workers and the keepers were great to work with. So were the supervisors, it was like one big family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Group Sales Operations Supervisor (Current Employee), Bronx, NYSeptember 9, 2014
• Understand the importance of maintaining excellent customer satisfaction. Customer service strength’s include communication, outreach and customer resolutions.
• Organizational: well organized with the ability to multi-task in a fast pace environment;
• Proficient in Galaxy order entry and ticketing, payment processing, multi-line telephone systems – more... and office administrative filing. Microsoft word and Excel. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Wildlife Conservation Society has the friendliest staff I've ever worked with
Seasonal Event Greeter (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 28, 2014
The staff were always positive and supportive. Part of it comes from the work that WCS does around to improve our connection to our environments. My immediate manager was so helpful and supportive of my job search after my seasonal employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning opportunity for customer service.
Sales Associate (Seasonal) (Former Employee), Bronx, NYJune 4, 2014
A typical work day included interacting with guests constantly. There is little room for boredom because there is always someone you can help find an item, or find their way through the exhibits.
I learned that sometimes just a smile and a good attitude can brighten someone's day.
Management was diligent in pointing out areas for improvement.
Co-workers – more... were amazing to work with.
The hardest part of the job was staying on your feet for the entire day.
The most enjoyable part was having fun with the customers while demonstrating products. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad job to start with
Admissions Supervisor (Former Employee), Bronx, NYMay 7, 2014
a great stepping stone for teenagers or kids in general to start at
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WCS
Education (Volunteer) (Current Employee), Bronx, NYMarch 19, 2014
Pros: creating wildlife enrichment and supporting the keepers
Cons: not enough off-season activities
Review requirements for the days' activities; assigning duties to team followed by a briefing and special announcements.
Communicate with staff from other departments concerning special events or tours. Verifying cart availability for guest transport.
Sending team on their appointent rounds by 10am.
Public speaking is required and you learn to tailor – more... your talks and tours to a different audience based on the toopic and age of the group.
Co-workiers have specific areas where they prefer to work so an attempt to accommodate them can be a challenge if we need coverage in other areas.
Making sure everyone is in compliance of park protocol.
The most rewarding aspect of working at the WCS is knowing you made a positive difference in the visitor experience. Also, providing the wildlife staff with the support they need, whether it is bringing attention to WCS concervation efforts or providing assistance in monitoring and reporting wildlife response to enrichment stimuli. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace inviornment.
Prep/Catering Supervisor/Event Planner (Former Employee), Bronx, NYFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: lack of communication by management.
Team player staff. Overwhelming customer service. Need to acknowledge all he needs of customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun with a lot of animals
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Bronx, NYFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: free lunch & tickets to visit the places with family.
Cons: short breaks
A typical day at work for me was in enjoyable. I've learn a lot about animals, food, and much more. My coworkers was energetic nice an polite. i dont think there was any thing hard about the job. the part of the job i enjoyed the most was meeting new people making customers happy and having fun while doing those things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work and interesting
Office Intern (Former Employee), Bronx, NYJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: great experience
All zoo and aquarium employees have the opportunity to educate the public about the critical need for the conservation of wildlife and wild lands. This responsibility assures an interesting and rewarding career, but the profession requires more than a commitment to conservation - it requires hard work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Trouble-shoot employee (Current Employee), bronx nyJanuary 4, 2014
a typical day at work can be very busy sometimes or sometimes slow. location was bronx zoo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Monorail
Monorail Mechanic (Former Employee), Bronx New YorkDecember 24, 2013
Pros: free zoo access
Cons: no compensation for comparable work.
Maintained monorail system at the Bronx Zoo, also performed electrical maintenance on various systems. Poor pay,because this was seasonal work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee), Bronx, NYDecember 8, 2013
Pros: free admission to zoos and rides, discounts on food and merchandise
Process wire transfers, prepare checks, database input, process invoices for payment, answer calls, file, copy.

Learned many assignments in different departments.

Management was great.

I enjoyed the daily interaction with my co-workers.

Hardest part of the job was ending of fiscal year with overflow of work,

I mostly enjoyed the day to day interaction – more... with clients, employees and co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fantastic environment. we're saving wildlife!
Executive Assistant Finance and Administration (Current Employee), Bronx, NYDecember 2, 2013
Pros: you work at the zoo....it's beautiful
Cons: long hours, lunch at your desk, little advancement if you're an admin
I thoroughly enjoy working at WCS, I do however have a different career path in mind. While I love the bottom line, administrative work is no longer my passion. Education is. I want to make a difference and my current position does not allow me to do so. therefore, I have to move on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Very Productive
Admission&Guest Relations (Former Employee), Bronx, NYNovember 26, 2013
Helping Guest, Entertaining kids very Productive each day. Selling tickets and giving Guest the best experience they can have during their visit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
extremely fun place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Bronx, NYNovember 15, 2013
greeting customers and processing payments. Handling tickets as well as providing directions
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Office Associate (Current Employee), Bronx, NYNovember 11, 2013
Fun and great place to grow
Daily activity
Great security
Co-workers make you feel comfortable
Moral is good
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A quick and easy way to gain work exerience
Special Animal Exhibit, Childrens Zoo (Former Employee), Bronx, NYNovember 5, 2013
Pros: 1 hour lunch
Cons: no health benefits, minimum wage, unorganized
Although I love working with animals and have enjoyed doing so while being employed here, I must say that the pay is very low compared to the amount of work one is responsible for throughout the day. The position is seasonal meaning that you are only employed for several months and then let go for two months without pay. During my season, I worked five – more... days a week from 8am-5pm, weekends 5:30 and because it was a seasonal job, that was still considered part time because my lunch break wasn't not included in my pay. This is a good job for high school kids needing something to do for the summer and weekend but not something an adult can live off of. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting and different experience
Sales Manager (Former Employee), Bronx, NyNovember 3, 2013
I like to interact with people. I also enjoyed sales and participating in events.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family orientated fun energetic
Sales Representative (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 23, 2013
Pros: employee discounts and courtesy tickets to other zoos
Cons: no health care no room for growth
A day at wcs is fun we start of with a daily morning meeting detailing what will be happening for the day or upcoming days we go to are assigned post we talk and joke and all get along and interact with children and people from other countries since its location is much a tourist attraction my co workers since they are not that many i consider them – more... family and i think that's great to have at work the hardest part about the job is sometimes people test your patience i learn i can be very patient most enjoyable part working at the zoo is seeing the animals once in a while – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment, educational
Office Team Leader (Former Employee), Bronx, NYOctober 5, 2013
Pros: free tickets to all five parks in the city, free lunches
Cons: no benefits or healthcare as a part time employee, management staff
Working at the Bronx Zoo I was always busy and always had work to do. I did multiple jobs here from membership sales, to office team leader, and a training assistant. A lot of the management team here were very outgoing and helpful but some were not and had favoritism. My manager was great to work with and very understanding. The hardest part of the – more... job was getting all the work done on time and the information had to be very accurate. I did work for all five parks and 6 departments in each park. The most enjoyable part was my co workers. We worked great together and never had any issues being a team. I learned a lot here about animals who were endangered and all the effort the Wildlife Conservation Society puts into saving them. – less

1 2 3