Find companies:
Willcare
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
35 reviews

Willcare Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's like working at a roller coaster
Home Health Aide (Former Employee), Middletown, NYNovember 9, 2014
Pros: you always have the support of the nursing staff
Cons: scheduling, they overbook you and don't give you enough time to get to the next patients home
The schedulars do not listen to you when you are uncofortable in a patients home. They schedule you to work on your scheduled days off or schedule you to work on a day or time that you have listed that you are not available. The Nurses are wonderful if a patient is having a problem or you think they are, the nurse will walk you through what to do. The – more... Nurse will get ahold of the Patients next of kin. The one point that I do want to make is Patient care is always first. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want stable this is not the company for you
Wore many clinical hats (Former Employee), All officesOctober 22, 2014
Pros: the staff in the local offices are great they just have no support to work with.
Cons: everything else
This has to be one of the worst home care companies in the state. Patient care is not their focus making money no matter what is the bottom line. Staffing sucks, support from corporate is a joke. If you are looking for a stable, nurturing environment don't go here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a struggling homecare agency
Performance Improvement Nurse (Current Employee), New Haven, CTAugust 30, 2014
Pros: salary
Cons: leadership is lacking
Willcare is struggling as a for-profit company that does not work hard enough to establish itself as a clinical leader in Home Care,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice agency
Home Health Aide (Former Employee), Lake Katrine, NYJuly 28, 2014
Pros: stress free
Cons: traveling from place to place
WillCare was the first agency to open the doors for me, I will forever be grateful. I learned that I have a lot more passion for this field thanI thought. Not every client is rude and moody, it takes a smile and a simple conversation to get through them some days. I am more of a team work person, therefore working alone was kind of negative about it. – more... The most enjoyable part of the job was to hear my clients ask me "you are coming back tomorrow right?, because you are very good aide. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive at times
PCA (Former Employee), Middletown, NYMarch 3, 2014
Pros: the patients i was asighned
Cons: pay needed to be more
could not be flexible with my hours and pay wasn't great. had to use personal car and milage reinburstment wasn't much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have developed very close relationships with employees
Medical Surgical and Behavioral Health Supervisor (Former Employee), Newburgh, NYJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: home care is my favorite area of nursing
Cons: proprietary company with no security
I work at Willcare as MS Supervisor since 2012 when I return from being recruited to the Bronx for HHH Choice to develop a Behavioral Health Program. Previously I was the Behavioral Health Supervisor at Willcare.
I have recently been the Chairperson of the Wound Care Committee and Chairperson for the Safety Committee in the Hudson Valley. I've tried – more... to become more involved in the Organization but it doesn't appear to be appreciated as they have change Administration in the past year.
We are utilizing a program call Home Care Home Base that is very tiresome for managing documents. The "Work Flow" is tedious work which takes away from the Supervision of the Nurses and the management of the patients.
I can handle large quantities of data, organize and manage documents for submittal to Medicare including IDC9/10 Coding. The work entends into my personal life which is frequently difficulty and tiring. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice environment to be working directly with people and residents in the comfortability of their homes
stna (Former Employee), Middleburg Heights, OHDecember 3, 2013
Pros: clientale
Cons: long distance travel
fun, nice paced environment. like the travel to the clients homes it made the job alittle more personal and comfortable for the resident.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good cop/bad cop
Patient Care Aide (Current Employee), Middletown, NYNovember 7, 2013
Pros: free training
Cons: per diem, lack of communication
This job is intended as an entry level/rotating doors opportunity. Considering the balance of pay and work load, you'll end up coming back to this review and leaving a review yourself after they let you/giving into quitting. PCA work is not a career but you'll take all the heat for very little pay. I suggest going elsewhere after you gain your experience – more... because that's what keeps permanent staff employed. WIllcare... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive medium paced
Sceduling Coordinator (Former Employee), Buffalo, New YorkOctober 26, 2013
While working at the agency I learned how to manage my time wisely and to stay organized. Built great relationships with my co-workers, nurses and staff as we became a team. I also learned what things worked and what didn't work when it came to scheduling. Everything is a learning process for you to grow and to become more sucessful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people to work with
personal care aid (Former Employee), Kingston, NYOctober 21, 2013
Pros: helping clients and becoming there friend
Cons: switching clients as often as they do
co-workers are awesome clients are amazing and fun enviorment to be in
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive at your own expense
Personal Care Assistant (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYSeptember 18, 2013
Pros: love doing the job
Cons: got the short end of the stick when life kicked in.
Work day would be going to my clients homes and giving them the care needed. I learned to be flexible but have a life outside of work and not let it consume me. Management was pass the buck- my co-workers was awesome we took care of each other- the hardest part was getting a routine but once you got it there is no letting go. The most enjoyable part – more... was seeing the smiles on my client faces when I satisfied their needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the job for anyone who needs to support themselves or is looking for advancement
PCA (Former Employee), New YorkSeptember 5, 2013
Pros: support from nursing supervisor. flexibility in hours.
Cons: short breaks, travel compensation, hourly wage, no benefits, no future.
The compensation in this company is not remotely comptetitive in a field that is typically poorly paid. There are no benefits that any aide can possible afford on what they make. The mileage reimbursement is inadequate! The work is difficult and sometimes dangerous, often new employees are thrown into dysfunctional situations that no one else wants. – more... However, if a case is a serious safety concern, Willcare will generally try to work with you and be supportive or get you off it. There seems to be a HUGE disconnect between corporate and satellite offices/aides. If Willcare claims to care for people(their slogan) they don't seem to care much for the backbone of their agency, the PCAs. Training/advancement to move up from PCA position is unavailable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor
Schedule Coordinator (Former Employee), Newburgh, NYSeptember 3, 2013
This company was very stressful which has its good points. It also showed extreme favoritism, which I really dislike. That is why I sought out another position with a different company, My boss was very upset I left.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware! This Company Is A Joke!!!
PCA (Former Employee), Middletown, NYAugust 16, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
If you want to feel like you're back in middle school, then this is the place for you. They are just a bunch of gossiping, petty, cutthroat fake people. Everyone thinks they're you're boss and talk very nastily to you. Its like no one knows what they are doing; its so chaotic. Upper management does nothing about the immediate problems; all they're interested – more... in is getting new clients so they can make more money. They do not care about their staff at all. Don't waste your time, its a miserable place to work! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
waste of time
nurse (Former Employee), buffalo, nyAugust 11, 2013
Cons: read above and other reviews
this company only cares about getting paid. They offer subpar wages and basically you can get a Medicaid / Medicare provider number and do the same thing and get paid more. The interviewing process was a joke, as well as their facade about being compensated well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity and fun in the workplace.
Home Health Aide (Former Employee), Jamestown, NYJuly 11, 2013
Pros: comfortable workplace
Cons: seeing patients pass away
Making new friends and learning the way different medical conditions can affect different people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Willcare Nurse
RN (Former Employee), NewburghMay 25, 2013
Cons: everything
Poor management...clicky...favoritism????? quota????? although some cases are more needy...some staff are spoken to like you are trash...some staff do not help the patients and are rude to the patients. Managers and administration need to be cleaned out. High turnover of staff and they wonder why????
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity available
HHA (Current Employee), Middletown, New YorkMay 22, 2013
Ability to come in on the ground level and grow with the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WILLCARE
Medical Records Specialist (Current Employee), Newburgh, NYMarch 20, 2013
The job is rewarding knowing you are helping home bound patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a fun or nice place to work
Nurse (Former Employee), New Haven, CTJanuary 15, 2013
Pros: flexible schedules
Cons: high health insurance, incompetent supervisors, poor management/corporate
the supervisors are unaware of what's going on with the clients. many clients are not seen by the nursing staff because of poor communication. they are not fair people to work for. they smile in your face and talk about you behind your back. the insurance plans suck for individuals and families and it is very high you pay for most of it out of your – more... paycheck. corporate has no connection with the staff and have no idea as to how a good homecare agency should run. they took over this company a few years ago and have closed 2 offices with more to come. co-workers are princesses, stuck up, snooty type. they communicate via email frequently no personalization to you as an employee. office staff do not work well together they constantly clash. supervisors are sleeping with other people in the company that are married causing conflict within the job. nurses use their cell phones to cheat on their mates and run up the cell phone bill and still keep their jobs. if you are looking for a secure stable job this company and somewhere you can grow, this not the job unless you enjoy cut throat people. they have fired people weekly and forced people to resign since they took over. BEWARE!!! – less

About Willcare

WILLCARE is a family-owned, independent, proprietary, regional leader in the home health care field. And we've been doing a pretty – Read more