Find companies:
WINCO
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
49 reviews

WINCO Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Eugene, ORNovember 19, 2014
Pros: consistent paycheck
Cons: hours
1) Customer service, slice meat, make salads, clean, stock.

2) Learned move in a fast pace and multi-task

3) Hardest part was working graveyard.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very redundant
all purpose freight clerk (Current Employee), Fontana, CAOctober 17, 2014
same thing and repetative, management doesnt do their jobs as far as maintaining product, insuring there is no damaged product on shelves and workers are consistently putting up everything they can up on the shelves. if youy dont seek out what to do next or in what area you should go that they will not tell you and you can head in whatever direction – more... you want and work on whatever you feel. little leadership – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clean
Freight Associate (Former Employee), Twin Falls, IDSeptember 20, 2014
Great prices, helpful co workers, lifting assistance.
Learned how to do inventory. Management was great at answering questions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
warehouse work
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), portland oregonSeptember 9, 2014
enjoyed coming to work and working hard to accomplish my every day tasks
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all great experience.
Produce Clerk (Former Employee), McKinney, TXAugust 7, 2014
Pros: made a lot of friends.
Cons: other peoples work drama.
Working at Winco was not the easiest. It was a lot of work and a bit overwelming at times. I always stayed positive and always asked plenty of questions. I learned a lot from that job and met a lot of great people. I'm glad I got to experience Winco as my first job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deli Clerk
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Stockton, CAJuly 9, 2014
Pros: nothing was ever the same form day to day
Cons: no set schedule and working holidays
customer service in a deli where you talk face to face with your customer makes for a challenging job but a rewarding job at the same time. i assisted the managers in their monthly audits and looking back i believe that working for the public has made me much more keen on whats going on around me.

the people of WinCo are all great, we all work for – more... the same thing and are all equal employers because we all have stock in the company which in turns makes us all part owners. they say you work harder for your self than you do any body else, working for WinCo really showed that aspect considering we employees have a chance to have our voices heard when every their is a big decision made among the company. working for WinCo was the best experience ever. i regret ever leaving the company.

i worked diligently to become a deli manager in training, due to the responsibilities of personal reasons i was forced to quit and take care of family, but during the times that i was being trained by multiple managers they guided me in the direction as professional as possible, always lending their advice and giving gaining criticism to allow growth in my own person. i learned that it takes an army to run a department and their is no I in team.

the hardest part of my job was the late hours, the back to back hours, working an entire shift until mid-night and then returning to work exactly 9 hours later.

the most enjoyable part of my job was the people i worked with and the people i worked for. the customers make the job so rewarding, people always give more information than needed and like any job you become friends or close acquaintances with your customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked on forklift
clerk (Former Employee), Moscow, IDJuly 3, 2014
I worked each day and enjoyed being able to drive the forklift
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workers, horrible management
Variety Freight Clerk (Former Employee), Visalia, CAJune 29, 2014
A typical day at winco would be to grab baskets and start breaking down the loads and sorting each box into the basket for each aisle. Take the baskets full of product to each aisle and start stocking product. Once done zone each aisle quickly then whatever aisle it is to order that day get the handheld and start ordering product. Most of the time cleaning – more... the backroom would be the last hour of work. I learned a lot from this job, I met so many different vendors and how product comes in and goes out, how to stock it, how to order just how important merchandisers are to businesses. Management was cruel, they didn't respect females on the freight crew, I would still be working for them if sexism wasn't an issue with them. Hardest part of the job was dealing with the managers, we were trained one way then told we were doing it wrong, then a different manager would come along and tell us it was done wrong again, there was never a win from any of them except our peers and customers. Best part about the job was being able to look at the store and all the happy customers because you cleaned it up and stocked all the product. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Winco
Pizza Artist/ Cashier (Former Employee), Portland, ORJune 11, 2014
Pros: alot of work to do, constantly busy. employee owned company.
Cons: not much pay for all the responsibilites.
Washed dishes, cut fresh veggies daily, put together pizza boxes, wiped down ovens, ran ovens, assembled pizza down the pizza bar, stocked the pizza bar, swept and mopped the floors, ran cash register.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent company to work for
Cashier (Former Employee), Midvale, UTJune 9, 2014
I had issues with the staff and they did not like that I spoke my mind so they laid me off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not My Favorite
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Spokane, WAMay 30, 2014
Pros: good pay, good people
Cons: bad management.
I've been at winco for over a year. we had an awesome manager, and now our new manager is trying to make everyone miserable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun coworkers but new management was unaproachable
Cashier (Former Employee), Fresno, CAMay 19, 2014
Pros: lunch is good because there is a big selection
Cons: short breaks, no discounts, random schedules that change every week
I enjoyed WINCO when I started and loved my co workers and customers. The pay was decent but it was every two weeks which sucked. The store policies state workers may not purchase discounted product on break (must be off the clock) which I thought was weird. The hardest part of being a cashier was dealing with the register locks, say a customer wouldn't – more... want $10 dollars worth of product, if you had to take it off the lane locks and you need to wait for a lead clerk to come with the key and unlock it (sometimes it takes for ever and customers get mad). The codes for produce can take some time to learn but you get used to it quickly (they're repetitive). All the assistant managers were cool but the new manager was really awkward and very unfriendly . She fired me for something I didn't know was wrong and I had never been written up before and was one of the fastest cashiers with a 136% accuracy. Managers change a lot though and Winco can be a good career so just get your foot in the door and good luck. :) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unorganized
Cashier (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZApril 23, 2014
unorganized management, we say one thing and do another, they change your schedule about a couple hours into your shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a very good job
CSR/Billing Clerk/Mail,Copy Clerk (Former Employee), Salem, ORApril 17, 2014
Pros: i cant think of just one thing, i just really liked this job a lot.
I was a Customer Service Rep, a Billing Clerk & I also worked in the Copy room. I loved all three positions I held @ West Coast Grocery (now Winco). I learned a lot from all positions. It was very challenging at times as I worked with many store managers & customers from Salem & Tacoma. I learned that the customer comes first & you do whatever it takes – more... within the company guidelines to make the customer happy. As the copy room clerk I had the idea to send as much store material needed by the store managers with the trucks delivering their product which saved the company an enormous amount in postage. As a Customer Service Rep I was also involved in new store setups, updating our computer system & merchandise shows which were held in Tacoma every year. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced job
Night Shift Cashier (Former Employee), ogden utApril 1, 2014
Pros: got to meet a lot of people
Cons: night time shift was not rotated
the job was fast paced, kept you busy so the day went by fast. was a fun job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a great starting company for 16-19 yr olds
Night Manager (Current Employee), Gilbert, AZMarch 28, 2014
Pros: great benies....
Cons: everything else
Its a great starting job, but not much more. management isn't to entuned with there employees. they dont really care to much about employees personal lifes. in the sense of if your family passes or your in the hospital and you have records for it. your going to get points on your review for promotion.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, public oriented
Cashier (Former Employee), Tracy, CAMarch 13, 2014
Pros: working with public and pleasant atmosphere
Cons: can be seasonal and low pay.
Enjoyed working with the public. Fast paced and pleasant coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of the job
freight stocker (Former Employee), Eugene, ORFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: great work atmosphere
Cons: late hours
Management was very understanding and easy to work with. Everyone was very positive and hardworking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Lodi, NJFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: company paid lunches on fridays
Cons: short breaks
A typical day of work was managing order flow and making sure they go out without delay. Answering the telephone and resolving technical issues with customers. Sending out back orders and covering for the sales dept when someone was out. I wrote up credit of damaged or defective merchandise. What I learned was multi-tasking and prioritizing. Since it – more... is a fast paced environment, my co-workers and I were always a little stressed. However, everyone was kind to each other. It was fun when we shared moments and laughed together. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with, poor management, low pay, great bennefits
Deli clerk (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZFebruary 18, 2014
If you need job where you have no career in mind, apply to Winco.

1 2 3