Wine.com Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic daily job
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Syosset, NYOctober 6, 2017
Packing and Organizing customer orders, Lifting and moving heavy packages, Labeling orders, Loading and unloading cases. Everyone at the job just did what they had to do. Work place culture wasn't very friendly. Everyone kept to themselves and did their job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy and exciting
Purchasing Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Long Island, NYJuly 21, 2017
Working in the warehouse with all the other emp;loyees daily was very interesting and we all became a big family. When the holieays came it was busy and sometimes worked long hours to fulfill all the orders.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clean workplace
Picker/Packer/Shipper/loader (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 27, 2017
I always clean after my self my manager always pick me to show others what to do I'm always on time I always finish my duties on time some of my manger see me as a leader
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best job
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Berkeley, CAMarch 10, 2017
I would go to private Ranches and private mansions and they would hire me to coordinate their wine menus for the events, as well as filling their wine cellars with the best wines around the country. I loved talking wine with all kinds of different people and their different pallets. I wold say this was the best job ever.
Pros
Bonuses and free bottles of wine on the new arrivals
Cons
Drivind in traffic
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivee
General Labor (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLFebruary 13, 2017
A typical day at work involves concentration, adaptability, and a positive attitude. I've learned about various different types of wine and how to appropriately package the wine. The hardest part of the job is inventory day and the most enjoyable part is learning about different types of wine.
Pros
Great lunch, interesting workplace, reasonable hours, intelligent team members
Cons
Super busy everyday, a lot of different types of wine to remember.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Berkeley, CAFebruary 7, 2017
It was a fun and productive place to work. I never felt that my services weren't of appreciated or of use. I enjoyed it. Most places were always rushing and out of focus with meeting deadlines but here it was always take your time and meet a certain quota within reason. Which I greatly appreciate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great expernce
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Berkeley, CAFebruary 3, 2017
Very great company and peeople to work with i loved it here. except some ins and outs but every company have something someone does not like.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work
Picker (Former Employee) –  Westbury, NY 11590January 15, 2017
It was a fun place to work the people are cool the boss is nice the hours are good if you live close its not a hard job to do they give you a map to help
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Stocker/Assemble Line Lead (Former Employee) –  Berkeley, CAJune 17, 2016
A typical day at work consisted of, neatly stocking wine cases on shelves or on trucks that were scheduled to deliver our products to outside vendors. Also we would clean up any messes that were made. Making sure safety was always enforced because our job is some what dangerous lifting heavy boxes.
Pros
Bonus for working in a timely manner
Cons
Body pains for lifting heavy products
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want to know more about Wine
Admin (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CANovember 14, 2014
Learned that there is normalcy is the workforce. Meetings with CEO are too long, bu the knows what he is doing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal Customer Support
Customer Care Dept. Representative - Seasonal (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAOctober 31, 2013
Learned an incredible amount about Wine & Wine.com in a short period of time. Grow to love wine even more.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly productive yet congenial atmosphere.
Assistant Warehouse Manager (Current Employee) –  New JerseySeptember 10, 2013
A typical day involves customer orders, vendors(drivers, sales personnel and customer service), employees and a constant flow of e-mails and can go by like the wind. This experience has taught me a lot about the complexities of the wine business. The Management Team at wine.com are highly focused, talented, innovative and professional. A company where Management knows it's employees and rewards them for performance. The hardest part of the job is having to deal with the disapointment of an individual not realizing their potential with regards to performance. And yet the most rewarding experience is the teamwork, surpassed only the vision of skids of Product rolling out of the warehouse.
Pros
Trips to wine country. Meeting vineyard personnel.
Cons
Lunch is always cold.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  westbury, nyMarch 19, 2013
Fun environment
Inbound calls
Manager assist you
Irate customers were the hardest, but if you know how to keep them calm your work day will go smoothly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Rewarding Environmennt
Customer Service Fulfillment (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCSeptember 10, 2012
“…developed ability to work in a fast-paced atmosphere
“…communicate daily with vendors, members and lenders
“..inventory tracking and file maintenance
Pros
flexibility
Cons
none curently
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace always changing.
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Garden City, NYAugust 20, 2012
-Receive inventory, allocate and generate orders, pick pack and ship.

-Problem evaluation and solving, priceless management skills.

-Helpful, knowledgeable but content w/ business model.

-Co-workers were usually on the same page keeping things running smoothly.

-Getting upper management to change certain businesses policies.

-Managers meetings where accomplishments and problem solving issues were discussed and recognized.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was the original Wine.com not the current one
Senior Support Engineer (Former Employee) –  Napa, CAJuly 5, 2012
The company was interesting as the staff worked their butts off and at the beginning non-monetary benefits were great. Management was really lost, hence the "merger between Wine Shopper and Wine.com and the bankruptcy less than 12 months later.

If better management had be in place I believe the original company would still be in place. The site was always busy and the staff were a great group to work with.

If you really wanted you could learn about wine and supply chain operations.
Pros
free lunches, wine education, great team spirit
Cons
management were from typical wine industry and had no clue about the internet
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun productive place too work
package handler (Former Employee) –  Maplewood, NJMarch 22, 2012
it was a great place to work but slow and un organized when it come to the manager it took a long time for me to get my check
Pros
overtime pay is lovely
Cons
manager wasnt always on poiny
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Wine.com. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.9