Winn Dixie Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good position to have while attending school
Floral Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort Pierce, FLOctober 13, 2017
Management is easy to communicate with. Hours went by quickly due to fast pace of work. Rewarding position. Variety of work duties, tuition assistance a big plus.
Pros
Store discounts
Cons
Low wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a great company to work with.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Daytona Beach, FLOctober 13, 2017
This was a great company to work with. However, The hours were not as many as I needed. When I got offered another job, I did not think it twice and had to quit this one.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good starting job
Center Store Area Manager (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLOctober 13, 2017
good place to start but not good for long term career, company doesn't care about it's employees or customers only their bottom line profits.management has poor customer relations and they expect too much out of one employee, everyone is stretched too thin
Pros
will hire anyone
Cons
company is unstable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
place to work
Produce Associate (Current Employee) –  Daytona Beach, FLOctober 13, 2017
it is fun to work there. they are friendly and will work around your schedule and do what best for you. the manager are so relax toward my school and work around there with me
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Avondale, LAOctober 12, 2017
Customers were very disrespectful towards cashiers. Also, Managers take forever to service. Cashiers had attitudes, too. Hot lunch was cold. And , never cleaned bathrooms.
Pros
Health care, and free lunch during meetings
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Friendly Work atmosphere
Service Lead FT (Former Employee) –  Brooksville, FLOctober 12, 2017
I enjoyed working in customer service. I enjoy working with my peers and helping my customers. I learned how to work with different cultural individuals with different mind sets. My past job had a diverse work culture and I learned from everyone I've worked with in the past. The hardest part of the job is remembering to be empathetic and not sympathetic to everyones needs. The most enjoyable part of my job was seeing my customer leave happy.
Pros
friendly environment
Cons
christmas day store hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Deli Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLOctober 11, 2017
It's an ok company to work, but they are slowly closing stores and rearranging stores to compete with other retailers. Customer service is always good though bc the company wants the best customer experience a customer can get. Most departments are lack of employees bc of the kind of people they hire and retail is a revolving door for a lot of employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Bakery Staff (Former Employee) –  Northport, ALOctober 11, 2017
At my store in Northport at least, the management team were the best that I have seen in any previous work place. The management team and the people in the department I worked in, really cared about anyone who was brought on. I felt more like family than an employee.

A typical day can range from slow and steady to fast paced. There are a set of things to do in your department along with helping customers and sometimes that can get hectic if the store gets really busy. But even on the busiest day, it is not more than one person to handle. I enjoyed the challenge and learned a lot about customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Winn Dixie
Manager Trainee (Former Employee) –  Naples, FLOctober 11, 2017
Started during my high school years. kept working full time and was promoted to stock clerk then to meat dept and started my training for manager trainee. I was drafted and return after 2 years to the same store and position. Made assistant manager but then decided to go to the University of Florida to get my teaching degree
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Inverness, FLOctober 11, 2017
They only have one tech and one pharmacists working so they have to rely on the tech for a lot. It is fast paced and can sometimes be stressful. you have to be able to multi task .
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Tech has a lot of responsibility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Winn Dixie?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe and friendly environment
Stocker (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAOctober 10, 2017
Winn Dixie is a great place to work! It’s a safe environment the team is friendly? I’ll recommend anyone to work join the team!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Pros
Nice
Cons
Needs raise
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Beverly Hills, FLOctober 10, 2017
Stressful place to work. Management not helpful in everyday tasks.
Most employees are part time with average of 15 hrs a week at minimum wage. Very poor training to new hires.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Winn Dixie
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLOctober 10, 2017
Winn Dixie was an okay place to work, if you are a child or younger. they don't pay very well. Nice benefit and insurance package. Paid holidays and vacations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very strict work schedule
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Cocoa, FLOctober 10, 2017
Usually my day was on a pretty tight schedule because I mainly worked nights which meant the deli had to be cleaned, prepped, and restocked for the next day. I learned how to be time efficient when having to stick to a schedule an have everything done within the time of your shift. The management at Winn-Dixie was overall very good but our deli manager specifically was very unorganized and hard to follow. I'd have to say the hardest part of my job was working with some of the other employees who didn't like to actually do there jobs, so then ultimately that would put me behind schedule of getting the deli shut down and ready for the next day. I loved this job, working with the customers was definitely the best part. We had a couple of regulars that would come in every couple days that would just make your day by having small talk with them while you were handling their orders. I.E. slicing meat and cheese or getting fried chicken or our pre-made salads packaged up, weighed, and priced for them.,
Pros
Getting the free extra chicken at the end of the day.
Cons
Working with other employees who didn't do their jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Product Palcement
Overnight Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLOctober 10, 2017
Standard experience coupled with the steady flow of customers permitted a calm yet constant flow of work. Good co-workers and helpful supervisors were much appreciatted
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitor of Publix
Customer Service / Cashier (Former Employee) –  West Palm Bch, FLOctober 10, 2017
This company I worked for when I just turned 18. It was one of the stores that ended up shutting down a year after i started working there. It wasn't a serious job for me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Winn-Dixie
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Cocoa, FLOctober 10, 2017
This was a decent first-time job. I worked part-time as a stocker and it was my job to stock the shelves and keep the aisles clean. I got along with my coworkers and managers and had no issues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going place to work.
Dairy - Grocery Stocker (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLOctober 10, 2017
Wonderful employers with even greater employees. A very great balanced place to work. The culture is awesome. Family orientated. Great opportunities of Advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company/Struggling Business
Store Director (Former Employee) –  Anniston, ALOctober 10, 2017
I really enjoyed working for this company. The company had been bought out and there were constant rumors of stores closing and job cuts. I left for that reason.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Time At Winn Dixie
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLOctober 9, 2017
While employed, I worked in almost every department. Management was terrible and they did not want to give raises. I left the company for better opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Winn Dixie. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 4,308 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5