Find companies:
Winona Health
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15 reviews

Winona Health Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working in the OR
LPN/Scrub Nurse (Former Employee), Winona, MNJune 26, 2014
Wish I never had to leave this job. Loved working in the OR. The surgeons were extremely capable. Peers were supportive both professionally and personally.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EXCELLENT
Transcriptionist (Current Employee), WINONA, MNJune 20, 2014
Nice place to work. Friendly people. Some flexibility in hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A failing organization
Office Professional (Former Employee), Winona, MNMay 29, 2014
Pros: cafe on site
Cons: wage increase are unlikely
The job was enjoyable because I had great co-worker's. We worked great as a team. Some staff in management rule by bullying and it's tolerated which is unfortunate. Performance reviews went away several years ago so now the only news staff get in writing is bad news (write ups or lay off notices).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lost potential
Emergency Room Technician (Current Employee), Winona, MNMay 15, 2014
Cons: undervalued
Winona Health has a great facility but could do so much better. It is sad that managers are not present and believe everything is okay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved coworkers, management not so much
Jack of all trades (Former Employee), Urgent CareMay 9, 2014
Pros: great coworkers
Cons: horrible management
Loved my job,the patients and coworkers...fun department with a lot of team playing. That being said the general atmosphere was poor, management does not manage they rule, poor communication your input is not appreciated, always concentrates on the negative. No personality pretty sure I never saw my manager smile. She couldn't even stop by just to see – more... how your doing...made you feel unappreciated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy the residents
Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Winona, MinnesotaApril 7, 2014
Enjoy the residents, some of the staff is very petty. Co-workers are lazy and make you do the majority of the work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast-paced workplace with exemplary staff
Watkins Manor Food Service Worker (Former Employee), Winona, MinnesotaFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: paid time-off, free holiday meals
My work at Watkins Manor was one of the most fulfilling jobs I'd ever had. My tasks included stocking the food cart with refrigerated items to bring upstairs, taking menu orders and carrying them out, responding to any resident requests, and cleaning and sanitizing all the dishes at the end of the meal. I learned how to run the heavy-duty dish washer, – more... where utensils belonged and how to set up the kitchen/dishroom for the morning shift, became familiar with some kitchen equipment, and how to be an effective service worker. I absolutely loved spending time with my co-workers, everyone was friendly, helpful, and happy to be there at Watkins. The most challenging moments were the rushes in-between the first wave of residents and the second. At those times, there were residents coming and going and we had to clear up their places quickly as possible and set the tables again. It was the urgency of those times that I found most overwhelming, although it was manageable. This job provided me with experience servicing the elderly and working in such a happy environment. I looked forward to working with my co-workers and enjoyed visiting with the residents, while also fulfilling their requests to their satisfaction. As a food service worker, I was allowed opportunities to work in a team setting, interact with the residents, and discover my desire to continue working in assisted care. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Behavioral Medicine
LPN/ Behavioral Medicine Inpatient (Former Employee), Winona, MNSeptember 17, 2013
Every day coming to work I would have no idea what to expect.
I enjoyed teaching patients medication monitoring, how to set up appointments and actually attend appointments.
The most enjoyable part was when patients condition was stable to see them want to get better, and the excitement they felt when they would accomplish the next step in their life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Facilities
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Winona, MNSeptember 7, 2013
Pros: good facilities
Cons: inconsiderate scheduling
Although they have good working facilities, they are not very considerate with your schedule. I was a student and they kept trying to schedule my shift hours over my classes, even after I gave them my class schedule, and then expected me to find someone to cover for me. It got to frustrating that I ended up quitting to finish school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There is great amount of turn over
LPN Staff Nurse (Current Employee), Winona, MNJuly 18, 2013
Pros: good retirement
Cons: over expectation of theaccomplishments of one nurse
Over expectations of the duties of one nurse for the condition of the res. that are admitted
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hostile environment
nurse (Former Employee), acute careApril 17, 2013
Cons: to many to list
Culture is toxic at this facility. Too small for any type of professional growth. Entitled management who have lost the core values of serving a community. Unfortunate to say the least.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff and residents but difficult environment.
Assistant Director of Nursing (Former Employee), Winona, MNApril 7, 2013
Pros: great staff who truly care about what they do everyday, residents who brighten your life everyday.
Cons: culture changes with focus being pulled away from healthcare.
My co workers and the residents were wonderful. But in the time I was employed there I saw many culture changes and unfortunately most were not good. LEAN management is being implemented and although there are some benefits from this style of business not all parts of it work in healthcare because it was designed for manufacturing. There has been lots – more... of turn over of staff. The LEAN thought process is to empower the staff but the staff were not being listened to and the changes created increased work in an area where there was too much to do already. It is a very rewarding job and as I said the staff and residents are amazing but my overall opinion is not a positive one at this time. This role has way too many responsibilities to be completed in an average 40 hour work week and often required taking work home or working OT for free since it was in the past a salaried role. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with busy and slow periods
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Winona, MNMarch 25, 2013
A typical day at work started with cleaning and stocking patient rooms, filling oxygen tanks, escorting patients to the bathroom, educating patients on the proper UA procedure, sending the UA to the lab and charting characteristics of the urine. Some days I would perform CPR on patients and I would perform crutch training. I had nice coworkers. The – more... hardest part of my job at Winona Heath was dealing with death of patients. The most enjoyable part of my job was the feeling you get when you save somebody's life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, wonderful co-workers!
RN Clinic - Family Medicine (Former Employee), Winona, MNNovember 2, 2012
Pros: excellent place to work, want you to succeed, awesome co-worker's
Cons: schedule was only generated a week in advance. hard to plan for days off/vacation time.
My Family Medicine job was most enjoyable because I had great co-worker's amongst me. We worked hard as a team, and maintained great relationships inside and outside the workplace. I was in a tragic Motorcycle accident, in which I was unable to return to work at Winona Health due to time constraints. Staff stepped up, and helped me out through that – more... rough time. PTO was donated to keep me afloat, and they held my job as long as they could in hopes that I could return. I can never thank them enough for what they did for me. Truly, a genuine and loyal place to work. – less