Find companies:
Winston & Strawn LLP
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
11 reviews

Winston & Strawn LLP Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So many good people - gone
Sweathog (Former Employee), Los AngelesJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: friendly staff
Cons: where do i start...
Layoffs layoffs layoffs, whether your work product is good or not, watch out. Doesn't matter. Everyone is looking over their shoulders and wondering who's next. Bureaucracy at its finest, overloaded with mid-management types who enforce processes that are useless, outdated, and mind boggling. This firm needs a serious overhaul if it wants its reputation – more... for excellence back. Inefficiency at its finest. The word seems to be out, even among recruiters, that this firm is not among those on the "recommended" list of places to work any more. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Condescending, Dated, Stale & Lifeless Law Firm
Staff (Former Employee), ChicagoOctober 12, 2013
Pros: compesnation, end-of-year bonus
Cons: lack of forward thinking, dated values, stuck in the past, too many women in charge of staff who cannot get along well with one another
The fact there are separate attorney & employee holiday parties. An attorney-only cafeteria, at which the items are discounted. Hard-nosed, opinionated rotund suburban female-driven Business Development department with lack of ideas, nor willingness to accept new thoughts or ways of doing things. Favoritism reigns, ostracism of new employees common, – more... library-like environment, coworkers barely know one another, more boring the subject matter and attorney personalities is impossible anywhere on earth--the oxygen was let of this firm 50-75 years ago. It's lifeless, energy-starved, and technologically-challenged. It's a death knell to anyone that does not fit their ideal mold. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Glory Days Are Gone!
Legal Secretary (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 14, 2013
Pros: 35 hour workweek, computer training
Cons: culture, layoffs
I worked at another large Chicago law firm prior to joining Winston and it was a very laidback and friendly environment. Employees at that firm worked very well together so projects ran smoothly. I assumed all large law firms were the same. After I joined Winston, I learned I was very wrong about that assumption.

I went into complete culture shock – more... when I joined Winston because my legal secretary co-workers were very snobby, unfriendly and computer illiterate. I got the message that many of them think they are better than you. It was very difficult asking other legal secretaries for information that you needed from them to complete a task because they were not helpful due to their snobbiness. I was treated like an enemy rather than a co-worker.

I agree with the other review that secretarial management needs to be replaced. There is at least one secretary on each floor that is allowed to be employed here but does not have to work. And whenever they have a support staff layoff, I could never understand why secretarial management would choose to keep incompetent legal secretaries but let go the highly qualified legal secretaries. Same goes for attorneys. I have worked for some extremely intelligent, hardworking attorneys over the years and they were asked to leave. No wonder this firm's glory days are fading fast!

Overall, this firm still believes it is THE top Chicago law firm when in reality it is far from the truth. Wake up and smell the coffee, W&S, your glory days are over. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Layoff Capital of Chicago
Legal Secretary (Current Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 5, 2013
Pros: free coffee
Cons: secretarial management, layoffs, favoritism, secretarial teams, secretarial tests
This firm has been having "under the radar" layoffs for the past 8 years and their most recent layoff was this past June 2013. One secretarial supervisor and 15 legal secretaries were laid off. They also closed 3 floors of their Chicago office. This firm is not doing well and the word is getting out because I have been hearing things from people I know – more... that work at the other big Chicago firms.

The firm and secretarial management are horrible. It seems as if no one knows what they are doing. I strongly feel that they should replace the entire secretarial management team. We rarely, if ever, see our secretarial supervisor yet come annual review time, she reviews us and her review affects our raises and bonuses. How can someone I barely see nor do I work for accurately evaluate me? I consistently get high marks from the attorneys I work for but my supervisor gives me low marks and when I question her why she gave me low marks, her responses never make sense. There have been some years I have not received a raise or bonus and I'm positive it is due to my secretarial supervisor's review.

They have secretarial teams here that DO NOT WORK! There are feuds going on between the secretaries on every floor of this firm because there are too many lazy people that work here. There are two types of legal secretaries here: the lazies and the doormats. The doormats are doing the lazies work for them. And the lazies are usually very friendly with secretarial management which is why they get away with not working.

I would not recommend anyone work here, attorney or legal secretary, because the firm has let go a good number of very outstanding and hardworking attorneys and legal secretaries over the years so they cannot recognize or appreciate talent when they have it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Corporate Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 14, 2013
The skills and values that were fostered at Winston are still with me today: the capability to understand the terms and conditions of finance documents and the structuring of a deal and an unyielding eye towards detail. A typical day featured a mixture of managing various deals that I was working on, responding via phone or at meetings to the requests – more... of clients and supervisors and interacting with the social stream of the firm. The hardest part of the job was the most rewarding, closing a deal that had been weeks in the making. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Winston & Strawn LLP
IT Support Specialist/Desktop Technician (Current Employee), Chicago, ILMay 15, 2013
Pros: i've gained a lot of experience working hands on in the it department
Cons: benefits can a be a bit pricey
Winston and Strawn is an experience that has helped me realize my potential in the technology field. I've learned that a lot of the skills I've learned on my own have been a great help in regards to my experience. And from that I have learned that I have a great love for technology and the office environment. Working in the IT department has confirmed – more... that I have a knowledge of the IT field more than I have realized. I have had the opportunity to speak with users, help troubleshoot issues for configuring machines. As well as learn my way around the front side of Computer configuration. My opportunity and time to work the IT field has been a great eye opener. I now know the direction in which i would like to take for future endeavors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best LawFirm I've ever worked for
Senior Record Center Clerk (Current Employee), Chicago, IllinoisFebruary 27, 2013
Pros: staying in tune with whats going on in the legal world
Cons: attorney's are a very unique group of people
I think Winston & Strawn is an excellant company to work for. My day included constant correspondence with Attorneys and Paralegals assuring that the correct files were sent and retrieved from Offsite Storage (Iron Mountain). I learned a lot from my co-workers. The hardest part of my job was retrieving very old files, the most enjoyable part was coming – more... to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Legal Field
Legal Secretary and Executive Assistant (Former Employee), Washington, DCAugust 21, 2012
Pros: family friendly and advancement
Team oriented and generous in training. Enjoyed working with co-workers and was generously rewarded for performance and team work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chicago's 1st law firm
Attorney Recruitment Project Coordinator (Former Employee), Chicago, IllinoisJune 5, 2012
Pros: hiring from within, wonderful people, great recruiting manager
Cons: very "political"
Worked at W&S for six years and developed great relationships and experienced several facets in recruiting and with the firm.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & really nice workplace
Account Payables Clerk (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMay 6, 2012
Pros: free coffee, tea, soup, etc
Cons: excellent healthcare, dental & eye benefits
• Responsible for processing vendor bills for weekly mailings and following up with vendors, secretaries, attorneys, etc. regarding requests on status of vendor bills or personal reimbursements.
• Consists of heavy data entry and filing of vendor and personal reimbursements for all departments with the Firm.
• Responsible for processing Petty Cash through – more... CMS Accounting software system for the Chicago, Charlotte, New York, Washington, D.C. and Los Angeles Offices.
•Match and Mail Vendor to pouch out checks to various corporate offices
•Knowledge of General Ledger
•Knowledge of Company policy and procedures.
• Special projects as assigned by my manager – less