Find companies:
Winston-Salem State University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
24 reviews

Winston-Salem State University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Membership Sales Associate (Former Employee), Winston-Salem, NCJune 18, 2014
It was a great pleasure serving my University through fitness and leisure recreations. A day-in-the-life of UREC, as we call it, is usuallya good one. We were a family that learned that you work as hard you play. w
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fd
Representative (Former Employee), Winston-Salem, NCJune 4, 2014
Very unprofessional!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect place if you have a love for students
Mobile Clinic Coordinator (Former Employee), Winston-Salem, NCMay 21, 2014
Cons: lack of communication
If you have a love for students, this university needs you. Depending upon the department of placement, administration may or may support and back their faculty and staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace, great employees in my deparment
BOSS (Building Outstanding Student Success) Mentor (Former Employee), Winston-Salem NCMarch 13, 2014
It was productive and very interesting workplace. I enjoyed the workplace because of the interaction between me and the students. I learned how to become more responsible and respectful. The management was very helpful with me and everybody else.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Internship (Former Employee), Winston-Salem, NCJanuary 15, 2014
A great atmosphere where you stay busy but have fun at the same time making sure you meet the goals set for the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A business oriented position with a collegiate environment
Spanish Tutor (Former Employee), Winston-Salem, NCJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: self-made schedules, great management and advisory council
Cons: fluctuating office hours, limited benefits packages based on student aid.
One of the greatest advantages of working as a student aid at the university is being able to build my own schedule. This schedule does have its limitations, considering it is based on student aid. As a student/employee of Winston-Salem State University, I learned how to maintain a decent work schedule while still developing the necessary time to study – more... and complete classwork. Time management skills became a great trait that I still apply until this moment. As a spanish tutor, my manager was my academic advisor. Work performance was not only based on how I exceeded in class, but also by how well my colleagues performed after being provided my assistance. The results were consistently satisfactory. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Goal Oriented
Student Activities Intern and Event Coordinator (Current Employee), Winston-Salem, NCJanuary 3, 2014
Pros: interaction with students, great welcoming environment
I've worked with Winston-Salem State University as an intern, off an on, since the Summer 2012. I greatly appreciate how I am able to excel and they give me a chance to prove myself and my work ability with more responsibility. I began working with Ms. Sandra Young, the coordinator for the room facilities for different events. I basically was an office – more... assistant and participated in receptionist type of work. Beginning the summer of 2013, I have been working with the Student Activity department, under the Assistant Director for planning and coordinating events throughout the school year. This opportunity has really opened my eyes on what I am able to do and my deep interest for event coordinating and planning. I also work and assist the Greek and Coronation Director and Event Coordinator. I appreciate every day I that I am able to help them. One of my biggest projects was to assist and coordinate a retreat for the top five organizations during the summer. There was a lot of pressure because I wanted to do my best and that is what I was able to do. It was a lot of responsibility, but I truly learned so much, such as following up with different vendors and being able to be open to new idea. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day
Tech Support Assistant (Current Employee), Winston-Salem, NCJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: great learning experience
Answer 30 to 40 phone calls about problems people may have with there computer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Handling Emergencies efficiently
Telecommunications Dispatcher (Current Employee), Winston-Salem, NCNovember 25, 2013
Pros: the excitement of being able to help others out when they are in need.
Cons: no healthcare benefits for part-time workers, no benefits at all.
Typically, I arrive 15 minutes prior to starting my shift for debriefing-learning about what occurred during the previous shift. I log on to the software used for the officers and use a walkie-talkie to provide information for emergency calls such: a name, location, nature of the situation at hand, etc. I use this information to determine which emergency – more... unit needs to be dispatched to handle the call. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational and fun place to work.
Supplemental Instruction Coordinator (Former Employee), Winston-Salem, NCNovember 12, 2013
Pros: intellectually challenging work environment
Cons: seasonal part-time employment - non-tenured
Very team-oriented and student centered environment. Focused on increasing retention and graduation rates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to get experience as a chemist around good people.
Researcher/ Chemist (Former Employee), Winston-Salem, NCAugust 23, 2013
My job at Winston-Salem State University was a great experience. While working there I learned different techniques that I can use at the next level. I became very comfortable and proficient in using the instrumentation that is used in most top notch chemical labs. My co-workers and boss were easy to work with. Overall it was a good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Graphic Design Specialist (Internship Course) (Former Employee), Winston-Salem, NCJuly 30, 2013
Worked in a class environment with other students to put together a business plan and put on a talent showcase. No pay as this was an internship course.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Higher Education
Instructor (Current Employee), Winston-Salem, NCJuly 23, 2013
Managed biodynamics research laboratory. Learned the importance of time management. Had the opportunity to grow and expand my skills in data analysis and interpretation. Learned the fundamental concepts of computer programming and was able to apply those skills on several projects in the lab.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Students Makes this Place
Lecturer / Research Associate (Former Employee), Winston-Salem, NCJune 7, 2013
While I was not fond of being in Winston-Salem, the students there made me enjoy teaching all over again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Campus Environment
Coordinator of Student Orgs/Budget Manager (Current Employee), Winston SalemMay 31, 2013
Great Campus Environment and wonderful Students
Work days 8 to 5
Management is Okay
Coworkers are wonderful
Hardest part is seeing the students you have known graduate
Working with the students
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't Do It!
Associate Professor (Current Employee), Winston Salem, NCMay 3, 2013
Pros: high salaries
Cons: all of the things mentioned in the review.
Winston Salem State University is a campus bubbling with potential and promise that will likely never be realized. There is a tremendous amount of politics at play in administration, misappropriation, outright theft and glowing incompetence, which are all products of a new good ole boy system. Good people are consistently let go or leave after being – more... consistently passed over, while people that have committed theft and harassment are promoted. Morale is low, and the students by-in-large could care less. The alumni is at odds with the administration as well is the system office. The school is facing repayment of funds given declining enrollment, and male retention is a joke. The campus is again becoming a playground for local crime, and the quality of education is poor. I always say, the measure of the school at which you work, is whether you would send your own child. The answer is a resounding "no"! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love to teach
Medical Technologist (Former Employee), Winston-Salem, NCApril 10, 2013
Pros: love to teach
Cons: long hours
I taught clinical chemistry to Medical Technology student.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning more about computers and building costumer service
Customer Service (Former Employee), Winston-Salem, NCDecember 24, 2012
Trouble shooting problems with computers answering phone calls actually puting computers together. Building my computer knowledge working with other with a high level of experience on computers while working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Administrative/Office Specialist III (Former Employee), Winston-Salem, NCDecember 19, 2012
It taught me skills to continue in the Administrative field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardwork
Campus Ambassador (Former Employee), Winston-Salem, NCAugust 9, 2012
Learn various skills within the company and use them to real life.