Find companies:
Wireless Zone
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
27 reviews

Wireless Zone Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to gain experience
Assistant mgr/Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Norwalk, CTMay 29, 2014
Good company to gain experience. the room for advancement has increase seeing that its a growing company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unorganized work place
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Hackettstown, NJMay 29, 2014
people were great but they under paid and the workspace was always cluttered
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow but fun with a good group of people.
Sales Rep (Former Employee), Laplace, LAMay 5, 2014
Most of my days at work were very slow. It wasn't very many people coming in the store with so much other competition around. I spent most of my days making sure the store was correct and clean for our customers. I learn a lot of management skills. I already knew about phones and how to present the products to people. Ones the manager and all the workers – more... quit, I had to run the store alone for 3 months. I trained workers and managers along the way. All of my coworkers were very good people. They worked hard and together my entire experience. The hardest part about my job was bringing in customers. Because the competition was so high and our advertising was bad, we had a hard time getting the public to buy from us. So the company shut a lot of the stores down. The most enjoyable part was just being at work. I'm so fascinated by phones and technology being at work was like being home. I love being around people making them smile so putting those 2 together is like giving me cake and letting me eat it too. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good commission, room for advancement
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Torrington, CTMay 3, 2014
Pros: commission is good. trainings and gas mileage is paid for/reimbursed
Cons: not much traffic comes to the store and the fact it is not corporate limits business.
The company is a premium retailer of Verizon. The days drag unless it is holiday season. You have to have a social and confident attitude. You also have to have a knowledge of all the products and services.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company to work for
Executive Assistant (Current Employee), Norwich, CTApril 5, 2014
Payroll, A/P, A/R, Customer Service, Marketing, Sales. Co workers and owner of company are all great people to work with. Enjoy working here
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional environment
Retail Sales Agent (Former Employee), Waterford, MIApril 4, 2014
Cons: many
Not a good work experience. Management was not customer-oriented and lacked fundamental knowledge of the wireless industry. There was no goal-setting from management. Management would come and go as they pleased, or fail to even open the store on time- often inconveniencing staff. Compensation was below industry average.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady
Sales Agent (Former Employee), Lafayette, LAFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: hour long lunch
Cons: no employee discounts on phone bill
a typical day at wireless zone is helping customer with paying a bill or activating a new account
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small store, Small crew, Family business.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Conroe, TXFebruary 5, 2014
Open store, Cold calls, Review the latest in Cell Phone Tech. Give lessons on how to use android smart phones. Cell phone troubleshooting and/or Maintenance. Setting up new accounts. Hardest part was getting to every client that walked in.
The release of the Motorola Droid and HTC Droid, or Christmas for the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, challenging, but rewarding place to work.
Sales Associate-Store Manager (Former Employee), North Windham, CTJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: great people and great environment
Cons: limited breaks, with long days
We had great owners who rewarded those who worked hard but found replacements for those that didn't live up to the standards created by the management team and owners. Longer days, like most sales, but more lucrative then similar jobs in the same field by different companies. Most importantly it was a great learning experience, and gave me a great opportunity – more... to learn how to deal in stressful situations and my own potential. Very positive experience overall. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced and closed after only 4 months of being there
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Plainfield, CTDecember 8, 2013
Pros: wonderful co-workers
Cons: slow and eventually closed down
was a very slow paced business. Spent many hours just trying to find things to do. But when there was business was basically just customers paying cell phone bills or changing there cellular plans. I sold only a few cell phones.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
owner sold his store
Verizon Wireless Sales Agent (Former Employee), buffalo, nyNovember 23, 2013
Wireless zone is a franchise with several different owners, my locations owner is no longer in the business
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive store with several locations and many opportunities
Sales Manager (Former Employee), Hornell, NYOctober 24, 2013
Pros: fast paced environment great pay
Cons: somewhat stressful at times
I very much enjoyed working for Wireless Zone. It was fast paced, you learned a lot of new stuff and had plenty of opportunity to advance in the field of sales and management. I learned how to work on several different systems, and how to multi task. It was very competitive which kept all the employees on their toes. We would have different goals to – more... meet each week, and sometimes contests to drive up sales. There were several different locations to choose from and I had a great time working there. I miss the job. Hardest part was leaving, and moving away. Most enjoyable, rewarding and an honest days work – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the Best Place to work
Sales (Former Employee), Burlington, MASeptember 13, 2013
Pros: na
Cons: na
The Wireless Zone has very little training and support for new employees. Within two months of working there I had already realized that there was no room for advancement and the salary promises that were made were unrealistic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Job at Wireless Zone
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Odessa, FLSeptember 2, 2013
Pros: great hours
Cons: not enough business
Day to day I was responsible for helping with employee scheduling and bank deposits. As well as training new employees and running bi-monthly smartphone seminars for new customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive workplace selling Verizon Products
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Brewster, NYAugust 1, 2013
Pros: having the understanding of how cell phones and cell phone service plans worked.
Cons: there wasn't many advancements available.
Typical Day:
- Open the store, insure store is supplied properly, and the store is clean.
- Use computer systems to uncover the best products for each customer.
-Troubleshoot any issues with phones before sending the phones out for repair,
- Handle customer complaints and concerns.
- Handle any customer payments and purchases.
- Create contract for – more... cell phone service.

I learned many things about how to troubleshoot cell phones and what could happen to them.

My management team was very well organized which made day to day activities easy

My co-workers were easy to get along with which made daily activities easier because we would work as a team.

The hardest part of my job was when an irate customer would enter the store with a broken phone, no insurance, and no older phones. This was resolved either by making a call to Verizon and moving an upgrade forward or finding them another phone they could outright purchase within their budget.

The most enjoyable part of my job was properly pairing a customer with the correct cell phone and cell phone plan. They would leave with a smile and then come back at a later time and tell me how much they loved their phone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company in a fast paced environment
Sales Manager (Current Employee), Tri-State AreaJuly 9, 2013
A typical day working in the wireless industry involves helping customers solve their wireless needs while motivating and driving the sales team to achieve our company goals. My responsibilities in a management role involve leading my team to success while providing them with the proper tools to exceed expectations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with the best
Cell Phone Sales Associate (Former Employee), Colchester, CTFebruary 9, 2013
Great People, Great Place. Tons of opportunities to help people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good learning enviroment
WIRELESS SALES CONSULTANT (Former Employee), Danbury, CTJanuary 31, 2013
Pros: great clientel
Cons: only one day off
I would usually work an open to close shift 9am to 8pm. I learned to be more confident and secure when talking to customers. Great co workers that would always assist in case of any trouble processing transactions. The hardest part about the job was honestly only having one day off, it was very stressful working more than a manager and taking most of – more... the responsibilities of management. I had built great relationships with my customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative and fun work enviroment, Poor compensation and benefits
Store Manager (Current Employee), United StatesDecember 3, 2012
Pros: discounts on equipment; every day is different so it is exciting, exposure to the latest in wireless technology
Cons: no benefits, poor compensation, communication from management is fair at best.
Wireless Zone is a independently owned Verizon Wireless Premium retailer that offers a fun and creative atmosphere through communication with customers seeking the latest in wireless technology (i.e. Smartphones, tablets, mobile internet). Each day is different - some days there will be customers seeking information about tablets / Smartphones, while – more... other days there will be customers wanting to find out about the latest accessories available for mobile devices. There is a great competitive team atmosphere where everyone works together to be more successful. The toughest part of this job is balancing inventory management / ordering with customer demand, while the most rewarding part of this job is matching customer needs with the latest in wireless technology. The problem with this position is that the base pay has not changed in years and the commission structure is very low compared to industry standards. Furthermore other than paid vacation time, the company offers no health insurance, no retirement plan, and a discount off mobile phones. Recently, management cut the base pay of new sales associates to just above minimum wage - while leaving the meager commission structure unchanged. Sales Associates are expected to balance customer service, sales, and the maintenance of secure information for pay that has now been reduced to well below the federal poverty level. This position requires technical aptitude, sales and customer service skills and now management reduced the compensation; a cashier at McDonald's makes more money per hour than a Sales Associate at Wireless Zone. Management is overly concerned with short term profit verses long term growth and profitability. If upper management increased the commission structure and provided benefits to senior sales associates and managers, there would be higher quality people working and the company would vastly increase its overall profitability. This is a great position if you enjoy working with technology, and a team environment. If,however, you are an established salesperson or retail professional, the lack of benefits and poor compensation are extremely disappointing and may cause you to look elsewhere for employment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Fredericksburg, VaNovember 15, 2012
Pros: educational.
Cons: benefits wernt great
Working here was fun, loved being able to meet new people everyday! Great boss!