Find companies:
Woods Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
38 reviews

Woods Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High School Part 2
Assistant Director of Food and Nutrition (Current Employee), Langhorne, PaJuly 28, 2014
Pros: free lunches, weekends and holidays off, latest workday is until 6:00 pm.
Cons: high school atmosphere, staff are allowed 12 call outs before they are even reprimanded, bad mouthing of management
- Overall Woods is great for what it does for people with special needs.
- Business wise they do not pay great.
- A typical work day plays out like it would in high school. It could be likened to a soap opera.
- Management does not work well together.
- Most of my co workers like to choose sides and try to stab you in the back the best way they can. – more... I have a few that are thoughtful and are there to work like myself.
- The hardest part of my job is just the willingness to show up everyday knowing that the job you once enjoyed has all but disappeared.
- The most enjoyable part of my job is knowing that we are here to support individuals who are less fortunate then we are. I also like that I can interact with those individuals on a daily basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business organization is strong
Secretary (Former Employee), Langhorne, PAMay 27, 2014
Pros: free lunches, able to walk from building to building freely or as needed.
Cons: co-workers to co-worker - work environment difficult.
Business organization is strong, management strong, co-worker to co-worker pressure and stress.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great support system
Program Specialist (Current Employee), Langhorne, PAMarch 25, 2014
A typical day is making phone calls to agencies, families and school districts. In addition to writing Individual Service Plans, compiling data collection and filling out paper work for manage care facilities. Co-workers are supportive and eager to help when needed along with management staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Client Care Worker (Former Employee), Langhorne, PAJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: good pay. free lunches
Cons: heavy lifting
enjoyed working for this company. learned how to work and cope with the mentally challenge. Best part was learning a helping hand and seeing them smile.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Place!!
Residential counselor (Former Employee), Langhore PAJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: overtime, benefits
Cons: mangement awful, no employee loyalty
Woods is a wonderful place for residents however the staff are treated poorly!! if you need a paycheck this is the place for you, however do not plan a life around this job i.e home purchase, buying a car, raising a family they will fire you without hesitation, staff that have been working there for 20-30 years have been fired without warning they care – more... absoultely NOTHING!! about you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's okay for the most part..just OKAY
Residential Counselor (Current Employee), Langhorne, PANovember 21, 2013
Pros: client interaction, overtime availability, paid meals, trips
Cons: no room for advancement, high turnover rate, low wages, favoritism, chaos
Working with the clients isn't the problem. That part of the job is fun but the pay is low compared to other companies and sometimes you have to go way above and beyond when dealing with the clients behaviors. Also, some supervisors show a lot of favoritism. The hours also suck, well mines does but i guess theres nothing you can do about it. it interferes – more... with my family life. Co workers are okay but there can be tons of gossip and drama going on too. Also, Woods Services is well known for their high turnover rate. You can get written up for any and everything. if you get hired as a RC, make sure you document everything and just do your job and go home. dont try to make friends because as soon as something happens between you two, they plot to have you fired. i've seen all of this during my 2 years here. Overtime is always available which is a plus and traveling and interacting with your clients is fun. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace a real learning experience
Residential Counselor (Former Employee), Langhorne, PAOctober 16, 2013
Job duties include:

- Maintain the cleanliness clients living space
- Engage the clients in different stimulating activities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable setting for staff and residents
Residential Counselor (Former Employee), Langhorne, PASeptember 20, 2013
Great place to work if you are not looking for advancement. This was one of my most enjoyable jobs because I built a bond with the residents and the staff were very helpful and supportive. It was very far away from home when I had to rely on public transportation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AWESOME PLACE TO WORK.
HABILITATION INSTRUCTOR (Former Employee), Langhorne, PASeptember 10, 2013
Pros: free food, frre laughs, free hugs, free smiles, and some free tears as well
Cons: no breaks
THIS IS A GREAT PLACE TO WORK IF YOU ARE PASSIONATE ABOUT HELPING PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Woods Services is a wonderful place to work
Vocational Instructor (Current Employee), Langhorne, PASeptember 4, 2013
Pros: job security
Cons: must work overtime to meet up with your bills.
Working at woods is outstanding. I learned that the little things we have do matters, and we must thank God for them. The management is ok, my supervisor is excellent. my co-workers are like the same anywhere, most jobs now you must learn to get along with others. Know their likes, and dislikes. the hardest part is to not be appreciated, but the most – more... enjoyable part was spending time with my clients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very nice environment to work and the clients are loveable.
Habilitation Instructor (Current Employee), Langhorne, PAAugust 22, 2013
Pros: getting to know the clients.
Cons: no job security
My typical day at Woods is to coordinate, schedule, and facilitate activities for physically, and psychologically challenged individuals, I've learned that everyday is a learning experience not one day is the same as the last. Management, and co-workers they are very compassionate and caring, making it a family oriented environment. The hardest part – more... of the job is when a client has to go to the hospital because of an illness. I most enjoy working with the clients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Residential Counselor (Former Employee), Langhorne, PAAugust 17, 2013
Pros: alot of overtime
A typical day would consist of reviewing the clients chart working on the specific goals designated for the client. Working on ADLS if needed. And at the end of the day documenting the outcome of that days objective. Nothing was complicated about the job. I really enjoyed taking care of the clients and their needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1
Client care worker (Former Employee), Langhorne PaAugust 13, 2013
Enjoyed working with residents learn alot from residents and thur nursing department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
energetic co-workers, loveable clients
Teachers aide (Current Employee), langhorne, PAAugust 11, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: no breaks, low pay
when the clients arrive at school we do toileting if needed. Depending on clients learning ability (vocational or high functioning reading & writing) we do morning meeting prepare goal work and follow the daily program. co-workers are very friendly. The hardest part of this job is 3:1 ration with only wheel chair clients. The most enjoyable part of – more... this job is seeing your client accomplish a new task as hard as it was they still accomplished it with a beautiful smile on their face. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for and positive teamwork atmosphere
Program Specialist (Former Employee), Langhorne, PAAugust 2, 2013
Pros: free lunches for each shift, tuition reimbursement, room for advancement
Cons: increased paperwork and depending on others for information in a timely manner
Woods Services is a very unique company providing overall excellent care for the clients they serve. Coworkers are very helpful and knowledgeable about the field and the company. The overall atmosphere is very positive and welcoming.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping impaired children
Residential Caregiver (Former Employee), Langhorne, PAJuly 27, 2013
Pros: friendships made
Cons: long hours
Helping impaired children-adults with day to day living. Becoming a close family when clients own family is not available to be with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place to start and develop an understanding of the challenges in the behavioral community
Residential Counselor (Current Employee), Langhorne, PAJuly 14, 2013
Pros: advancement opportunities, some good co-workers, beautiful campus, cheap benefits
Cons: time consuming, low payrate currently, turnover rate
Woods Services has been a good place to work for the past year. A typical day at Woods has been to clock in, interact with the clients by assisting with personal living and develop routines for clients who need further assistance if they lack the necessary skills. Management for the most part has been good to me. They have been willing to answer any – more... questions I've had in regards to how to better serve the clients. Many of my coworkers are more than willing to assist with crisis situations and are the most colorful bunch to be around. The hardest part of the job is when you deal with clients who are continually physically aggressive and the amount of time the position takes away from your social life. The most enjoyable part of the job has been learning how to interact with the clients and seeing how different each client was. Learning that just because they have an developmental disability does not mean they conform to one way of acting and have feelings too. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
daily activities with different patients
Residential Counselor (Current Employee), Langhorne, PAJuly 9, 2013
depending on the shift typical varies.3- 11 is mostly monitored activities like swimming or gym time. i would just watch them and make sure they are stable and OK. 11-7 they would be sleep. the hardest part about the job is the behaviors because you have to have a allot of patients when dealing with different behavior patterns
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional people fullfilling lives.
Medical Appointment Secretary (Current Employee), Langhorne, PAJuly 8, 2013
Pros: excellent benefits and health packages, paid time off.
Cons: no room for advancement in some positions
Non profit organization that serves special needs. I arrange the medical appointments as well as correspond with transportation to get individuals to various medical off campus appointments as well as assist nursing staff and case managers with essential paperwork needed. I've learned a great deal about various insurance policies and how to obtain referrals, – more... as well as having thorough communication skills between various medical offices/ specialists and guardians. Management is mostly hands on and thorough with what is expected in staff positions as well as guided by strict office policies and procedures. Hardest part of the job is enjoying what I do but I also understand that I cannot advance further and learn more skills or acquire reasonable compensation for years put into company. I thoroughly enjoy meeting and interacting with our residents as well as doing the best I possibly can to help them with their appointments. I treat every appointment as though it is my own and I give every attention to the smallest details presented to me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Residential Counselor (Former Employee), LanghorneMay 29, 2013
This organization offered me the opportunity to serve mental disabled individuals.

About Woods Services

Woods is a leading advocacy and service organization for people with exceptional challenges, disabilities and complex needs. We – Read more