Find companies:
World Duty Free
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
32 reviews

World Duty Free Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly environment in a fast paced area
Supervisor (Former Employee), Sanford, FLJune 20, 2013
Pros: great opportunity to advance
Cons: no set days off
Meet and Greet New customers made daily goal reports and make sure we provided the best customer service skills possible to our customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), Heathrow Terminal 3 London UKDecember 27, 2012
Pros: half price shopping
Cons: non
I have meet new faces every day and enjoy helping them when passenger need assistance.

We have to make sure that we handle foreign currency and give back to passenger the correct money.

Staff are very friendly, we do help managers when flights were delay and passenger need assistance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful, Fun Productive workplace
Retail/Sales/Cashier (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJune 21, 2012
Pros: free items awarded to employees all the time for great performance
Cons: delayed flights
Always busy learned how to be a team player the supervisors were excellent to work for the co-workers were the best in terms of team playing, and training new employees. The hardest part of the job was delayed flights which were unexpected and made for a longer day. The job overall was quite enjoyable in terms of the passengers meeting new people everyday – more... from other countries and helping them to have a wonderful shopping experience before returning home from their vacation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful company to work for no social life, managers treat you appaulingly
Sales executive (Former Employee), LondonOctober 23, 2014
Pros: staff discount
Cons: management and hours
If you think that working for world duty free will be fun, then you are mistaken. Induction is fun, learning a few things about the company, promised you would get the support and respect from management, but when you reach the shop floor you are abandoned. No support is given or training, the management are more interested in gossiping and making staff – more... feel worthless and like they are not capable of their jobs. Working at 4am every day is terrible and to go to work on hardly any sleep to then be disrespected and sworn at by management is just unacceptable. Would not reccomend this company to my worst enemy for even more reasons than stated above just glad I have moved on from this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee), JerseyOctober 20, 2014
Pros: free lunches
I've had a great time at WDF, my co workers are fun to work with.
The most enjoyable part of the job is engaging with different customers every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Shift Manager (Current Employee), HeathrowOctober 16, 2014
Pros: staff shop up to 50% off
Cons: very big management team
Managing staff of 35 which includes, drivers,admin,wtms & temps.

Monthly reviews
KPIs
Daily briefings
Customer focus
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people I worked with where great
Night replen leader (Former Employee), Heathrow, ENGOctober 5, 2014
Pros: people
Cons: the company has no idea in anything they do
Company does not know what they are doing, management have no clue what they are doing, training is a joke you get shown once and that's it nothing to read or go back to,no support left on my own most nights and no-one picked up phones when phoned. Got messed round with shift patten not 3 on 3 off as they said
STAY CLEAR
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Skill adapting customer service role
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee), HeathrowAugust 19, 2014
Pros: amazing discount, great managers/co workers, friendly environment
Cons: shift work is difficult
I have learned to be more confident in the customer service sector. My skills have adapted. The management have trusted me with paperwork for tills and the responsibility of the safe on night shifts. Co workers are amazing fun, help motivate one another during our days of work.
Just giving the customers a great service and providing what they need makes – more... us happy as we are a customer service based role and just want to deliver the best we can. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast and varied workplace
sales advisor (Former Employee), bristol airportJuly 27, 2014
Pros: discounted goods, training on different sections
Cons: early hours
Would start at 3.00am and would serve customers and stock shelves also i was a key holder so would sort out breaks and run the shop when team leader off.The management would come in later but the shop was usually run by team leaders. I had some lovely co- workers who i have stayed in touch with since leaving. Because you start so early you need to have – more... a outgoing approach towards other staff and customers has we are the people who can start their holiday off to a good start.The hardest part is the early hours you have to start.As you are meeting a wide and varied passengers coming through the airport everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Warehouse Team Member (Current Employee), EghamJuly 17, 2014
Good place to work, but not for too long. I did enjoy work at World Duty Free, but it didn't gave me opportunities. Everyday is exactly the same, no chance for development.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun at times yet a negative vibe
Customer Sales Assistant (Current Employee), London Gatwick AirportJune 20, 2014
Pros: access to luxury products, staff canteen card, great staff discount.
Cons: very early starts
Start my shift at 4am, I cover beauty counters attending to the needs of customers. advising and helping them make a choice on fragrance, skincare and make up. Also making sales. Promote new products.
I have learnt how to communicate with people from all over the world and different nationalities. Learnt how to work and cope in very busy environments.
Performance – more... from management in my eyes could be a lot better. I feel that there is hardly any duty of care towards employees.
Gossiping is very big amongst colleges and i see it as a form of bullying, but saying that working in the beauty department we work well as a team.
Hardest part for me would be 4am starts.
Enjoyable part i would say is meeting new people every day, working in the beauty department, training sessions, and being able to be the 1st to experience new products. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tiring hours
Perfume and Make-Up Specialist (Former Employee), Stansted, ENGJune 9, 2014
As a sales assistant my job was to promote and sell duty free products in a very busy environment. I was a perfume and make-up specialist and had to reach sales targets daily. I worked in a team to keep sales up and till queues down and prevent stock loss. I was also placed in stores by myself where I had to do regular till checks, cash lifts and stock – more... counting. I exceeded sales targets for certain products were I received praise and awards. I was flexible to different customers and adapted to their characteristics to push sales. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Night Replenishment/Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee), birminghamJune 5, 2014
The work was great I enjoyed what I did. Prefer to speak about work related issues face to face.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely well streamlined and efficient business.
Shift Leader (Current Employee), EghamJune 4, 2014
Pros: 4 on 4 off shiftwork is amazing!!
Cons: long days and sometimes an impossibly heavy workload
Amazingly efficient business. Positive staff and a consistantly busy workload
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for, very people driven.
Replenishment Manager - Nights (Current Employee), London, ENGMay 4, 2014
Pros: salary, bonus, staff parking, staff sales, airport environment
Cons: work / life balance, advancement
There is no typical day at WDF, it is a fast paced airport environment with the sales to match.

There is a wide range of scope for the "typical" day from managing the night operations for a terminal to working on projects (e.g Terminal 2)

I have learned along the way through my time with WDF, the following:

Change management - adapting to change – more... and engaging other to achieve change

Working within a senior team, understanding roles and how they interact with head office functions

My exposure to head office roles, engaging & supporting. Influencing / sharing ideas to deliver growth

Promotional planing - adapting to numerous changes and manpower planning for events

Maintenance - running terminal maintenance & working with 3rd party contractors

My Co-workers - I have seen a fair few come and go over the years, however it is about working as a team to deliver the end result. It is also building a support network and not being afraid to say help when you need it.

The hardest part of the of the job, I would have to say is the work / life balance

The most enjoyable part of the job is it is never the same day twice, always something different. I take satisfaction when my team have delivered above expectations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average place of work
CUSTOMER SERVICE / MERCHANDISING ASSISTANT (Current Employee), London HeathrowApril 16, 2014
Pros: good staff discount and excellent pay.
Cons: unsociable hours
A Typical day of work would involve customer interaction until store closes. Greet passenngers, establish a connection and offer them help. Help varies fom helping customers locate certain products, helping them find things they are unsure of with open questions and by exploting your own personal product knowlege, providing them with information about – more... their allowances according to where they are travelling and just assisting generally in their store experience. After store hours unpacking and replenishing delivery, implenting any promotional displays and planograms, making a note of missing products and chasing them up, checking tickets are in place and filling out any forms for damaged or faulty stock.

I have developed extensively in my customer service skills with World Duty Free, through training and personal experience. I able to identify easily purchasing trends and how to approach different types of customers and give them tailored and unbiased advice.
I have explored the creative side of merchandising being involved in creating displays to capture customer attention and launching new fragrance campaigns that are exclusive to World Duty Free.

I work with a hardworking team, who work under a lot of pressure with ease and contribute to the team equally making it enjoyable to work with them, the hardest part however is the job can be quite repetitive letting it become quite dull. There is little chance of advancement as the employee turnover is very minimal in more challenging roles available. But the best part is the fast paced environment and the excellent discount. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice environment to work in
Customer Sales Assistant (Current Employee), Leeds, ENGApril 4, 2014
Pros: good staff discount
Cons: early starts
A typical day at duty free is always a pleasant one, i have learned a lot about selling products and my product knowledge has grown a lot whilst working at duty free. I love meeting new people and when i speak to passengers who are really nice and they appreciate my help then that really makes my day a better one. v
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
Sales and Service Specialist (Current Employee), London, Heathrow terminal 3March 10, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: over analysis before making any decision big or small
the company is a very well run company that is in a constant state of improvement. always concentrating on the customer needs whether its internal or external. i have learnt a lot bieng there and for anyone who wishes to reach a high level in the customer service industry it is a recommended place of work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplae
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee), HeathrowFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: built my self confidence
Cons: not a career
Well planned and organised day ahead. I work with a friendly group of team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
target oriented
Customer Representative (Current Employee), London, ENGJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: get some price deduction on duty free products
Cons: shift timings v early 5.30 am start
meeting and greeting customers
going out of your way to help the customer
learned highest standards of customer service
cash handling ,dealing with all type foreign currencies
management is target oriented and rewarding
co workers are friendly and good team players
hard part of the job is shift work v early morning start at 5.30 am
every moment is enjoyable – more... as its airport and its v happening live – less