WPS Health Insurance Employee Reviews

Showing all 35 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work for
Claims Processor (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIMay 10, 2017
I worked processing claims. My boss and co workers were very supportive. We had department meetings where we discussed anything new, problems and suggestions.
Pros
Friendly environment
Cons
Having to process a certain amount of claims to keep your job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional talent, opaque management
QA Auditor II (Former Employee) –  Wausau, WIApril 27, 2017
Fantastic place to learn the business of insurance and medical coding, et al, but there is a firm and immutable barrier between upper management and regular employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the people I worked with
Credit Balance Analyst (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEApril 10, 2017
I enjoyed working at WPS the short time I was there but unfortunately my job was eliminated there for I had to find employment somewhere else. I answered the phones, opened and sorted the mail, worked in the Medicare FISS system updating credit balance information.
Pros
Good friends
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy - constant changes
Provider Enrollment Analyst (Former Employee) –  Wausau, WIFebruary 27, 2017
A lot of changes within the company. I come from a time where quality is just as important as quality. Manager seem to be overloaded
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall ok
Supervisor and Member Advocate (Former Employee) –  De Pere, WIFebruary 16, 2017
Management could be better, they seem to have clicks and if you aren't in the click you sometimes are oversee for promotions. I also feel they weren't always honest about future plans.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my time there
Client Support Analyst-Administrative Specialist (Former Employee) –  Madison, WINovember 9, 2016
WPS gave me a start after finishing college without needing too much experience. They helped me with that. I would recommend them to any beginner out of school.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Temporary Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Madison, WINovember 5, 2016
Cafeteria, free parking, great people to work with. Worked core hours and some over-time on weekends but not mandatory. Needed license and Management really worked with us to get it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Payment Record Adjuster (Former Employee) –  Wausau, WIJuly 14, 2016
A typical day as a PRA would be starting with adjustments, maybe credits, sending letters....day to day activities will vary.
I learned many types of claim forms and many types of processes.
Management has it's ups and downs.
Co-workers seemed quite satisfied with their jobs
Sitting long hours sometimes had to be hardest part of job.
Most enjoyable part of job was the variety of jobs you can do throughout your work day.
Pros
decent raises, easy documentation to search for info, incentives
Cons
Like any job can have some unpleasant things happen.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great CEO and IT management
Sr IT Support Analyst (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEJuly 12, 2016
This company is and its CEO and IT management have a great vision and plan set out to get better and better everyday. They empower their employees to take control and own their career path.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unimpressed
Unit Coordinator (Former Employee) –  De Pere, WIApril 30, 2016
poor management, company seemed to run like high school and not a business. very devious behavior by management and supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Fast Place to Work
OCR Operator (Former Employee) –  Marion, ILApril 28, 2016
I really enjoyed the work that I did and the People that I worked with. Great hours, Insurance was good. Great Work Environment..
Pros
great hours and benefits
Cons
I have nothing bad to say
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent pay, nothing else
Claims Processor (Current Employee) –  Wausau, WIApril 5, 2016
The pay here is pretty decent, the training stinks overall. If you don't like to talk ever and just sit in one spot all day long this is the job for you.
Pros
Pay
Cons
very boring, training sucks, can only make up to 4 hours a week for appointments
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a great place to work.
EDI Marketing Specialist (Current Employee) –  Madison, WIMarch 31, 2016
I will continue to work for WPS Health Insurance as long as I continue to see advancement opportunities. The work environment is a pleasant one to be a part of.
Pros
People are great
Cons
Health Benefits could be better since you are working for a health insurance.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
beautiful big building
Claims Processor III (Former Employee) –  Monona, WIJanuary 1, 2016
It was great to complete medical claims for the people who had wps for medical insurance.Very great people who are willing to help in all kinds of problems.And overtime.
Pros
All types of classes to learn new things for insurance
Cons
Always changing guidelines
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, team player
Arise Health Plan, Health Plan Manager (Current Employee) –  Madison, WINovember 7, 2015
Continued support for internal and external customers to help meet the needs of both parties. Analysis and negotiate reimbursement methodologies and contract terms.
Pros
Supportive management
Cons
Two company divisions within the organization
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Won't be able to turn it around
Service Delivery Manager, IS - Medicare (Current Employee) –  Monona, WIOctober 8, 2015
Management is so out of touch, they will not be able to turn this company around without shedding some of the business lines.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working place
Individual Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIApril 29, 2015
Answered any inbound calls and made outbound calls when there were no inbound calls coming in. I learned a lot about the world of health insurance which included of private insurance, Medicare, and prescription drug plans. I love the people I worked with and was able to go ask anyone in the department a question. I loved how we all worked as a team.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Customer Advocate (Current Employee) –  madison, wiApril 28, 2015
Great please to work for. I enjoy working with my peers and the management teams.They make work easy and fun. Also management team truly cares about you as a person.
Was this review helpful?YesNo4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and positive workplace.
Clerk IV (Current Employee) –  Madison, WIApril 21, 2015
A great place to work if you're looking to further your knowledge in the health insurance industry. Supervisors/managers are willing to go the extra mile to see you succeed!
Pros
Friendly coworkers and supervisors.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved Working Here!
Administrative Support Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wausau, WIApril 2, 2015
WPS Wausau was one of the best places I've ever worked. People are friendly and I still keep in contact with managers that I have had. Wish there were more companies like this!
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at WPS Health Insurance. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 35 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.3

WPS Health Insurance Reviews by Location