WSU Employee Reviews

Found 28 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WSU - struggling to find it's place
Executive communications (Former Employee) –  Pullman, WAAugust 4, 2017
Washington State University has been a great learning experience, but no longer offers long term stability seen in higher education.

Rapid leadership changes have caused disruption in planning and programs. The financial structure of the institution is strained. Many of the key programs developed under Dr. Elson S. Floyd are floundering for a lack of supporting leadership.

This indecisiveness has led to many top effective unit leaders leaving. As such, the result has left many of the jobs at WSU in flux.

The benefits and pay are top notch. There are educational opportunities that are available, but not promoted.

My recommendation would be to strongly consider a position at WSU. But not to believe it is a long-term career opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Recruitment Chair (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSJuly 7, 2017
Great school, Great environment, Great people to meet. WSU encouraged me to push myself and take my time out to join a number of student organizations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical GTA work
Research and Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHJune 22, 2017
It was ok. Since it was a GTA assignment the pay and hours were not great but that was expected. The teachers were not bad but the higher administration is not making good decisions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Custodian 1 (Former Employee) –  Pullman, WAJune 15, 2017
Easy Everyday, The routine is the same every day so you know what your doing at all times. People and staff are extra friendly. Great pay for a decent job description.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Student Work
Vice President for Student Affairs (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSMay 25, 2017
Great Place for a Student to work/play/study! I wouldn't recommend working in the VPSA office, because of turnover issues, but WSU was a great place to study and work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research assistant
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ogden, UTFebruary 22, 2017
I learned a lot while working as a research assistant. I got to practice my python and I had the chance to pursue other opportunities that would not have been otherwise available if I had not worked here.
Pros
practive coding, spend time with professor with advanced coding skills
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and perfect place to work while attending classes
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Winona, MNJanuary 18, 2017
Being a student worker at WSU was a great fit for a student who is attending classes full time. I enjoyed the University both as an employee and a student!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grader
WSU (Former Employee) –  Pullman, WAApril 29, 2016
Excellent place to work. Really enjoyed my college experience. I hope to return for an advanced degree and continue working at Washington State.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Student Customer Service and Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Pullman, WAMarch 21, 2016
It was a great university. I met a ton of interesting people and made lasting friendships. My time in the ticket and sales office was fantastic and I will never regret it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Janitor , register (Former Employee) –  wichita ksJanuary 12, 2016
wsu is a great fun and exiting work place . love the people and the customers as well . good keep busy job and well respected
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
That is OK
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIMay 13, 2015
You will see there everything you can see. All kinds of people. Try to fit, you may like it. Maybe not. It is different for everyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable
Tennis Equipment Manager (Current Employee) –  Pullman, WaMay 4, 2015
The environment was very positive and easy to work in. Also very beneficial learning about management and being able to manage others.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Master of Social Work Practicum (Current Employee) –  Wichita, KSDecember 28, 2014
Great experiences for students and staff alike. I am very glad to be part of the CCSR Team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Front Desk Assistant
Front Desk Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pullman, WANovember 20, 2014
This job was amazing. Being student and education centered, we were allowed to do our homework during down time. We were given a lot of responsibility with the reassurance of back up at anytime we needed. The job itself was organized and allowed us to help residents have a better experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun work place to work at
Accountant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, WANovember 11, 2014
I love this cool. Very cool instructors. People are very friendly
Pros
Variety of classes
Cons
No dorms
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking enviorenment with kind people
Summer Intern (Current Employee) –  Pullman, WANovember 3, 2014
The work can be overwhelming but everyone there is always more than willing to help and they don't mind if you let loose as long as your getting your work done.
Pros
Help form proffesionals
Cons
Lots of work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WSU/Boeing mentoring program
Boeing Engineer mentor (Former Employee) –  Everett, WAAugust 18, 2014
As an engineering student at WSU, the program allowed me to meet a Boeing engineer who helped me as a mentor.
My mentor took the time to answer any questions I had, and made suggestions on how I should prepare for the post education world.
I had the opportunity to visit his office and get a glimpse at what his daily work looked like.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good student job
Pacific-12 Conference Junior Feature Writer (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJuly 13, 2013
If you're looking for a student job, WSU has a ton of options.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of diversity
Teacher's Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pullman, WAMay 16, 2013
I learned a lot here but doesn't compare to having many people from different backgrounds and experiences. I found myself going everyday without any excitement because everyday was the same. Friendly people but needed more stimulation.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Nothing to do
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driver
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSMay 5, 2013
long boring hours low pay. dealing with Students from all nationalities
Pros
set work schedule
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at WSU. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 32 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.8
Culture
4.1