Find companies:
Xavier University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
30 reviews

Xavier University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enlightening experience
Community Service Assistant (Former Employee), New Orleans, LAAugust 29, 2014
This was a federal work study experience that allowed me to leave the campus of Xavier to assist a school in the surrounding area. I assisted teachers and students to achieve excellence.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work place, not much advancement
Web & Graphic Design Assistant (Former Employee), CincinnatiMay 18, 2014
Pros: environment, work load, co-workers and managers
Cons: compensation, advancement
Working at Xavier University was a truly enjoyable each and every day. This was probably the most fulfilling work I have performed in my career as I and the end user were both quite satisfied with work performed. Although there is not much advancement or lateral movement, there is a trade off with the friendly environment and culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jesuit School
Secondary Teacher (Former Employee), Cagayan de Oro, P10May 6, 2014
Pros: free outings, seminars, and trainings. with healhcare
This is a catholic school run by the Jesuits. I taught English grammar with high school all boys, do outdoor activities like tree planting, tutorials in the remote area, and visiting charitable institutions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent but...
Web Developer (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHMarch 13, 2014
Pros: discounted meals at the amazing cafeteria
Cons: compensation, position movement
An excellent employer, Xavier University offers generous benefits. For me, vacation benefits go above anything else, and after 5 years I am able to take off nearly four weeks for travel. Compensation is one concern at Xavier - given that raises have been on hold for several years, much less cost of living increases. In addition, much of our communications – more... and marketing team have been gutted, with over 30% of our department being eliminated due to budgetary concerns. There is also little room for advancement - most position changes are lateral. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Place
Faculty and staff (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHNovember 5, 2013
Enjoy working with all the students, helping them with any PC problem.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the job not the managment
Hall Director (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHNovember 5, 2013
The work was great and enjoyable. The management ruled by holding things over you instead of helping you grow they held you under their thumb and didn't build into you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Xavier University is an historical African-American university.
Assistant Professor of Chemistry (Former Employee), New Orleans, LAOctober 31, 2013
Xavier University is an historical African-American university with a good chemistry department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
ADJUNCT INSTRUCTOR (contractual) (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHOctober 7, 2013
Pros: graet place to work
I love Xavier
Dont know much about managment
Co-workers are great
I love working at XU
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in the mass communicaitons office at Xavier University.
Secretary (Former Employee), New Orleans, LASeptember 12, 2013
Pros: free food, networking opportunities
Cons: no challenges, routine
A typical day at the mass communications office included filing, greeting customers, sorting mail, and setting up the conference room for meetings. I learned about clerical tasks and I developed a closer relationship with the professors and the chairman of the department. I had one co worker. We helped eachother on small assignments. The job was not – more... hard at all. The most enjoyable part of the job was the flexibility. I was able to go to class, do my school work, and work for extra money. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Fun place to work
Resident Assistant (Current Employee), 3963 Pine St New Orleans La 70126September 9, 2013
Pros: great enviroment
Cons: dont have any
I love working with young people , I feel I the work I do creates a healthy , positive ,learning , enviroment for our youth to be the best they can be in life
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and rewarding place to work
Senior Graphic Designer (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHAugust 15, 2013
Pros: several paid holidays, tuition remission, great 401k match
Cons: pays below market for design positions, bad policy regarding birth control and health insurance
One of the key philosophies of the university is Cura Personalis, or care for the whole person. This is mainly to be aimed at students meaning that they are cared for body, mind and soul, but it's also applied to the professional staff. It is a friendly and comfortable environment to work in with many people working there for decades.

The management – more... is slightly in a personality transition and I can't quite say where it's going. There seems to be a conflict between promoting the revenue generating areas of Athletics and the Business College (both fairly competitive areas) and the more egalitarian Jesuit philosophies.

It is a very collaborative and team oriented culture and the marketing area actively works with various client offices to give the best quality service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managed 4 professional staff, 80 student staff to provide excellent programming for students, faculty, staff, and the Cincinnati community.
Director of Recreational Sports (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHJuly 25, 2013
Pros: develop individuals to reach their maximum potential
Cons: staff reduction mode.
My team developed opportunities engaging students through learning outside the classroom. They experience, based on those experiences they develop as a person and are able to communicate their development and build their resume. The ability of students to understand their individual growth is the development we try to achieve with every student. Experience, – more... learn, and develop means growth for our students. This can be transferable to multipal professions which develops personel to reach their maximum potential. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding students to work with
Yoga instructor for the student yoga club (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHJuly 22, 2013
Pros: sharing yoga with people who value and practice it.
Cons: class meets at 8pm which is hard to get to but always worth it
As instructor of the yoga club it has been a pleasure to work with a responsive, serious, friendly group of students who are seeking yoga for greater body awareness and relaxation. I am learning how to engage with these very active college students and am grateful for their extra activities like going out to an Indian restaurant together and taking – more... other yoga classes outside of our regular meetings. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and family atmosphere
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OhioJuly 11, 2013
Fun, compact, supportive place to work. Basic lab and communication skills were greatly enhanced.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with flexible hours
Researcher (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHJune 26, 2013
I worked in a lab and gained valuable insight on lab techniques. My coworkers and I are students. They were easy to work with. Xavier works around my hours and the management is usually a professor, so they understand that my life is a little hectic. The hardest part of my job is learning the new lab techniques, but it can also be the most enjoyable – more... because I am expanding my knowledge of the work I want to pursue as a career – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and exciting always changing
Homework Help tutor (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHJune 14, 2013
work study job but it was really great and i loved my supervisor!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned in depth about finance
Portfolio Manager, Xavier Student Investment Fund (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHMay 13, 2013
learned in depth about finance and management. real time data used for analysis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Undergrad research
Biochemistry Research Assistant (Former Employee), New Orleans, LAMarch 20, 2013
It was fun and interesting research on different type of beans. My teacher was very nice and tough me a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Education
Adjunct Faculty (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHMarch 1, 2013
Pros: diverse students, safe campus. new university resources, respected business school and education program
Cons: no health insurance for part-time adjuncts
This program is a high caliber program with excellent language teachers. I also have a committed manager and co-workers who share teaching ideas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and effective
Student Assistant, Campus Ministry (Former Employee), PhilippinesJanuary 22, 2013
my experienced in xavier was really nice i got to know all office works through this job,.