Find companies:
Xcel Energy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
92 reviews

Xcel Energy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved friends that worked there, still friends with them.
Credit representative (Former Employee), Amarillo, TXFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: alot of different people worked there.
Cons: free lunches were very unheathy, would never eat
Large company a lot of different people that work there young, old, enjoyed being friends with so many people. Hard to get company to repair anything was the worst thing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Company
Customer Service (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: big company. i was only a number
When working for Xcel Energy I created Several Outlook Forms to facilitate certain interdepartmental actions. Even though Xcel Energy had procedures in place to handle these actions there was no set documentation. At the time I created these forms I was a Credit agent and this had nothing to do with my job. I did however have the expertise they needed. – more... As far as I know the form(s) is (are) still in use.
I inserted a screenshot of the "Disputed Transfers" form at the bottom of this document.
The form presented a logical approach to acquiring the needed information.
The information acquired was then emailed to the personal responsible for the actual dispute
When I created the fields within the form they were designed to be stored in SQL
This one form replaced a half dozen separate short pieces of paper which traveled back and forth via interdepartmental mail from Amarillo to Colorado, Kansas and New Mexico, taking several days to communicate what was needed. The Outlook form now could be delivered to the correct personal immediately – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Copany
Sr. Financial Analyst (Former Employee), Denver, COFebruary 19, 2014
Good Company. Lots of Opportunities. Long hours some times and very technical.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work.
Recruitment Coordinator-Contract (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MnFebruary 12, 2014
I thought Xcel Energy was a great place to work and supported a very professional, yet fun work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and busy
cashier (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNDecember 30, 2013
I liked this job a lot, I remained busy at all times. But since the job was for concerts, hockey season, and lacrosse the scheduling was not consistant
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommended
Supervisor (Current Employee), TXDecember 26, 2013
Pros: friendly employees
Cons: management treatment of employees
The employees are great to work with but management is very uncaring. The hardest part of the job is working with management. They have a tendency to change the rules to suit the situation, and the rules don't apply to everyone. They are quick to remind you that you are an "At Will Employee". The most enjoyable is working with the employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Center Low
Customer service and billing rep (Former Employee), Amarillo TxDecember 7, 2013
Pros: good company out side of the call center
Cons: hard to advance; your just a number
Xcel energy is a great company to work for as long as your not in the call center. I dealt with daily verbal abuse, which was my job how ever it was very hard to be motivated when the company did not allow any down time and promised benefits after 3 months during the hiring process, and then told us we would have to pass their test. Scheduling was done – more... way in advance so it was hard to get a day off and expectations to take on other work load was ridiculous. The Pay was ok but should have been better for the work being done – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Center Environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Amarillo, TexasNovember 21, 2013
Pros: starting pay over minimum wage
Cons: upset customers giving you a bad review.
My pay started at 10.50 per hour and no benefits until you get promoted. Recent changes they are now offer pay at 10.55 per hour plus benefits for beginners starting Jan 2014. I got promoted within about 6 months there to 11.10 per hour plus I was working odd hours so I also got shift differential pay. This is a beginners job so get paid 10.55 per hour – more... is great. Above minimum wage. This is a call center so normal days can consist of upset customers and lots of phone calls. I don't have anything bad to say about management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Imaginable
Analyst (Former Employee), Denver CONovember 20, 2013
Pros: way over worked
Cons: no managerial support, backstabbing, collusion, abuse
If you are a contractor and you work here, run. Run fast, run far. Do not look back. You career can easily be ruined by the lack of management and zero ethics of your coworkers, some of whom have no business being employed by anyone ever.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Xcel
HR Manager (Former Employee), Denver, CONovember 13, 2013
I was afforded a lot of opportunities during my 5 years at Xcel. Following a company merger, my position was ultimately moved to MN. At that time in career, I was a single parent of 3 small children, so I made a decision in the best interest f my family and did not relocate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Performance Testing and Analysis
Performance Testing and Analysis Intern (Current Employee), Amarillo, TXOctober 19, 2013
I help conduct tests for the regional power plants. I also do data analysis and reduction to evaluate equipment or plant performance and efficiencies. The types of power plants in the region are coal fired and simple cycle combustion turbine generating units.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be fun at times
Electrician Specialist (Current Employee), Keenesburg, COSeptember 24, 2013
Pros: close to home
Cons: union
I have learned a lot. I will say with union and non union employees altogether in one place there can be a lot of tension. I think the tension from the union good ole boys is the hardest part of the job. Some guys are so old they just don't know that there are newer ways to test and find problems. Mixing these people with computers was also a bad idea. – more... The fun part is all of the people that came here after calpine. This place got really boring with the skeleton crue Calpine ran. The management is good and bad. Most of the time they don't know much about what you do as a worker. Most of the time I'm thinking they don't know what they are supposed to do as well. This causes the sineless management technique to dominate and with this the bullies come out and give others trouble. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Serice
Customer Care Representative (Former Employee), Roseville MNSeptember 19, 2013
A typical workday consisted of receiving calls from customer that where having issues and trying to resolve them in a timely manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this company
Budget Analyst (Former Employee), Denver, COSeptember 4, 2013
Pros: great community involvement, opportunities, benefits, human capital is a priority
Cons: can't think of any
Knew what your job duties were, how you affected the team, lots of company communication, great downtown office location in downtown Denver, so much growth potential limited only by oneself
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay and benefits and job security
Lead Credit/ Customer Service Trainer (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNAugust 27, 2013
The credit call center was a challenging place to work. You had to have extrememly good diplomatic skills, be a good listener, know the Public Utility Commission guidelines and be tough while remaining fair and empathetic. The job had a huge turnover because it was not for everyone. I was very good at it and found the job rewarding myself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hot work place
Maintenance (Former Employee), Amarillo, TXAugust 26, 2013
Pros: workout room, free lunch
Cons: hot work place no a/c
Ordered and stocked material for the plant,management could of been better,the most enjoyable part is you can workout in the workout room anytime you wanted to.The hardest part of the job is the upper floors had no A/C and it got really hot during the summer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Product Analyst (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNAugust 26, 2013
Xcel is a great company, but there is a lack of advancement opportunities for the Product Analyst.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place. Taking the time to train.
GIS Technician (1) (Former Employee), Denver, COAugust 26, 2013
Pros: enjoy sometimes donuts treats, potlucks
Cons: small break rooms, no place to chill out, no real privacy, short term contract job
Logging on to the computer, check e-mail from supervisor for work assignment. The cubicles are close together and a bit claustrophobic.
Meet all kinds of people some friendly some not. Somewhat fast paced,high security environment. Casual attire.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and the people were wonderful.
Entegee - Agreement Writer/Buyer (Former Employee), Henderson ColoradoAugust 22, 2013
Pros: people
Cons: direct positions were not available
. Co-workers were professional and very easy to work with.
. Training was very good.
. Management was attentive.
. The most enjoyable part of the job was the challenge of completing an entire contract without assistance or direction. Very little micro management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy atmosphere
Legal Secretary, III (Current Employee), Denver, COAugust 15, 2013
Pros: tuition reimbursement; great pto
Cons: too many meetings
Overall a good company to work for. Typical days are busy, but not stressful. I have learned to be patient with people while working in teams. The hardest part of the job is really the amount of meetings required, and most of the time just seem like time wasters, they can last up to two hours and generally the first 10 minutes are the most informative. – more... A lot of time meetings just turn into gripe sessions. – less

About Xcel Energy

Xcel Energy has accelerated its energy engine in utility markets across the US. The utility holding company distributes electricity – Read more

Xcel Energy Photos