Find companies:
XO Communications
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
80 reviews

XO Communications Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible work environment allowing telecommuting
Operational Support Manager, Lead - East Region (Current Employee), Wyomissing, PAMarch 31, 2014
I have been with the company off and on for 13+ years, while there are daily challenges with the positions I've held, I welcome those challenges as an opportunity to learn and grow. I am able to come into work, do what needs to get done without being micromanaged. The hardest part of the job is only having so much control to get things done. My coworkers – more... are amazing and we all work together as a team to be as productive as possible. The most enjoyable part of the job is accomplishing challenges that present themselves, whether it be something minor to a grandiose challenge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for
Oracle Business Analyst (Former Employee), Herndon, VAFebruary 20, 2014
Verizon is a great place to work for. Environment is very productive!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer in Busines But I loved the Dot Com Boom!
Project Manager (Former Employee), San Jose, CAFebruary 20, 2014
I Loved this job. Said they had layoffs and went out of business! Great people wonderful co-workers!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for...
SR. INDIRECT CHANNEL MANAGER (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 11, 2014
Great Company to work for...
Very Flexible Environment
Nationwide CO
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very flexible and friendly work environment
Project Manager, Business and System Analyst (Former Employee), Plano, TXFebruary 5, 2014
Very flexible and friendly work environment. On the edge technology and services offered.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not micromanaged.
IVR Software Applications Engineer II (Former Employee), Saginaw, MIJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: no overtime.
In my group, my boss did not micromanaged. That was a great part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, professional and very team oriented
Customer Implementation Agent (Former Employee), Lonetree, COJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: could wear jeans to work
Cons: no cons
I enjoyed my years with XO Communications because it was a fun, professional team oriented environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Captains of Choas
Engineer (Current Employee), TexasDecember 9, 2013
Pros: good people to work with
Cons: clueless upper management
First of all, I'd say that the people I work with are fantastic. My Manager is great too. All management above that is pretty much clueless. There are no processes, each job task you have to figure out how to do yourself because no one has done it before or has documented what to do. Everything is done by email and spreadsheet, the tools needed to do – more... your job are non-existent. If you need a tool to do something, you have to develop it yourself. Upper management keeps cutting back on workforce so you'll do the job of two people and everything has to be done yesterday, so you'll get very little "work" done. Very frustrating place to work – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Service Delivery Coordinator (Former Employee), Reading, PADecember 3, 2013
Daily delivery of project/orders, striving to exceed customer expectations.
I Effectively communicated dependencies and project status to customers and others as needed. I Served as the primary contact for the project/order during the implementation of the project/order.
Proactively managed changes in scope, identified potential issues and devised contingency – more... plans or alternate solutions with least impact to the customer.
During my time with XO, I learned how to strive to keep a deadline and do it with accuracy. I learned how to succeed both individually and as part of a team. Also, to ensure orders were created properly and were sent "downstream" in a timely manner.
The toughest part of the job I would say ,was the productivity monthly revenue goals for the business that I strived to achieve/exceed. This could be pressing at times if any unexpected issues would occurr once the order had been sent downstream and may have needed to be recreated very late in the process. This would happen at times. Whether is would be system defects, customer changing their minds, or simply human error. This could at times affect the ease at which these goals would be met.
I worked very closely daily with many different departments and built strong relationships with downstream partners ensuring cohesive cross functional collaboration. Every person involved made it possible to get the job done whether the order went off with or without an issue. Or in some cases, there was a need to expidite.
The most enjoyable part of the job was creating the products and maintaining satisfaction for the customer. I really also enjoyed the continued education about the products, and also the constant upgrading of the systems and the products we offered. I enjoyed working such a great bunch of people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Grass Isn't Always Greener
Program Leader/Sr. Training Manager (Former Employee), Sandy, UTNovember 21, 2013
I worked for XO for 12 years. While my heart wasn't always in the Telecom industry XO continued to provide reasons for me not to leave. Lower level leadership is fantastic, they believe in the employee and work to create a positive environment.
I had several colleagues leave XO in hopes of finding better opportunities. All but a few returned, finding – more... that XO was actually much better than they had thought. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not unless you r desperate
IT (Former Employee), Plano, TXNovember 20, 2013
If you are indian, first. Muslim second, its a dream job. You dont have to work that much and hours are flexible. Dont go there if you want to be free to work and accomplish something - there is a real pecking order of insecure people who want to ensure that they are not last in the reviews. Work product is not a great consideration. Its more of a cya – more... and dont stand out organization. Growth in learning and advancement is not available and not beneficial. Politics first. Namaste. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run away
National Repair Technician III (Former Employee), Lone Tree, CONovember 5, 2013
Would never want to work at this palce. They don't care about there people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, management could use much improvement.
National Repair Technician II (Former Employee), Dallas, TXOctober 23, 2013
Great company to work for, management is very unorganized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service call center
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Saginaw, MIOctober 15, 2013
Family type attitude among co-workers and some supervisors. Most are helpful and supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company with great potential
SALES MANAGER, SMB (Former Employee), Miramar, FLOctober 7, 2013
Incredible product set but have no direction or vision of their future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Telecom - The industry that's become a commodity (products/employees)
REGIONAL ACCOUNT MANAGER (Former Employee), Sacramento, CASeptember 13, 2013
Pros: flexible work schedule
Cons: micro-management
The management was non-existent. The local manager left and the regional manager said he didn't believe in our market anymore. Telecom is a commodity these days and telecom sales jobs are going the way of the dodo-bird. It's a depressing industry to work in. The companies don't care about their employees because they don't have to. High churn rates – more... no matter which company you look at. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaotic Place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Sandy, UTAugust 29, 2013
Pros: pay rate of $14.50 per hour
Cons: would not allow part time work, would not provide items my dr stated i needed due to a medical condition, they flat our refused to get me a better chair and a foot rest.
Working here was very much chaos. The supervisors would sit in each others cubicles and spend half their day just chatting about their personal lives. When you had an issue they would ask you to email them and from there nothing would get done. There were people who were promoted to leads and then supervisor without the job being posted to the other – more... reps to give them the chance to submit for it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company had only 4 people in Chicago
Outside Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 14, 2013
Amazing opportunity to learn to become a self motivator while working from my home office.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay/work ratio, high job security
Client Service Manager (Current Employee), Nashville, TNAugust 7, 2013
The environment is sleepy and stagnant. Depending on your perspective, this might be a good thing. Low productivity is the norm. Many of my coworkers spend all day on Netflix and Facebook, some of them put headphones on and play video games. The management is aware of this and seems to be cool with it.

Corporate has made it nearly impossible to fire – more... bad employees. This also means it's nearly impossible to promote good employees. So, in this setting at least, it really pays to be an underachiever. Just keep your head down and collect your paycheck.

The coworkers are supportive and the management is friendly, so if you are just looking for a high security job where you can get a little money and not work too hard, this is the job for you. On the other hand, if you're an A-type looking to throw yourself into your work, go above-and-beyond, outperform and advance your career, then this might not be the right place for you.

Top performers usually quit within the first year, because (1) there is no tangible payoff for the extra work, and (2) they are generally regarded with suspicion by peers -- let's be honest, those people make the lifers look bad. The only people incentivized to perform are in middle to upper level management and they are seemingly incapable of transmitting this motivation to the troops in a significant way.

It's hard to get behind the products we offer because they are, legitimately, just as bad as many other telecom solutions out there in terms of quality and level of support. Ultimately, I don't think this company as a whole is worse than most other telecommunications providers. I love my coworkers, the compensation is decent, and expectations are hilariously low. I give it a solid D+/C-. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High level telecom sales position
Major Account Executive (Former Employee), Santa Ana, CAJuly 19, 2013
Pros: lots of autonomy and resources available
Cons: no career advancement
A typical day here was running appointments with engineers, going to tranings, working with engineers to create a fully integrated telecom solution for mid-sized and enterprise business customers

1 2 3 4

About XO Communications

XO Holdings gets down to the Xs and Os of business┬átelecom services. Through its operational subsidiary XO Communications, the – Read more

XO Communications Photos