XTRA Lease Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 14 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operations Manager
OPERATIONS MANAGER (Former Employee) –  York, PAMarch 3, 2016
XTRA Lease is a good overall company to work for across the board. Pay for some positions may not be competitive, but the benefits are excellent as XTRA is a Berkshire Hathaway owened company
Pros
hours, benefits, PTO
Cons
compensation for some positions.
Was this review helpful?YesNo8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work experience. Very fast paced
Assistant Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Laredo, TXApril 6, 2016
Very hands on. Multitasking is a must. Daily reporting, daily inbounds/outbounds for XTRA Lease equipment. Raport within the business.
Pros
Competitive Wages
Cons
Promotion
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sales Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Rancho Cucamonga, CAAugust 30, 2015
Fun work place with supportive management and team members, decent amount of red tape and politics, however overall a career is about personal growth and development.
Was this review helpful?YesNo10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
revolving door
Assistant Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  USAMay 2, 2016
This company promises you the world but will doesn't deliver.
If you liked doing everyone else's work plus moping, cleaning the bathroom, playing secretary, and being told to answer the phone when you are clocked out or not take a full lunch break but you can not have any overtime.
Pros
mon-fri
Cons
company doesn't know their head from a hole in the ground
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, good people focused on success.
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Sumner, WAApril 18, 2013
Typically the day starts at 7 AM. The branch manager is primarily a salesman and most of your time is spent with customers and prospects. Lots of phone, email and road time.

I learned that the Pacific Northwest market is not a big long haul truckload market, most capacity is used regionally and inbound over the road volumes are about one third of the outbound.

XTRA Lease has a 'success' culture, management is always ready and wiling to support you in finding ways to get business. Co-workers are professional and focused on the task of increasing business.

The most difficult part of the job is getting competitive customers to give you time and then try the service offering.

Most enjoyable part of the job is working with co-workers and management on setting goals and strategies to achieve and then having success.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No24Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Xtra Joke
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  New York NYFebruary 2, 2011
Incompetent senior managers.

Micro managed to the point you have to ask for permission to use the bathroom.

You are required to know all policies and procedures. If you have a question, you must ask about
5 people before getting an answer that makes any sense.

You spend most of your day begging someone to make a decision for you and explaining your report numbers.

Branch operations staff and mechanic vendors are treated like garbage.

Nobody plans or gives any direction of where the company is going. Senior management makes things up as they go every other week.

People are hired but mostly fired on a regular basis.

No training

No chance for advancement. All managers are hired outside the company with no industry experience.
Pros
a paycheck
Cons
threats and no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes36No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job.....to a point
Road Watch Specialist (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJune 26, 2014
I worked in Road Watch and absolutely enjoyed all my time there. I became unhappy when I took a job at the branch in St. Louis. Micromanaged and reviewed to death, I spent more time trying to get out than I dod trying to get in.
Pros
good group of people
Cons
micromanagement specialists
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tight knit group
Tire and Maintenance Analyst (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOSeptember 27, 2013
Typical work day is fast paced with many phone calls & customer interactions. Our work group is tight knit & we get along great. I have learned to look at things through the eyes of the field reps & our customers when looking at issues to see how it impacts them & what can be done to help them. My co-workers are great to be around & are long term employees that provide a wealth of knowledge on how the company works. The hardest part of the job is remaining objective & keeping emotion out of the decision. Issues must be looked at with a focus on the company & how it impacts our customer base and company profit margins
Pros
knowlegable long term employees, tight knit group, positive atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes1No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Front Desk Recpetionist in a professional enviornment
Receptionist/Mail room support (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOAugust 20, 2012
Great place to work .
Fun atmosphere ,wirth friendly people.
I am responsible for answering phones and greeting customers who visit.
Also I have been cross-trained to work in the mailroom.
My job is from 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM .
The most enjoyable part of my job is the many different people I am able to talk with all over the USA and the different vendors I am able to meet and greet.
Pros
monday through friday, with no weekends required
Cons
moving to clayton with job changes and requirements with my job.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No22Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for and an industry leader in trailer leasing/rental
Operations Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hazelwood, MOOctober 31, 2012
XTRA Lease is a well known company being a part of the Berkshire Hathaway INC with great pay/benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No21Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some what like Family
Road Watch Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Clayton, MOApril 29, 2014
Onyx was a pretty good place to work it was steady pace everyday except the end of the month was crunch time because everyone had to meet their budget
Pros
1st party collectios
Cons
company was purchased by another co
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
life was good
Trailer Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Springfield, MAJuly 25, 2013
excellent company to work for..loved it. branch closed.. wish I still worked there.
Pros
fast productive days
Cons
too many hands in the cookie jar
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wasnt a good place to learn
Operations Assistant (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIJanuary 11, 2013
Managers their are always tobusy to help train you,you are on your own alot.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No7Report

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 14 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5