Xyratex Employee Reviews in United States

Found 22 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
Computer hardware assembler (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAMarch 1, 2016
Great atmosphere, great managers. They had annual parties and get togethers for employee's. The instructions to build computers and the supervisors were very help in instructing and provided a safe and quick learning process.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast paced productive wok place.
Non Conforming Material Coordinator (Former Employee) –  West Sacramento, CAJune 12, 2012
My days were always packed with tasks and deadlines to meet. I learned to multi task effectively and to prioritize my work flow for best efficiency. Our management was very hands off allowing us wide breadth of autonomy to achieve our metrics. I was fortunate to work with driven high achieving individuals who by example created an environment of quality and productivity. The most challenging aspect of the job was working with outside vendors and alining their time schedule with ours. The most enjoyable was the sense of accomplishment I got when I met my deadlines.
Pros
good benefits, strong team work, vacation
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multi-office locations with good communication.
Bios/UEFI Engineer (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CAOctober 5, 2015
Multi-office location with good communication. Team working closely and supporting is good. Daily management is good, CEO give regular information through all hands meeting.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It has been known for good benefits, but no job security
SR. BUYER / PLANNER (Current Employee) –  W. Sacramento, CAMay 22, 2012
A lot of workers are temps without benefits. Starting pay is lower than industry average. Annual increase is 3% the most.

Layoffs happened almost every year in the past 3 years without advance notice.
Pros
good vacation policy and flexible work hours
Cons
numerous massive lay offs, low pay scale
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heartless.
Material Handler for Computer Company (Current Employee) –  West Sacramento, CAJuly 3, 2012
This company could care less about it's employees! And it is just a job. Everyone wants out of the place but economy is still sucks.
Pros
its a job.
Cons
very low pay and no raises or bonus no matter how hard you work !
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pot lucks were a plus
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  West Sacramento, CASeptember 3, 2015
This place reminded me of a bee hive you have the little worker bees that worked like crazy but there was always overtime offered, which was a plus. There was a lot of work to be done.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Xyratex
Product Engineer (Former Employee) –  West Sacramento, CAAugust 16, 2014
Was friendly environment to work every day.

Learn some other skills as been a supervisor to other level tech.

Management always offering assistance to make the job easy.

Co-workers always work as team and keep great family environment.

The hardest part is to accomplish and communicate issues with development since the located over seas.

Enjoyable where task was accomplish as team every time see co-workers shear they success and satisfaction to accomplish such difficult task on time, as customer request.

Was sad see this company outsource, to an other country but i it was just business.
Pros
manager lunch meetings
Cons
always concern how main office will react to a change.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workforce
Vice President (Current Employee) –  Fremont, CAFebruary 3, 2014
As VP, International Sales, my day starts early with calls to the UK and ends late with daily calls to SEA. I've had many roles at Xyratex and have learned that more is accomplished with a team than individual efforts. I've enjoyed giving the latitude to the Account Teams and watching them develop over time. Each team have shown incredible diligence and tenacity in developing their accounts from both a revenue base and personal relationships. By far the most enjoyable part of my job,
Pros
flexible work days
Cons
due to the international aspects of my day, work/life balance is difficult to manage
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very relaxing work place ,management very flexible with our work hours
Production Planner (Former Employee) –  West Sacramento, CAAugust 23, 2013
Meetings all morning
Always classes available for growth
Management always encouraged us to be the best
Created very good friends with my co- workers
Driving to work
The get together and have a good time.
Pros
flexibility
Cons
the company moving way
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Failure Analysis Technician (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAApril 17, 2012
This is for the Sacramento site.

This has got to be one of the more poorly ran business I have ever seen. This brings micromanaging and incompetence to a new level. To make up for this six or seven day work weeks are the norm.
Pros
everything is a quarter in the vending machines
Cons
over worked, under appericiated, incompetant management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the best place i ever worked for. It was fun working environment with respective supervisors and employees
Production worker (Former Employee) –  West Sacramento, CAApril 24, 2014
I still and always will miss working at Xyratex.Working for this company for 5 years was the longest job i had with one company. The fun working environment and friendly supervisors and managers with awesome employees made this company a great place to work and someone ever want to be at.
Pros
free lunches, long lunch breaks when jobs are done accordingly.
Cons
healthcare, and pay rise
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good company
shipping clerk (Former Employee) –  West Sacramento, CAAugust 28, 2014
not good, the only thing I received that was good knowledge was the PC and shipping outside the country. people were ok there, management was not good.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company downfall
Inventory control analyst (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAFebruary 12, 2014
No chance for advancement.I dont no whatt to say it was a job that didnt enjoy
Pros
no pros
Cons
this company was a huge waiste of my time and skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and alot of entertainment
Electronic Technician/Assembler (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAFebruary 28, 2013
Great management
cooperative co-workers
The fun part of the job was working with others.
technical electronices
Pros
good co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Technical Writer (Former Employee) –  Lake Mary, FLJanuary 14, 2014
Xyratex provides a productive and fun workplace. It is family-oriented, and your co-workers become like family. Collaborating with innovative engineers on cutting-edge technology in a fast-paced, dynamic environment is extremely rewarding.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work for.
Test Technician (Former Employee) –  W Sacramento, CAMarch 27, 2014
Unload burn carts and then test and repair, failed production units, and return those repaired units back to assembly for test.
Co workers where great to work with, a lot of laughing and joking going on, through out the day.
Pros
good place to work for.
Cons
none really
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAOctober 28, 2013
Assemble hard drives, IBM and DELL, labeling, data entry
co-workers was also very helpful. they hardest part was awake whole night
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Tester and Supervisor of shipping (Former Employee) –  W SacramentoNovember 5, 2013
I a lot experiences and a good place to work but I need to relocate for kids schools
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production and logistical
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  West Sacramento, CAFebruary 9, 2014
good safe work enviorment which repaired and refurbished both computer chassis and hard drives
Pros
good friends
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Warehouse/Logistics Manager (Current Employee) –  West Sacramento, CASeptember 6, 2012
Only issue with current workplace in uncertainty with job status.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 30 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture