YAI/NIPD Employee Reviews

Showing all 85 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, low salary and great staff.
Assistant (Current Employee) –  Westchester County, NYMarch 27, 2016
First of all...every residence is different. I have worked in a number of them in Westchester. While some residence require a lot of staff supervision and support there are others who just need minimal supervision and companionship. There are opportunities for advancement when they come around, but the higher you go the less opportunities they are until someone leaves their position. The most difficult part of this job is when people come and go, because frankly this isn't the type of industry that people are going to get rich from. So while in your 20's trying to make it on a 28-32k salary, it is do-able. However, when you are in your early 30's and you want to start a family, get a new car, live in a bigger place... this salary just won't cut it for you.
Pros
Your in people's lives on a daily basis, so if they want to watch t.v you can do it too. If they want coffee, go ahead and drive and get yourself a cup of coffee. It's residential life.
Cons
No mandated lunch break, low salary, sometimes individuals don't want to change anything about them
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Direct Support Professional (Current Employee) –  Wheatley Heights, NYAugust 19, 2016
- Interacts with the client’s, individually and in groups, in order to facilitate social, physical, personal and emotional growth and well-being.
- Assists individuals in planning educational, recreational and cultural activities.
- Maintains the overall operation of the home including supporting an ongoing homelike environment.
- Completes written documentation on individuals. Maintains compliance with policies, procedures, guidelines and regulations.
- Responsible for assisting individuals with banking/cash transactions as well as petty cash.
- Distributes, supervises and assists individuals with all medication. Records all actions on appropriate forms.
- Takes individuals on medical appointments.
- Knowledge of medical terminology
- Lifting and transferring adult
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for part-time students
Assistant Supervisor in Training (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 30, 2015
Hard work, yet extremely rewarding. Lots of physical labor at the residence I worked at, long hours and residence most often sorely understaffed. Ability to work overtime (which is often necessary to make your paycheck worthwhile), but can easily get burned out (which is not good for the employees or individuals served). No emphasis on self care, which is vital to this work.

Did not feel support from management, lots of gossip, hypocrisy and pettiness. Also I found there to be many conflicts of interests and unethical behaviors.
Advancement was promised to many, myself included, but management did not follow through on promises or trainings or recommendations.

Working with this population is a joy-unfortunately low pay, long hours, no recognition nor advancement opportunities make the job more difficult than it needs to be.
Pros
health care
Cons
low pay, long hours, physically demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes30No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative outweigh positive.
Evening Counselor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 4, 2016
They have GREAT benefits!! (up until 4/03-when I left).
It was great working with the clients. I worked in
several of their residental programs-during the 17 years I was
employed at YAI. I worked with clients who are profoundly
impaired-from behavioral issues to physically impaired.
They have (again as of 4/03) a GREAT staff training dept.
Pros
Great Benefits. Great Staff Training Dept.
Cons
Very little support from administration.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting job, with much to learn.
Para Professional (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 7, 2016
It is an interesting job to work at, you have much to learn as a person and grow if you choose to stay in this field. But it is not an easy field to work in, you NEED to have a passion for it! You will see kids who need much help from you, physically and mentally. And for most people this is not the career field for the faint of heart.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Managment (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 13, 2016
This is an outstanding place to work. They are progressive, open to new ideas, and promote a collaborative approach. There have been many changes in the past few years, but they agency has maintained it's mission and continues to provide the highest quality services.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great agency
Weekend PT counselor (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYSeptember 5, 2016
This was my weekend job. I love working for YAI, The supervisors were excellent. The consumer work done was top of the line. The benefits and perks were great.
Pros
perks
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inclusive and supportive environment
Program Assistant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 24, 2015
What I love most about my job is making a difference in the lives of people with developmental disabilities. Seeing them acquire job skills, get hired and retain the jobs is the most satisfying feeling. My success is measured by seeing the individuals get a fair shot at getting and maintaining a job in a competitive work environment. Seeing the individuals being recognized for their accomplishments and abilities is the most wonderful part of my job.
Pros
benefits package
Cons
compensation, advancement within the company
Was this review helpful?Yes27No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Evening Counselor (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 19, 2012
YAI is a fun place to work if you enjoy working with individuals with a wide range of physical and mental disablilities (all dianoged with mental retardation) I worked in a class room of 12 individuals as well as 2 additional staff under me. A typical day would be the consumers enter into program, staff and consumer (4:1 ratio) will review the activities for the day then prepare for morning volunteer sites where the consumers will put their abilities to work (with either verbal prompting from staff or physical assistance if needed). In the afternoon upon return to program, staff will supervisor the consumer participation in different indoor activities such as horticulture, exercise, nutrient bingo, rights and responsibility jepordy etc. After staff will review the activities that went on throughout the day. At program you get the support from your co-workers and supervisors when even needed. You are never alone at YAI when it comes to dealing with consumers behaviors. Management try to make sure their employees are having a good time while implementing the consumers services by throwing socials, central park walks, fundraisers, etc.
Pros
learning envirnoment, working hours
Cons
expensive co-pay, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes17No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not fit
Direct Support Professional (Former Employee) –  Westwood, NJFebruary 15, 2016
The Company was falling apart and the supervisors really did not care for anything . I found the condition of the housing of westwood and how the staff was to deal with the residents was unsafe and very unprofessional .
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The persons' we work for are the individuals, they are great.
Direct Care Specialist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 9, 2016
The company allows you to make positive changes and adjustment to help transform the lives of individuals with disabilities.
Pros
Spending quality time with the individuals
Cons
No lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assisting People with disabilites
Assistant Behavioral Specialist (Current Employee) –  Old Bethpage, NYJanuary 16, 2016
It is a great agency and they are very accommodating with your schedule. Assisting individuals with developmental disabilities is rewarding and plenty of skills are attained in this field.
Pros
Helping people which in turn makes you feel like you are making a change
Cons
Low pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provied a full range of services to help people of all ages with disabilities
Cook/house keeper (Current Employee) –  Setauket, NYJanuary 11, 2015
I help provides a full range of services to people of all ages with developmental and learning disabilities. I am the cook/house keeper in a group home for YAI, I am also certified to administer their medication and help ensure that the consumers who live in the house continue to live as independent, productive and included members of our communities.
Pros
benefits, health insurance
Cons
working holidays, we dont recieve raises
Was this review helpful?Yes25No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervisor of group home for people with developmental disabilities
Supervisor of Residential Services (Current Employee) –  Glen Cove, NYNovember 19, 2014
Typical duties of the Residential Group Home Supervisor position entails supervising staff, providing care to individuals with developmental disabilities, and completing various administrative tasks such as; staff Kronos time sheet approvals, petty cash approvals and submissions for reimbursement, managing coverage and staff schedules for over 20 staff members, approving invoices, submitting Medicaid fee determinations, managing SNAP (food stamp) benefits for individuals served, and management of in house ledgers for individuals served. Other responsibilities on a regular basis include training staff members to comply with OPWDD regulations, creating Individualized Service Plans, conducting investigations in accordance with Justice Center, OPWDD, and YAI guidelines. I've learned to effectively manage a team of staff members working in a fast paced environment and have expanded my experiences in working with individuals of various disabilities. Working with our individuals has become the most rewarding part of my profession and I am proud of my acheivements and accomplishments.
Was this review helpful?Yes23No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall its a great organization to work for
Direct Support Professional (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 19, 2013
Its a great company to work for but if you come in as an entry level staff it's quiet hard to move up the ladder. I also realized that there was a lot of favoritism especially at the management level. Overall the company has great benefits and is a great place to work if you have a family, its very family structured.
Pros
benefits
Cons
less room for growth
Was this review helpful?Yes23No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Teacher's Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 31, 2015
A typical day at YAI starts off with breakfast, leading to a meet and greet, then an array of activities throughout the day to ensure the children's productiveness.
I learned the various symptoms of autism, and how a professional would ideally assist.
The management was very soft-spoken and welcoming. I actually assisted in a class in which her son was enrolled.
My co-workers were just as friendly. If I needed anything explained to better my knowledge and experience. they were open to explain.
The hardest part of the job was having the urge to spoil a kid with anything to prevent recurring outbursts. At the time, I had not known what symptoms followed a specific disability. I later learned that.
The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing a child progress within just a few months. It was definitely heart-warming.
Pros
friendly staff, easy commute
Was this review helpful?Yes17No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Pay- Can't live in NY on this salary
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  BronxJune 24, 2013
Be prepared to go through a barrage of interviews and an incredible amount of scrutiny. I was met and interviewed by about 20 people, one interview lasted 4 hours, I was so thirsty by the time I left. They did a group interview where I was asked about 50 questions, then I met the CEO which seemed a bit cold withdrawn and a snobby. The other employees were pretty nice, when talking about salary they offered 28k, honestly not enough to pay rent AND eat (choices are be hungry or be homeless). It's a shame really, it's disheartening to be doing such meaningful work improving lives, meanwhile you can barely make ends meet yourself. Honestly I'm getting out of the social work field, a lot of work and very little compensation. 28k? What a waste of time, and there's no negotiating with these people. They want you working overtime, traveling all around NYC, staying up on case notes, giving up weekends, leading groups and for what? We care providers need to stop putting up with the BS and start telling these blood sucking employers, NO we don't want your job, maybe then they'll respect us a little more and offer a salary a person can live on. Shame.
Pros
good people, ok benefits package
Cons
horrendous salary, working poor status
Was this review helpful?Yes76No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Wonder of Working with Individuals with Disabilities
PART-TIME DIRECT SUPPORT PROVIDER (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 6, 2015
Its a wonder being int the life of an individual with disabilities where you can make a difference. The enjoyment and satisfaction felt when they complete a goal worked on, is overwhelming. The environment is what you make it when you contribute to making a difference. Team work on the parts of your management, coworkers and/ or the individual themselves bring about new light to the work day. The hardest part of the job would be the administration of medication when prescriptions change but one the initial change happens and the regimen is followed it then becomes the easiest part of the job.
Pros
teamwork, work in general
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes11No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A ordinary job
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 6, 2013
My day was very demanding at times. The advocating and programs for people with disabilities in varies areas. The management staff is difficult as well as the coworkers. The hardest part of this job was always at the last moment things needed to be changed. The most enjoyable part of this job was the clients and their parents.
Pros
a job that has good benefits.
Cons
a confused staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Organization who serves the people
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYNovember 12, 2015
YAI/NIPD is a Great Organization who serves people with disabilities to the fullest. Allows staff to expand their knowledge with the people they work for and the people they serve.
Was this review helpful?Yes16NoReport

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 85 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.8