YAI/NIPD Employee Reviews

Showing all 119 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over worked and underpayed
Community Training Specialist (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYAugust 3, 2017
If the employee doesn't have any responsibilities this will be a great experience to gain some experience working with people with IDD. However, the pay is not living wage standard. The turn over rate is extremely high due to the employees being under paid. Other than this, I would have stayed wit the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clients are amazing STAFF SUCKS
Direct Support Professional (Current Employee) –  NJJuly 28, 2017
The staff are petty and will do anything to get you in trouble. Even lie and say you are neglecting clients. I LOVE the individuals we support but would not be interested in staying due to management showing favoritism and involving themselves in minor disputes. Oppose to helping a situation management makes it worst
Pros
amazing clients, overtime
Cons
low pay, petty coworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth the headache
Job Coach (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJuly 25, 2017
This company has a high turnover rate and it's because the amount of work is more than what your salary is. Management is unorganized and incompetent.
Pros
Helping those with disabilities. Making your own daily schedule.
Cons
Too much work for the little salary they provide, The salary is not something you can truly survive off of.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Administrative Assistant/Employment Services (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 25, 2017
Was great experience and supplied me with the necessary tools for going forward in the field that I would like to be in. Loved everything about it. Great job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Direct Support Professional (Former Employee) –  Tarrytown, NYJuly 17, 2017
The company is great because they provide care to people with developmental disability and i truly love working their it was fun and i enjoyed helping
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
YAI-Young adult intstitute
Residential Advisor (Current Employee) –  Nanuet, NYJuly 3, 2017
I taught my individuals daily life skills. Budgeting and also cooking and fitness. I also taught my clients how too communicate when they had a frustrating issue they were facing.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Stressful and no real support
DSP (Direct Support Professional) (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYJune 22, 2017
In training they stress how if you mess up they continue to help you. In true terms they mean they will right you up without a verbal warning. They're also liars, which will tell you that a meeting is for one thing when its actually to write you up or fire you. Very cut throat as well, even if you have doctors notes from the abuse caused from the people we support. Very strenuous work depending on which house you are assigned to. The supplies are not replenished, so you have to come out of pocket, and the people you support can either be really disrespectful and/or nasty. It's a lot of work.
Pros
Care for people in need
Cons
short breaks/ no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff makes it unbearable
DSP (Direct Support Professional) (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 17, 2017
Not a team effort at the location I works in. Disorganization and ideas and concerns fell on deaf ears. The company does do what it can (seemingly) for the individuals however workers aren't prioritized. There needs to be balance and supervisors need to pull their weight. I cannot speak for all locations so hopefully if anyone applies their experience is different or better.
Pros
Working to help individuals
Cons
Disorganized, advice is not listened to, may not feel valued.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job if your passionate for people with disability
Family Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 16, 2017
I enjoyed my time in YAI, ive learned a lot and grew as a person. The person that i worked with has taught me so much. i would recommend this job to someone who has a deep passion for people with disabilities
Pros
great hours
Cons
no paid time off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place for growth
Respite specialist (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJune 14, 2017
working for Y.A.I was very rewarding , the staff and supervisor made the working environment fun not only for the young adults there but for families as well.
Pros
friendly staff
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Enthusiastic
Counselor (Former Employee) –  New Rochelle, NYJune 11, 2017
Great place to work. The staff is very helpful and the clients are a pleasure to be around. You are consistently being challenged which makes for the job being fun.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work if your in school or as a second job
Residential Counselor (Current Employee) –  nyJune 7, 2017
Nice job to have and grow with. Very convenient and the training is not hard at all. I really enjoy teaching the individuals how to do new things on their own.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional, task orientated environment.
RESIDENCE SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYMay 15, 2017
Beginning at a very young age and nearly 20 years working with many professionals, on several different projects have helped to shape me into a effective, and efficient employee, looking to continue his growth and development.
Pros
Many
Cons
healthcare is a bit costly
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great agency for people with disabilities.
Supervisor/Manager (Former Employee) –  Brentwood, NYMay 5, 2017
The agency does well for the individuals supported but they do not do so well with their emoloyees. The pay is very low for the amount of work the employees do. They have entry level employees completing supervisors work for minimal pay. As a supervisor they were shady in various ethical ways of conducting themselves with their employees and as I advocated for more safety for my employees they seemed to find that against the grain. I was one of many staff members who resigned from YAI due to their lack of compassion and professionalism.
Pros
Free health insurance
Cons
No breaks, no raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Direct Support Professional (Current Employee) –  Nanuet, NYFebruary 17, 2017
Good place to work, and you learn a lot from the people you support. The management is very nice and willing to work with you. There is an open door policy as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Three stars for the students.
1:1 Aide (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 9, 2017
An occupation where the kids make it worthwhile, but the overall experience was unsatisfying. Straight to the point, you are faced engaging with employees who make this job feel like you're in high school all over again. Observed improper actions from some people while working that was not in any way confronted. The receptionist was very dismissive and inattentive. There is a separation with who is dedicated and who does not have personal interest in the children's future.
Pros
Growth
Cons
Impoliteness, lack of respect, unprofessional actions
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and supportive compnay
ASSISTANT BISS (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 3, 2017
YAI is an amazing non for profit company that provides services for people with intellectual disabilities. As a residential manager you are responsible to manage a 24 hour, 7 day a week resident. Ensuring the health and safety of all the persons we support are met with excellence and commitment. Working with a team of staff that are passionate, dedicated and committed the enhancing and enriching the lives of the people we support. This includes building professional relationships with all medical providers, Psychologists, MSC;s, Day Hab staff, family members, and any one that are involved in the lives for the persons we support.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff are not as generous.
0ne on one (Former Employee) –  180 Amsterdam new york cityDecember 28, 2016
I worked for the YAI on 180 Amserdam and they were not generous,at all. They were dishonest to the principal. Mocked the disabled children and talked behind my back. I was let go unfairly. The principal said I made great effort but still let me go?
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yai
Verbal Advocate (Former Employee) –  Nanuet, NY 10954December 7, 2016
I found the work that I did there very rewarding. My coworkers were all very friendly. Management was unapproachable and sometimes intimidating. It was an ok place to work.
Pros
Rewarding field of work.
Cons
Management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Expect you to work constant overtime
DSP (Direct Support Professional) (Current Employee) –  Long Island, NYNovember 17, 2016
(Residential) The staff is great but management expects you to constantly work overtime every single week and don't care if you have another job. They get mad if you can't work and really don't care about employees or if they get injured to them they just care if they have enough staff on schedule so they don't have to work them selves. There is a reason they are desperate to hire try avoiding this company.
Pros
Fellow staff are great
Cons
No breaks, supervisors don't care about you personally, bad pay, risk of injury
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at YAI/NIPD. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 119 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.7