Yale University Employee Reviews

Found 225 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people doing important work in a great environment.
Assistant Professor (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTSeptember 13, 2016
I was usually the first one in the lab because I was able to walk to work. Comradery displayed by all working towards a similar goal,
Pros
Food carts on Cedar street
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
Workday Consultant (Current Employee) –  New Haven, CTSeptember 6, 2016
It was really nice working there
people there are very friendly
I learned a lot while working there
Co-Workers are pretty freindly
I enjoy each and every moment
Management is very good
There was no typical day at work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent institution with competitive benefits
Mental health consultant (Current Employee) –  Bridgeport, Waterbury, HamdenAugust 19, 2016
Yale University is an excellent institution to work for with a comprehensive benefits package. The project supervisor has excellent management skills. Everyone on the team at juvenile works well together.
Pros
Solid team
Cons
Travelling to detention sites as far as Waterbury and Hartford
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Team Leader, AR Dept. Cash Posting (Current Employee) –  New Haven, CTAugust 19, 2016
Great place to work. I've acquired so many skills as well as got the opportunity to obtain my college degree. The job advance is endless as long as you apply yourself.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Candidate Development Specialist / Recruiter (Current Employee) –  New Haven, CTAugust 16, 2016
Yale is a great place to work. Yet, salaries aren't that great and work can be overwhelming at times. There are opportunities for growth and learning.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Management Professional (Former Employee) –  New HavenAugust 16, 2016
Excellent continuous learning culture. Some of the most intelligent people I have ever worked with. The health benefits and retirement benefits are outstanding.
Pros
The people you have the opportunity to meet and work with.
Cons
Diversity
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTAugust 4, 2016
Great place to work many opportunities to grow.
It's so many different Departments you can work for Bid and transfer.
the benefits package is great , has great retirement plan.
Yale has a lot of program that will benefit you.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary office clerk position
Clerical Assistant (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTJuly 31, 2016
This was a temporary position in an office. I enjoyed the experience of working in a office that provided services to people in need of medical attention.
Pros
Temporary experience allowed me to try a position without truly commiting
Cons
Working for a large university can be quite a changeling
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work.
YSS Process Analyst (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTJuly 23, 2016
Yale University was a nice place to work. The environment was pleasant. Learned a new software. I worked there as a temp. Hope to be working there again in the future. They have very good benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a happy environment to work in.
Account Assistant 2 (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTJuly 15, 2016
Your held back if your a worker and others are promoted while bullying the workers. Management/Human Resources turns the other way instead of using corrective action. Instead of bringing people together they create a divide amongst other employees. This is in one department.
Pros
Excellent benefits
Cons
Not a good environment to work in/bullying
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Senior Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  New Haven, CTJuly 12, 2016
Working for yale is great, the medical benefits are awesome, The HR stuff is very helpful. Each department is ran different to its needs. All in all in its a great company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Geat Place to work
Clinical Receptionist (Current Employee) –  NeurologyJune 27, 2016
I have been working for Yale University as a temp for over a year. It has been a great experience while still trying to get in here permanently. Good benefits and pay as well
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have learned a great deal at Yale unfortunately the sign of the times took over.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTJune 27, 2016
My position was a very busy one in the slide room. I would retrieve slides for cases pertaining to patients having surgery and on the table for comparison. I retrieved slides for Conferences and Tumor Boards. Filing was a major part of the position.

Interaction with other medical facilities to ask for Yale's material back when patient requested it to be sent out for a 2nd opinion. I would prepare the slides & send them Federal Express.

Also did transcription when department was very busy and covered the front desk when someone was out and or at break.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the better jobs I've had!
Museum Technician (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTJune 27, 2016
Learned a great deal. Very supportive management. Ability to move within organization. Increased my own knowledge of Art field tremendously.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research Assistant II
Research Assistant II, Department of Psychiatry (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTJune 27, 2016
This position provided me with an excellent opportunity to develop my analytical skills and gain a strong understanding of research methods while doing my graduate work.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun and great opportunity
Kept office building in clean (Current Employee) –  New Haven, CTJune 26, 2016
job was fun and well organized loved my co workers great to work with. long says great pay honest company I wish i can go back there
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yale
Hematology Oncology Clinical Research Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Hartford, CTJune 10, 2016
Great Company to work for. Amazing Clinical Research Program. However, CRC are over worked. Not a great work life balance.
Pros
benefitd
Cons
Not a great work life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful traditionally steeped in tradition.
Portfolio Manager (Current Employee) –  New Haven, CTJune 3, 2016
Poor work life balance. Little input into your career path. For the most there are no career paths. If you are good at your job, they will try to keep you there avoiding any potential growth or promotions for you.
Pros
It's Yale and you can experience an everything an organization of that stature has to offer.
Cons
Lots of silos, very cut throat as there have been several layoffs recently.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Senior messaging administrator (Former Employee) –  Newhaven CTMay 31, 2016
Support 2010, 365 exchange messaging systems.
Do a daily morning check of all systems
check for DMP Backup completions
Check for Corrupted Mailbox Database if failover then restore
Check message queues
Check CAs servers for active connections
Check content index issues and resolve
Resolve ticket via remedy queue
Pros
Working with good folks
Cons
In bad area of town, you have to pay for parking
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love what I do and like all my coworkers especially my collaborating MD
Nurse Practitioner (Current Employee) –  New Haven, CTMay 22, 2016
I work in a busy outpatient oncology clinic - we see mostly GI cancers, the majority have colorectal, pancreatic and esophageal cancer. Most are getting treatment, whether adjuvant or palliative. We see urgent visits in addition to treatment and followup visits. The days are never boring, and I learn something new every day. We also participate in clinical trials. The hardest part of the job is watching those with metastatic disease decline. The most enjoyable part of the job is telling a patient that their imaging was good and we will see them in 3, 6 or 12 months!

The only negative about my current position is the management, which is very topheavy (seems like there are 2 managers for every worker!) and their lack of interest in listening to those who work in the trenches every day.
Pros
awesome coworkers, great learning environment
Cons
long hours (salaried position)
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Yale University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 235 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.9
Culture
4.1