Find companies:
Yale University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
122 reviews

Yale University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working with and helping clients on daily basis.
IT Support Specialist (Current Employee), New Haven, CTJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: little room for growth in this particular position.
High volume of calls. Help every client with any issue weather large or small.
Enjoy the fast pace and diversity.
Enjoy working with and helping clients on daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible for a single parent
Account Assitant IV (Current Employee), George StreetJanuary 7, 2014
Great place to work. It has given me the opportunity to provide a stable life for my daughter.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great Place to work
casul /library warehouse (Former Employee), New Haven, CTDecember 31, 2013
Pros: great hours and min from my house
Cons: only a casual position
great place to work, management was ok co workers was fine , the best part of my job is that l got to meet great people, the sad part was it was only casual
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gift Shop
Sales Associate (Current Employee), New Haven, CTDecember 8, 2013
Pros: volunteer discount, gaining some experience to my resume, and more references
Cons: hard to get a job if you dont meet the requirements of 2 years experience in customer service
I'm only an intern at the gift shop. I really enjoy it there. Friendly employees, manager, customers. I wish there were more for me to do there, also because I would like to gain more experience for customer services. According to the manager, and other employees, my performance is great.
So why not hire me? At the moment they are hiring and i'm currently – more... trying to get permanent employment there, but I don't have the requirement of 2 full years experience in customer service. Kind of a disappointment since the manager did say he likes my performance. I work hard, fast, and I'm very friendly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Muy buena experiencia.
Revisora de libros de español (Former Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 5, 2013
Excelente oportunidad que me fue brindada para hacer la revisión de un libro que se consideraba para ser publicado. Otro campo de trabajo en el que tuve la oportunidad de colaborar.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Place to work
Lecturer (Former Employee), New Haven, CTNovember 25, 2013
Pros: retirement plan, schedule
Cons: year to year contract, liability management
Yale was an interesting place to work, and enjoyable as a place to develop classes and a lab facility. I was allowed to ascend to the ranks of faculty and benefited my students in exhibition endeavors which were recognized by the School. A typical day was filled with management decisions relating to employees and facility needs as related to student – more... and university projects. The most difficult aspect was finding ways around problems relating to the time management of others, prioritizing for projects varied from last minute to semester long endeavors. My employees and co-workers were interesting and enjoyable for the most part and all enjoyed the exchange of ideas and project sharing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ITS staff strives for success
Senior Designer (Current Employee), New Haven, CTNovember 19, 2013
The staff of ITS at Yale University is committed to success and supplying world-class service to its constituents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place for research
Postdoctoral associate (Former Employee), New Haven, CTNovember 14, 2013
Yale University is so famous and there are many famous labs in the campus. So you can learn a lot there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was the greatest job I have ever had.
Instructor (Former Employee), New Haven, CTNovember 8, 2013
It gave me so many opportunities to learn and to work with some amazing people.

I began to learn about how to run an Arts business. I learned how different programs recruit.

I loved being able to pal around with great actors like Laura Linney, and to see these people work and interact with my students.

I learned a great deal about the creative process – more... from a a different side of the Art. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Area Manager / Facilities Superintendent (Former Employee), New Haven, CTNovember 8, 2013
Great place to work. Great people and the ability to network with others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable learning experience
Intern (Former Employee), New Haven, CTNovember 1, 2013
Was able to work as a part of laboratory team at an ivy league university and absorb knowledge from senior researchers. I gained valuable experience interacting with lab participants and materials.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent scientific enviorment
Associate Research Scientist (Current Employee), New Haven, CTOctober 31, 2013
Best place to do research
People are very collaborative
A town not too small also not too big
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, and pay
Custodian (Former Employee), New Haven, CTOctober 28, 2013
Pros: great pay and benefits
Cons: no bonuses, pay for parking, hard to get promoted
Great place to work, but very little to know work appreciation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fantastic work environment
Assistant Head of Acquisitions (Former Employee), New Haven, CTOctober 10, 2013
Pros: culture of academic freedom
Yale University is an exceptional and invigorating work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace, gained a lot of experience
Clinical Research Assistant (Former Employee), New Haven, CTOctober 5, 2013
A typical workday would consist of checking phone and email messages for possible participants. Making follow-up phone calls and scheduling qualified subjects for appointment to take part in ongoing studies. Seeing participants with appointments and conducting procedures for studies. Some participants were also recruited from practice. Therefore, those – more... participants varied on a day to day basis. Some workdays were also spent training or supervising interns. However, this was based on who was interning at the time. Supervision was given to students on protocols for studies that was being conducted.
The manangement team were very supportive. In fact, there were regular scheduled meetings that were conducted to assist with feedback and any other concerns for ongoing research as well as concerns with staff.
The hardest part of the job was not knowing exactly how each day would consist of. Due to the manner in which patients were recruited, schedules varied almost everyday. However, it made each day interesting. Most of all the job was enjoyable because I enjoyed meeting new people. Therefore each time a new intern was introduced that needed training, I found it very fulfilling to pass on some of the knowledge that I had gain. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Structured
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), New Haven, CTOctober 1, 2013
I enjoyed working on assignment at Yale University. A typical day on at work was very busy. The phones rang non-stop through out the day, scheduling was a huge part of my day. The hardest part of the job was when I couldn't answer a patient's question immediately because I lacked information. The most enjoyable part of the job was simply being present – more... and thankful that I was able to help out when needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent pay and benefits
Manager (Current Employee), New Haven, CTAugust 30, 2013
My position is very administrative. I have lots of contact with students - which is very energizing. I work in a small office but we do important work for the students. Very rewarding!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very ahppy work at Yale, but have to move with my husband
Supervisor, Molecular Diagnostics Lab (Current Employee), 333 Cedar St, New HavenAugust 29, 2013
Perform various routine and complex clinical laboratory tests, or develop new technologies; Be in charge of all the technical problems as a supervisor; Have very good relationships with all colleagues; Some case is very hard to determine if the patient had cancer or not, very sad for clear indication that the patient has cancer. Have a good team to – more... work together. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and flexibility
Research Associate (Current Employee), New Haven, CTAugust 15, 2013
Yale University is an great place for a working mother. The benefits are vast and there is a lot of flexibility. In belief due to the benefits, the compensation however is low. I also found that there is a lack in the management system, especially when being managed by people with out a management or business back ground, ie science professionals.

I – more... acquired a vast amount of skills and experience from my position here at Yale. This also let for clinical trial experience which became my passion in the job. After working here, I have an extensive knowledge about all the aspects of humans participating in research studies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High level research facility with cutting edge technologies
Associate Research Scientist (Former Employee), New haven, CTAugust 6, 2013
Pros: good research oportunity, healthcare, benefits
Cons: non secure job
A typical day at work includes a lot of multitasking since my position requires participation in several projects, supervising junior lab members and a senior lab manager responsibility. I learned how to effectively use my time, teach and supervise others, apply totally new methods into every day lab life and troubleshoot them. My management skills – more... improved drastically since I have broad responsibilities to be sure everything works. For example, during a Christmas break I was able to restore failed incubators within 2 days without any valuable cells lost. Good working team in Pulmonary and Critical Care Branch helped me to arrange cells move to another facility, good relationship with Alert Scientific team allowed bringing a tech on the next day despite of being very busy. All this action was performed without any of my colleagues coming to work and interrupting their Christmas vacation time. All PIs were receiving updates on the situation and also did not have to be involved. The hardest part of work is to hear when another PI has to close the lab and lay off all personal because of insufficient or the lack of funding. The most enjoyable part is coming every day to work to be full of ideas, plan another experiment and being rewarded with good data that would help to understand and potentially cure certain disorders. – less

About Yale University

What do former President George W. Bush and actress Meryl Streep have in common? They are Yalies. Yale University is one of the – Read more